• Ska/Rocksteady Fest set for November

X, you buy you ticket yet?

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/enter.../Tune-in_70063

Bout time.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

In Kingston? ...... geared toward tourist? Hmmmmmmm!!

Also:

Must have international appeal?

Then there MUST be written [quality] standards in order for it to be successful.

Kingston is a tourist destination for some,They did it in Panama where the poorest areas were transformed into tourist areas,where gunmen were paid to chaperon tourist instead of robbing them.

Progressive!

As mi say bout time.Alpha boys school should be a tourist stop ,so should Drummond ole house sitting on 18 th century stilts.
        Last edited by Sir X; August 10, 2016, 11:18 AM.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

HL I am happy that it is in Kingston. Thats the headquarters of Jamaican music.

As I have said many times on this forum, if New Orleans can stage Essence Festival, Jazz Fest, Louis Armstrong Festival among others successfully each year, then with the right surely Kingston can successfully stage major food and music festivals with international appeal. Its all about positioning and promotion.

Jamaica is full of unused potential.

One of the best organized events I have attended in Jamaica was the Jazz and Blues festival held in Montego Bay a few years ago.

All areas of efficiency were on display. [The event had even a regular supply of paper-towels in the men's room (everytime)].

Events like the one in question as well as other tourist money making ventures ....should be a normal for Kingston.

So why question Kingston? Did it shock your ideal paradigm of the ole serving tourist way.

Stay on track King X...stay on track.

I know you are spat prone.

Kingston has the potential of pulling this off.

The Ska/ Rocksteady fest has not taken place yet. It's just talk.

What''s taking Kingston so long is the real question.

I am going to hang up on you if you don't keep on track.

Yes they should be.

It's about frigging time
                    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

What''s taking Kingston so long is the real question. You really asking that , the Jazz man , Mr Mobay ? Where is Miss-torain ? Do we have to go over the colonial schizophrenia of how we have denigrated our music for Jazz, you said it you went to a JAZZ festival in Mobay ,no doubt most of the patrons were locals .Why is the Tourist board wasting money on a forgein music that isnt culturally endemic to Jamaica,where the majority of the patrons are Jamaicans not forgeiners ? You could probably count the amount of forgeiners on your one hand, including the artist.

Kingston is the historical center of the carribbean from pirates, athletes to music .Mobay has nothing on Kgn.Why we chose to develop that section over Kgn is to our detriment and can only be explained by colonial schizophrenia.

Kingston is a tourist destination for some,They did it in Panama where the poorest areas were transformed into tourist areas,where gunmen were paid to chaperon tourist instead of robbing them.

Progressive!

As mi say bout time.Alpha boys school should be a tourist stop ,so should Drummond ole house sitting on 18 th century stilts.
                        What took them so long?. They think that a music festival must always be associated with beach and a sill beach party. Maybe that is why Kingston never got a chance. I have been to many New Orleans Jazz and Heritage Festivals that were tremendously successful, and never had any beach party associated with them.

Typically, those "Jazz" concerts are not really jazz in any sense of the genre... they are usually headlined by a variety of artistes of different genres. They will include a real jazz band or two AND also include a number of local (reggae) acts.

Yeah, these days "jazz' festival" really means "a music festival for mature audiences" without sounding too judgemental.

Xactly a waste of money so these morons ( mature audiences)can see Gladys knights and the pips....As if poor people nuh know music.

Just say it Island,elitist or upper class people.