• Commentary: Brexit creates EU-Britain nightmare

for the Caribbean.

By Sir Ronald Sanders

The 12 English-speaking independent countries of the Caribbean Community (CARICOM) have at the most two years to formulate a plan for dealing with the serious consequences of the British Exit (Brexit) from the European Union (EU).

[sanders10.jpg
    Sir Ronald Sanders is Antigua and Barbuda’s Ambassador to the US; he has served as Ambassador to the EU and the WTO and High Commissioner to the UK. The views expressed are his own. Reponses to:
    www.sirronaldsanders.com]

Indeed, the time may be less if the current mood of the leadership of the EU intensifies. They want Britain gone “as soon as possible”. The presidents of the European council, commission and parliament – Donald Tusk, Jean-Claude Juncker and Martin Schulz respectively – and Mark Rutte, the prime minister of the Netherlands, which holds the EU’s rotating presidency, are reported as saying any delay to Britain’s exit would “unnecessarily prolong uncertainty”.

Once Britain finally leaves, the 12 Caribbean countries will have no structured trade relationship with that country. When Britain joined what was then the European Economic Community in 1973, it transferred all authority for its trade agreements to the Community. Ever since then, the formal trade, aid and investment relations between the 12 Caribbean countries has been with EU. These relations were formalised successively in the Lome Convention, the Cotonou Agreement and the Economic Partnership Agreement.

http://www.caribbeannewsnow.com/tops...ean-30875.html

A bet you they go back to the poll and forget about this exit thing. It can't stand as it is right now.

Gwaan Johnny!! ...Masterful prognostication

Why can't it? The best case scenario I see in the short term is that they negotiate a Norway type relationship with the EU. That would still cause disruption but it would be reduced.

Exactly they will renegotiate their way back into it .Money affi mek and food affi nyam.

I see it as a pure hype,Germany and the U.K as number 1 and 2 in GDP,do we really believe the U.K leaving will see the E.U happy to cut its nose off to spite its face ,although it seems as if the U.K did just that ?

Cooler minds will come to reason,and the Brexit will be the Bre-next,all within renegotiated contracts.

Johnny polls are for Jokers...hehe.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Econom...European_Union

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.