• What?

http://www.mormonpress.com/lying_lia...e_2016_edition

Hilary is paying the price for Bill's sins.

When you sell yourself as two-for-one, you get the good with the bad.

Isn't the reality that it is, two for one!

Hillary v Bernie? Close race or blow out? ...neither?

http://fivethirtyeight.com/features/...r-a-landslide/

Why Obama Might Be Trump's Biggest Challenge

http://fivethirtyeight.com/features/...est-challenge/

TPP and other trade deals?

My opinion:
            Only a fool would disregards the largest of markets - That market that exists outside of the USA which dwarfs that within the USA.

Hillary Clinton is not a foolish person!!!! ...and like all who call the US home, work to manipulate that 'outside market' to best suit our USA! It makes sense!

It does make sense. Free markets taken as a whole usually makes sense. It is what has made the world economy grow so much over the past 2 decades and taken hundreds of millions out of extreme poverty. You are preaching to the choir here

The political challenge however is this: not everyone is a winner in an increasingly global economy. If you or your parents worked for a brush factory in South Carolina which has been moved to Mexico, or for a furniture factory in Alabama which has been closed due to competition from China , globalization doesn't seem so great.

For those of us who are able to buy that "Made in China" appliance cheaper and better than it was 10 years ago it is fantastic, but without a decent job or hopes for getting one to replace it with your current skill set, all that means nothing. We love our flat screen TVs assembled in China, our jeans made in Bangladesh, our Nikes and Pumas branded by our favorite athletes and made in Vietnamese sweatshops. The manufacturing plants still in the industrialized world are more highly automated , they want more engineers not assembly line workers as they have robotic arms for that already that don't unionize. For us white collar workers life is mostly good an the retirement account is doing ok too! But those who used to be able to get a decent blue collar factory job but now have the option of McDonalds or Dollar Tree, not so much.

The Brexit vote really brought this thing home for me in a real sense. Globalization is great for the areas of the developing world that have positioned itself to take advantage of it (Asia, Eastern Europe, most of Latin America, the more stable countries in Africa) and for the owners of capital and advanced skills in the developed world.

If you are a low skilled person in the developed world though, this new world order is not good and getting worse. These are people who believed for a long time that although they were not rich, they were better off than those in the rest of the world. Now they see even that reality disappearing before their eyes.

When you have that experience, "Make America Great Again" and "Take our Country Back" doesn't sound too bad at all. Add some nativism and some good ol' racism to the toxic stew and presto, you have a recipe for Brexit-ism and Trumpism. It is much easier to sell "the foreigners and the immigrants are taking your jobs, I will get them back" to these people than to attempt to explain the nuances of the benefits of free trade and movement of workers. They already have an inherent distrust for people they don't know much about anyway.
              Last edited by Islandman; July 27, 2016, 03:54 PM.

What was Bill's sin really?

Getting a little young pumpum?

What else?

As happens often, the cover-up was far worse than the original sin.

It does make sense. Free markets taken as a whole usually makes sense. It is what has made the world economy grow so much over the past 2 decades and taken hundreds of millions out of extreme poverty. You are preaching to the choir here
                    hip! hip! horaaaay!

The political challenge however is this: not everyone is a winner in an increasingly global economy. If you or your parents worked for a brush factory in South Carolina which has been moved to Mexico, or for a furniture factory in Alabama which has been closed due to competition from China , globalization doesn't seem so great.
                    The movement of factories to places where the goods and services are more economical is CAPITALISM in action! We all love CAPITALISM! ...right?

So it cannot be the movement of the factories that is the problem! Right?

It is what those factories that move around are replaced!

It is GOP lack of action that slows or stalls installation of replacement jobs...even more and better jobs!

For those of us who are able to buy that "Made in China" appliance cheaper and better than it was 10 years ago it is fantastic, but without a decent job or hopes for getting one to replace it with your current skill set, all that means nothing. We love our flat screen TVs assembled in China, our jeans made in Bangladesh, our Nikes and Pumas branded by our favorite athletes and made in Vietnamese sweatshops. The manufacturing plants still in the industrialized world are more highly automated , they want more engineers not assembly line workers as they have robotic arms for that already that don't unionize. For us white collar workers life is mostly good an the retirement account is doing ok too! But those who used to be able to get a decent blue collar factory job but now have the option of McDonalds or Dollar Tree, not so much.
                    Whose inactions drive such blue collar jobs out without installation of comparable replacement jobs? ....and do not knock those McDonald jobs as the low wages at some is driven by lack of high wage jobs surrounding them?

Do you know that there are McDonald jobs or Dollar Tree jobs that pay starting wages of $20 and more per hour?

Do you know that there are jobs in this great USA where persons sweeping the floors are paid more than $100,000 a year?

OK! ...both examples above are few and far between but what is it that allows for such jobs to be present? Duplicate same 'all over'!

The Brexit vote really brought this thing home for me in a real sense. Globalization is great for the areas of the developing world that have positioned itself to take advantage of it (Asia, Eastern Europe, most of Latin America, the more stable countries in Africa) and for the owners of capital and advanced skills in the developed world.

If you are a low skilled person in the developed world though, this new world order is not good and getting worse. These are people who believed for a long time that although they were not rich, they were better off than those in the rest of the world. Now they see even that reality disappearing before their eyes.
                    Amen!
                    You make the case beautifully for a problem-solver. Not someone who carelessly but with great feigned assurances tell he shall bring those factories and jobs back! ...as it shall not happen! He lies!

You should look to the leader who looks you in the face and truthfully tell you those jobs are gone...but must be replaced with investments in your area creating new replacement jobs for you and for your children. There must be constant regentrification and new jobs generation.

When you have that experience, "Make America Great Again" and "Take our Country Back" doesn't sound too bad at all. Add some nativism and some good ol' racism to the toxic stew and presto, you have a recipe for Brexit-ism and Trumpism. It is much easier to sell "the foreigners and the immigrants are taking your jobs, I will get them back" to these people than to attempt to explain the nuances of the benefits of free trade and movement of workers. They already have an inherent distrust for people they don't know much about anyway.
                    You are correct!
                    ...but it is false on promise! In Jamaica we call such 'sale', samfie (work)!

Whose inactions drive such blue collar jobs out without installation of comparable replacement jobs? ....and do not knock those McDonald jobs as the low wages at some is driven by lack of high wage jobs surrounding them?

Do you know that there are McDonald jobs or Dollar Tree jobs that pay starting wages of $20 and more per hour?

Do you know that there are jobs in this great USA where persons sweeping the floors are paid more than $100,000 a year?

OK! ...both examples above are few and far between but what is it that allows for such jobs to be present? Duplicate same 'all over'!
                      Karl the issue is more complicated than you would like to believe. The loss of blue collar jobs is not the fault of anyone in particular, in fact it is not a fault at all. The essence of the problem is the inability of the displaced workforce to fill the higher skilled replacement jobs. It is not an easy problem to fix, nor is it a problem exclusive to the US economy. Only education and training can correct it.

If you are a young adult with only a 5th grade education who can barely put together a coherent sentence, no amount of Sanders, Obama or Clinton type presidents are going to save you from yourself. Unless you have a very rare talent you are likely to end up unsuccessful in life.

A floor sweeping job paying $100K a year cannot be replicated in any meaningful way. It is a low skilled job in an environment where low skilled workers are readily available.

So yes Trump is a con man. All thinking people know that, including the Republican leadership. But like all good con men he has tapped into something that is appealing to people's emotions. Rational thought is not driving their behavior, hate, anger and distrust are.

It is tempting to laugh him off as ridiculous but just remember what the Brexit politician Farage said to the EU parliament after the vote, "You aren't laughing now are you?"

I think he will lose but the Dems have to destroy him, not wait for him to commit suicide.

Two criminals for the price of one

Guh ask Daddy Bush.

When dem used to run Contra stuff thru Arkansas.

Dat is why Clinton and Bush clans are Frennimies.

Originally posted by Reggaedoc View Post
                            Two criminals for the price of one
                            mi spleen!

Well, they didn't and now the monster is fully grown and on the loose! Babylon media slow fe catch on bwoy.