Racism: In The Sport Media

• Racism: In The Sport Media

I believe this is a fitting article ,I put it on the football forum ,but it addresses the social aspects of it, which makes it fitting for this forum.I read all of my articles through this lens,hence my antennans are always up.

It’s something the West Indies batsman Chris Gayle touched upon during a recent interview when speaking of his belief that the criticism directed towards him is often racially motivated: “People think that my attitude towards the game stinks. That’s how it comes across: lazy”.

http://www.thisisanfield.com/2016/06...turridge-love/

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

So the question that is begging to be asked is how many of us as Africans have bought into this media hype or slight,i remember the onslaught against Onandi.

That's just one of the many .

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

I am still trying to find Blackett,and can't come to grips with Messah being punished for a penalty(questionable call)he supposedly gave up.
      Like I said,Sturridge is pure class and like many great players before,he can only be ignored if doing so is inconsequential to the team.Liverpool can't be at its best without him, and so too England.
      Anyway,I want to know if you believe this unconcious racism is true,and if so,could it explain the polar diffrences between the opinions of Pool's fans and the World on the Evra matter?

Of course its true and yes I believe it ,why would you use Evra as an example? We are not talking about lack of credit from a racial lens , based on ability in Evra case ,moreso credibility as per his word,of note not one of his teammates vouched for him that he was called any deragatory term in 90 min of football in the FA investigation.

We found it unsurprising that Mr De Gea did not hear any exchange. He appears from the video footage to be focused on the corner and looking mainly in that direction. Mr Kuyt said that he could not hear what was being said by Mr Evra and Mr Suárez but it seemed clear to him that Mr Evra was trying to provoke Mr Suárez so he (Mr Kuyt) stepped between them and told Mr Evra to leave Mr Suárez alone.

https://www.theguardian.com/football...z-patrice-evra

Well what was Kuyt excuse for not hearing what was said,and why would he think Evra was the instigator if he did not hear anything?
          It must be Evra!

And this has to do with racism in the media towards black athletes,last time I checked they chased Saurez out of the Prem because of Evra unsubstantiated allegations,that had nothing to do with his athletic ability,moreso an alleged exchange of words.

When you read the account of what each player said, it is EVEN MORE obvious to me that Evra's complaint of being "racially abused" never ever took place. What happened to Suarez was a travesty.

Evra is not fluent in Spanish, but understands enough to get the gist of what was being said to him. However, when you are not fluent and someone is speaking to you quickly, in a Spanish accent that you're not accustomed to hearing, you can VERY EASILY add a "verb" when there was none.

"Por qué" means "why", and "porque" means "because". They are identical in sound. It is entirely plausible that Suarez said: "¿ Por qué negro?" i.e. "why black man?", instead of what Evra said which is, "Porque eres negro", i.e. "because you are black."

I watch a lot of Spanish movies and series and the dialogue that you hear, would never pass muster on an American or English TV programme... referring to someone by their race (negro, negrito mulata), their physical size (flaco, gordo, gordito), etc. is par for the course.

It boiled down in the end to taking one player's word over another.

Rockman, this was never a case about racial abuse or racism in sports. I was a case about political correctness applied unecessarily. Unfortunately, Suarez paid with a long suspension that was totally unwarranted.

Whatever else he might have done is beside the point before people start talk bout diving and biting.

Bottom line is Patrice Evra is a punk!

2nd dat , Evra played the race card to the hilt !

You would agree though that, in certain countries, you should never use certain words, no matter how harmless you believe the sentence might have been. You can get away with "c o o l ie" in most places in Jamaica, I think, but you may not get away with it in other places. (Sorry, but it was the best example I could come up with.)

Did Suarez have to utter the word negro?

No he didn't have to, but he did what was instinctive (I guess) in that situation. You ever hear him try to speak English? (five years ago) ... and Evra, since he's so "worldly" should have known better, but I think he knew exactly what he was doing.

Thanks Rock,you did a good job of shot gunning my post.

Sorry boss, I'm handing over my gun and surrendering; the hijack is over! Rock just picked an "example" that had no basis in racism. Better him did pick pon John Terry!

Evra has to be wrong,but I am curious as to what possibly Evra could have asked that would evoke a question from Suarez?
                          Why are you messing with me?
                          Why black man?

I am told it is a he said she said thing,yet much weight is given to what Suarez is claiming he said.
                          You gentlemen have concluded that Syarez is not guilty.

Nothing to apologize for Big man,,Rock on the other hand ,should do a Saurez and apologize....hehe

Why black man is infinitely more acceptable...