Education Minister scoffs at JLP promise of free education

• Education Minister scoffs at JLP promise of free education

Education Minister Maxine Henry-Wilson has poured cold water on Opposition Leader Bruce Golding's latest proposal regarding free tuition at the secondary level describing it as financially impossible.
    She says from a fiscal standpoint it would cost the state more than one billion dollars to cover the cost of providing free secondary education.

The Education Minister was responding to a pronouncement by Mr. Golding that his party's first act if it wins the August 27 polls will be to abolish tuition fees for the next academic year.

Mr. Golding called on the Portia Simpson Miller-led Government to commit to the same promise.

The Jamaica Labour Party Leader promised that tuition fees paid by parents would be refunded and sought to reassure school administrators of his commitment to fill the resulting void in their budgets.

But speaking with RJR News Tuesday night Mrs. Henry-Wilson dismissed Mr. Golding's promise as being impractical.

The Jamaica Teacher's Association (JTA) Tuesday expressed concern about statements made by Mr. Golding regarding tuition fees.

JTA President Hopeton Henry said the Opposition Leader's claim that it will abolish tuition fees and refund fees already paid may cause parents to neglect payments due at the start of the school year.

Well if thats the concern ... vote JLP den!

Maxine can talk .. she same one say we nuh fi tek nuh chance wid Portia ... bettah she move up harself and mek serious people start running the country's affairs.

All them good for is fool the people them. Not even Saudi Arabia I think will provide free education. Bruce betta go turn Minister of Education after Chavez take over Jamaica.

Like I said - electioneering! They have only brought the idea to the fore to win votes. It's not a part of the JLP's philosophy.

Even if it was, I am sick and tired of these two parties offering people free stuff and not fixing the problem. Who really needs free but substandard education? So, instead of having 70% of our students leaving with no subjects, we are now going to have 95%! Or we shall remain with the 70% but now their parents have money to send to them to HEART or to bail them.

What's the point?!?!

So wait! You have to pay to attend secondary school in Jamaica? what happen to common entrance?

pr

Most countries I am aware of provide free secondary education...US, Canada etc....when since it cost you fi go High School?

pr

you behind times mi brethren, them call it Cost sharing.

Like I said - electioneering! They have only brought the idea to the fore to win votes. It's not a part of the JLP's philosophy.

Even if it was, I am sick and tired of these two parties offering people free stuff and not fixing the problem. Who really needs free but substandard education? So, instead of having 70% of our students leaving with no subjects, we are now going to have 95%! Or we shall remain with the 70% but now their parents have money to send to them to HEART or to bail them.

What's the point?!?!
                Since when are you an expert on the 'JLP Philosophy' whatever that means...

Is this all the JLP has proposed ?

Sorry. I'll now prepare a post outlining everything proposed by the JLP.

Using Bora's wages of US $1 Million / year for 4 years is a faaaaaaaaaaaar better investment in Jamaica's educational future.

Why do you think there are so many idiots around? Imagine how gobsmacked i was when I read on this site that wearing the #2 shirt was not desirable in Jamaica. Stupid is what stupid does. Education would go a faaaaaaaaaar way to solve that problem.

Sorry. I'll now prepare a post outlining everything proposed by the JLP.
                      What is wrong with removing cost-sharing if the money can be found ?

Memba is 7 weeks.. don't start campaigning too early..

Peter, even in TT some of the schools ask for a 'donation' every term despite 'free' education.
                        I used to think students would work harder when they have to pay for their education...doesn't work so at all. I think it's Ja$5k that's asked for. Correct me if I am wrong. Looks like I have to re-think having those other children...cost of education too high...