The great Val Douglas of the Skatalites

• The great Val Douglas of the Skatalites

Yeah man! Shaggy comes from New York and when he started doing his thing, I lived in New York, too. I had a band called A-Team. We played a lot of the Reggae Sunsplash tours in the 1980s and 1990s, backing lots of different artists. A lot of them came round asking us to play with them. We were the first who did Buju (Banton) or Shabba (Ranks). Later on they got to a level where they could bring their own bands from Jamaica. I know Shaggy from even before he became famous. He has always been a very good guy. He is a philanthropist and gives work to the community. He knows where he is coming from.

http://reggae-steady-ska.com/val-douglas-skatalites/

Nice interview. Good questions and real answers.

Did I mention he's my cousin?

A-Team band was one of the best backing band around, maybe only Lloyd Parks, Sagitarus could compare. They were very good.

Some wicked tunes played on.

Very good guy and a friend of mine for many years.

Really??!! Him talented despite that disability.
            Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Good to know!

Dis one is delicated to di man Jangle! Bless up yuhself!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jRL16qIH17E

Hehe
                  Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Needless to say, I didn't miss them when they played in New York back in the late 80s and 90s.