Schools say fee collection threatened ..

• Schools say fee collection threatened ..

Schools say fee collection threatened by free tuition promise

A call is being made for the Ministry of Education to again change the schedule for the disbursement of cost sharing funds to public-run schools.
    It is reported that the Ministry is planning to allocate funds to schools next month.

But in the wake of fears by some school administrators that parents might hold off paying schools in the wake of a promise by the Jamaica Labour Party of free tuition at the secondary level, it has been suggested that the funds be released this month.

This has been endorsed by President of the Association of Principals and Vice Principals of High Schools Alphansus Davis.

Under the cost-sharing programme, the Government pays 50 per cent of tuition fees while parents are asked to contribute the other 50 per cent.

Mosiah, quick question. Yuh still think this is just an election promise?

Jamaicans RARELY vote based on issues. I guess when its back to school time and parents start feel it ... dem will start looking at one issue.

Where did I say it was "just an election promise"? No, I don't really expect for you to point that out.

It would be a pity if people vote on this single issue, but each person should know what matters most to him/her. This might become a big voting issue coming so close to school opening.

Then again, do the people really care or are the politicians the only ones who believe this will win or lose the election for them.

Where did I say it was "just an election promise"? No, I don't really expect for you to point that out.

It would be a pity if people vote on this single issue, but each person should know what matters most to him/her. This might become a big voting issue coming so close to school opening.

Then again, do the people really care or are the politicians the only ones who believe this will win or lose the election for them.
        Well, according to this post http://www.reggaeboyzsc.com/forum1/s...12&postcount=2, made by you .. there only one Mosiah round here .. in case the link nuh work

Bruce Proposal: Removal of all secondary school level tuition fees and increase spending on basic education;

Mosiah's response: electioneering. Not gonna happen.

Boy ... Bruce just a mek unuh hop skip and jump.

What will it take for you to give the man some credit? Damn. Bad habits do die hard.

Okay, great! Did I say I didn't say it? Okay then!

Yes, I still believe it is electioneering!

Okay, great! Did I say I didn't say it? Okay then!

Yes, I still believe it is electioneering!
            Suh when PJ said it last election yuh did think it was electioneering then? No .. nuh answer man can change dem tune now.

Other islands in the region is able to pay for the education of their children. We have a gov't that is more interested in wasting the little money we have ... but people quick fi believe in the religious leaders over those who make proposals and go even further to explain how it will be financed.

Jokers ... too many deh a yaad.

Apparently, yuh don't remember what I said when PJ did it. Remember, I am the fair one. Mi nuh haffi try and cover fi nuh party. Dem a rasta?!?!