• Music Lovers...

http://www.jamaica-gleaner.com/artic...usic-originate

Mi weep!

Slowly but surely ai losing wi idenitity ... Wi heading towards 'bre re-entry' where we will learn more about William the conqueror and Oliver Cromwell than our own national heroes!

Not only anglophone but also Anglophiles

Tourism must be taught in school. A part of that must be civics and cultural awareness.

Another crazy statement. So is civics and cultural awareness to be taught as a subset of tourism? It is the tourism foreign mentality that causes this historical ignorance.

How tourism help with that mentality. That is ignorance.
          I have done Tourism classes both in Jamaica and in the US and one of the basic class is knowing your product, history, culture and civics. A basic tourism class in the US involve knowing the complete states, maps, and basic culture. In Jamaica we knew basic history and can make presentation and also to up sell the product which include history and basic culture of the island. Anybody working in the industry or close to it should be able to give a brief history of our music, our culture, know the different groups and sub culture within Jamaica, history, heros and current issues and politics.

That is basic tourism class, don't fool yourself. Go to one a your Canadian tourism school and see what is involved.

How tourism help with that mentality. That is ignorance.
            I have done Tourism classes both in Jamaica and in the US and one of the basic class is knowing your product, history, culture and civics. A basic tourism class in the US involve knowing the complete states, maps, and basic culture. In Jamaica we knew basic history and can make presentation and also to up sell the product which include history and basic culture of the island. Anybody working in the industry or close to it should be able to give a brief history of our music, our culture, know the different groups and sub culture within Jamaica, history, heros and current issues and politics.

That is basic tourism class, don't fool yourself. Go to one a your Canadian tourism school and see what is involved.
            That's tourism? That's geography, civics, history, home economics, even!

Tourism is a welcome with a smile, knowing where to place an umbrella in a cocktail, fetching towels!

ah that is what you think? A guest ask about the Maroons, they should be able to get a little history, location and a bit more. Same thing with Reggae, or Rasta.How much time you travel and ask about local stuff and the people don't know anything? Some of the things that makes a difference and make a pleasant visit.

You training people to give information about your country and intern, up sell. Some of that basic training including language would help with the "Logistic hub" too.

Yuh see how quick perceptions regarding herb changed,especially with those with the means(the land grabber from hotlanter) by which to make it financially lucrative?
                Dem still have disdain to the very thought of formalizing patwah.Bob brought Reggae to the forefront regarding the World,perhaps that had everything to do with his name being mentioned.He certainly wasn't pivotal with the genre becoming popular local,that is the suspect mentality ,wrongly attributing root cause to others.

What high school Busta went to?

What was the name of the vessel again?

Teacher's Pet, let Rudi anssah LOL.