Tesla Autopilot involved in fatal accident

• Tesla Autopilot involved in fatal accident

This is the weakness of the Tesla semi-autonomous approach vs Googles more complicated attempt at full autonomy. However by going this route Tesla vehicles have been able to log many more miles and collect much more real-world data to improve the technology.

It will be interesting to see if this setback causes them to revisit their approach. If they do it will be a very expensive decision for them.

"The expectation of Tesla is that the driver is alert and vigilant, ready to take over at a moment's notice," said Ryan Eustice, a professor of engineering at the University of Michigan who is part of the Toyota Research Institute focusing on autonomous transportation. "In practice, however, we see that humans quickly become bored and place too much trust in the system. People let down their guard and are not attentive and ready to take over."

http://www.freep.com/story/money/car...isks/86591130/

This is the weakness of the Tesla semi-autonomous approach vs Googles more complicated attempt at full autonomy. However by going this route Tesla vehicles have been able to log many more miles and collect much more real-world data to improve the technology.

It will be interesting to see if this setback causes them to revisit their approach. If they do it will be a very expensive decision for them.

Dem cyaan tap di robot takeover

Dem ting deh preordained....Dem nuh watch Star Trek from 19HowLong??

True...no turning back now.

Meanwhile....

BMW and Intel plan robot car production

http://www.bbc.com/news/technology-36682595

Meanwhile....

BMW and Intel plan robot car production

http://www.bbc.com/news/technology-36682595
          Robots enabled by advanced AI are fast becoming mere commodities i.e. mere everyday items. When the IOT fully kicks in (say 5-10 years) ....it will essentially be over and we'll be fully in the Age of Robots & AI

Of course Black people will be out of the loop and at the back of the bus...by our own stupid choices....

Our choice: Being VERY satisfied with preparing the overwhelming majority of our people to be mere servants who create NOTHING of real value. Meanwhile we spend what little money we may have purchasing technology and products (e.g. said BMWs) produced by others.

Once we can make those purchases (i.e. go into debt for the sake of ego and vanity ) we feel we're "in the mix" and "tings ah gwaan fi wi"

This type of insane behavior is a tragedy wrapped up in a calamity. It's no wonder we're the Wretched of the Earth...Unfortunately our choices and terminally backward collective mindset prove that we deserve to be just that
          Last edited by Don1; July 1, 2016, 02:00 PM.

Yep, its all about ownership and production. We nuh too into that unless its about owning the latest Air Jordan or creating a new dance move.

I don't know what it will take to wake us up and collectively get out of that mindset.

Yep, its all about ownership and production. We nuh too into that unless its about owning the latest Air Jordan or creating a new dance move.

I don't know what it will take to wake us up and collectively get out of that mindset.
              At this point I don't see anything that can

See what I have been saying? The fact is these cars still need a driver. too many moving electronics and programming which depend on circuit boards, chips, human programing etc.

This will be for a while yet.

LOL. No we don't see what you have been saying.

Tesla was very clear that they expected the driver to be alert, hence they claimed semi-autonomy not full autonomy. The problem is that average humans are not well equipped to be a backup driver for a car that may need their assistance only 0.1% of the time.

Have you stopped driving cars with airbags since they have been proven to kill people from time to time? Why not?

I think though, Sass, that if you looked at the ratio of miles driven to fatal accidents, Tesla is ahead of the game. That's my guess.

BTW, How do do pilots (of planes) guard against complacency in the cockpit?

mi drive the car with the airbag and I will also drive the Tesla but mi nah fool myself to make it drive me. with Autopilot on I am full alert with hands behind the wheel.

There is a lot to be desired from "fully automated cars" at the moment.

Yes it has driven a lot of miles but how many near misses or people having to take over?

You can try guard against complacency but it is the pilot job to be prepared. I am not saying the technology is not good but there is a lot to be desired.

I work with a lot a lot of technology that people upsell everyday, and I am happy none have to do with life or death There is a lot of commercialism involved, just look at the VW case and you will see what I am saying.

Have some stocks with aTesla. Shares have been taking a hit for over year. Still a very good Company....if you are thinking long term.

Lots and lots to learn from the accident. It can only get better!

Do you day trade?

mi drive the car with the airbag and I will also drive the Tesla but mi nah fool myself to make it drive me. with Autopilot on I am full alert with hands behind the wheel.

There is a lot to be desired from "fully automated cars" at the moment.
                              Do you allow the car to do its thing just because you put on cruise control?