Tourism in Jamaica.

• Tourism in Jamaica.

There is lots of room for improvement in tourism in Jamaica.

It's difficult to imaging what the Jamaican economy would be without this industry.

I visit Jamaica every year...sampling a different all inclusive on each visit.

In May, I spent 7 days at the Hyatt. And like those all inclusive I have visited in the past, a high percentage them can be compared with other world class hotels.

Most of the high skill operations are behind the scene.

Accounting, engineering and maintenance, operations managent, electrical maintenance...are a few of the high skill sets that makes the industry successful.

On a visit before my last, I stayed at Couples in St. ANNS. The general manager and his management staff (all jamaicans) hosted a meet the guest night. I spoke with the GM and some upper mgt. staff at length. I was impressed with what I learned about local Jamaicans role across the industry.

My visit at the Hyatt coincided with a conference attended by the prime minister and his ministers. The skill set I saw on display was world class (Gamma ).

In short, the spectrum of skill set needed to successfully operate tourism in Jamaica ranges from janitor, trinket sellers to the most senior levels in management up to the ministerial levels. As for the trinket sellers, they are highly skilled artists. The Jamaican sculptures on display requires a high degree of talent and skill.

(Hotel ownership by investment is a separate topic).

My next visit will be to HalfMoon. I have heard rave reviews about this location.
    Last edited by HL; July 17, 2016, 05:37 PM.

Your personal anecdotes are colorful but far from analytical. This betrays a limited ability to deconstruct economic entities. So the observations are shallow

Of course a range of job titles are required to operate hotels or a tourist industry overall. That is not in question. What is relevant is the numerical DISTRIBUTION of those jobs across job titles.
    About 5% may be managerial/administrative/technical...with a very few requiring high level skills

The OVERWHELMING MAJORITY would be low skilled service workers...maids, wait staff, food & beverage service, trinket sellers, taxi drivers, rent-a-dreads etc

It is the requirement for low level skills that allows investors to throw up hotels needing 2K workers...and get that quota filled very rapidly virtually anywhere in JA .

No amount of yappin about not-so-interesting personal encounters changes those facts. The name of the game is analysis...not uninformed cheer leading
    Last edited by Don1; July 17, 2016, 05:51 PM.

Have no fear... wi soon start import Cubans to work !

Prablem solved..

Not sure what problem that solves...and what it may create.

HL let people gwaan talk.
          Out of my group at Runaway Bay

Jeanette got her PHD and Manager and professor at Hotel
          My brethren P is Reservation Manager at a Global Chain selling Ja.
          Rosie, Night manager at a global chain
          Phil was the Articultural manager at Halfmoon, now his own consultant, check out the work when you go there.

Mark and wes are now professors at UTech
          We have a lot of teachers and principal
          Maur is a big manger at Petrojam
          Our instructors
          Mr Lingo Operations Manager at major hotel
          Mr Wint manager at Round hill
          Mr Ford Global chain manager in Europe
          Mr James reservation manager at a major chain and her husband chief account at hotel.
          Mr. Hind chief account at another
          Wayne work as a airline mechanic with a major company
          and me a loaf pon forum

Again a lot of people make a start, some stay, some do not but it gives an opportunity for many young adult to start, put themselves in better position and decide if they want to make a career or not in the industry but just remember that getting a skill for most of these kids are paramount. I will tell you when I left HEART I had 3 jobs in one day after 9 months. The demand for trained workers is there. Whether it is in the Hotel, cruise line etc. Some people just chat for chat sake. If our industry is run right it will mean more money for farmers, Artist, entertainers, and small business people so just make people chat because the can. It also mean more departure and room tax so the government can charge Jamaicans less taxes to full their coffer.
          Just some people a chat.

HL you are in the service industry and you know what good service and how important it is for people to learn it.
          Last edited by Assasin; July 17, 2016, 09:53 PM.

Wow Johnny! That's about 10 people! Noice! LOL

Seems many got out of the tourism biz. Even noicer!!
            Last edited by Don1; July 17, 2016, 10:29 PM.

Those are just the ones I keep in touch with and if you read carefully you will seem most are still in the tourism business but not trinket seller as you would like to think. Tourism is much bigger than that.

All the professors are teaching guess what???

Johnny I'm aware that the industry provides solid opportunities for some people. That's irrelevant in the big picture.

What's relevant is the FACT that the overwhelming majority of jobs are low skill and low value adding servant posts

Ah suh di ting set Johnny

low value adding servant posts. 90 percent of workers is a part of this servant post, even if they are high skilled technologists? believe it or not. No need fi single out tourism workers.

some of those "low skilled" you talking about are highly paid and highly demanded. Believe it or not unlike some engineers I know just got laid off.

low value adding servant posts. 90 percent of workers is a part of this servant post, even if they are high skilled technologists? believe it or not. No need fi single out tourism workers.

some of those "low skilled" you talking about are highly paid and highly demanded. Believe it or not unlike some engineers I know just got laid off.
                    LOL! Johnny you would equate "highly skilled technologists" with low level servants like cleaners and trinket sellers?? Say it aint so Johnny.

Johnny it's about macroeconomic analysis. ...not about personal anecdotes or people you know

As a former economics professor at college level I expected a higher standard of argument from you Johnny.
                    Last edited by Don1; July 17, 2016, 11:07 PM.

A job is a job, them tell you walk anytime and what they need done.

Once you have a job you are serving someone. He who own have the power.

Yes Johnny.

Which is why I distinguish between low level/low value add AND higher level/high value add pursuits

Surely you understand the difference Johnny

which industry is the highest paying industry in Jamaica right now???
                          If you are a taxi driver in the tourism industry, your income is more than the regular, same thing if you are a waiter, bank teller etc.

I don't see you championing the wages of teachers and even people in the technology and BPO field who are making less than tourism workers.

Again tourism is not the problem, but I can't help you, it is in your mind.

Again show me any theory to suggest crime in Mobay is a result of tourism.

Johnny I'm not seeking your agreement...but it is regrettable that you still do not even understand my argument

Johnny I'm aware that the industry provides solid opportunities for some people. That's irrelevant in the big picture.

What's relevant is the FACT that the overwhelming majority of jobs are low skill and low value adding servant posts

Ah suh di ting set Johnny
                              Isn't there a reason why the tourist trade in Jamaica does not attract the best and brightest graduates at all levels in Jamaica?. Maybe they are too informed to participate in their own personal pseudoenslavement or in the modern disguised recolonization of their country.