• Tweeting is dangerous - US JA fight

Malahoo Forte under fire over tweet denouncing gay flag at US Embassy

Share this Story:

Published:Tuesday | June 14, 2016 | 7:53 AM

The US flag being flown at half-mast and below it, the rainbw flag, at the US Embassy in Kingston.
    ..bananabanana

The Attorney General Marlene Malahoo Forte is facing mounting criticism on social media following a post she made on Facebook and Twitter denouncing the decision of the United States Embassy in Kingston to fly a rainbow flag in solidarity with the victims of the Orlando gay nightclub shooting.

Forty-nine people were shot dead in the attack early Saturday morning by a man who the police later shot and killed.

READ: Florida nightclub attack just the latest US mass shooting

"I strongly condemn the #OrlandoNightClubShooting but I find it disrespectful of Jamaican laws to have #RainbowFlag flown here. #MyPersonalView," Malahoo Forte posted.

The post also sparked an early morning response from the US Embassy.

“@mmalahooforte we’re listening. Explain the legal reasoning? [It] was an attack of terror!! And!! Hate targeting the LGBT community," the embassy posted.

Earlier, the embassy tweeted that it has been flying the American flag at half-mast in memory of the Orlando victims and the rainbow flag in solidarity.

IN PHOTO: Marlene Malahoo Forte

Among those criticising Malahoo Forte on Facebook is Alexis Monteith.

"Do you believe the law in question is respectful of the difference of others (LGBT community)?" he asked.

Monteith also questioned whether Malahoo Forte was of the opinion that "being respectful" should extend to silence of over other countries’ laws that oppress and take away the rights of people because of their differences, in some cases criminalising them.

Malahoo Forte would ignore some of vulgar responses to her post, but apparently reacted to Monteith.

"If one's expression of difference evokes anger & hatred in u why do u presume ur expression of difference may not do same in others?" she questioned.

Think these Government ministers like Trump should delete their twitter account. you don't get to have a personal opinion on twitter when you are the Attorney General of Jamaica. Your personal opinion should be in your house or your backyard

Yes, that was a stupid thing to do.

I love when malahoo forte stuffs her stilettos into her perfectly formed mouth.

Makes you wonder how these people think and who we elect...at least make the thing die down first nuh...everyone in mourning and angry about the incident. ok 49 people died...who got killed when the rainbow flag fly? Not that I support gays or anything but there is always a time and place for certain things

I love when malahoo forte stuffs her stilettos into her perfectly formed mouth.

Sounds like a person who is more than willing to do that. In other words she sounds like a damn fool.

Originally posted by Reggaedoc View Post
              Sounds like a person who is more than willing to do that. In other words she sounds like a damn fool.
              Is that how you want to style the Attorney General of Jamaica?

Is this Lazie? respect still.

Question though, what is the protocol for flag flying?

What if some sees it fit to fly a ISIS flag, or a Nazi flag on their property?

Can the US fly that flag at all their embassies? While Mrs Forte can defend herself and I have a lot of empathy for the victims, are we opening a can of worms that we can't defend in the long run?

Some people feel pressured by the the US, UN and UK that they are been ask to pass gay laws. Mrs Forte using Twitter is foolish when you are in power and can use other channels but should the rainbow flag be flown at an embassy?

Can the US fly that flag at all their embassies? While Mrs Forte can defend herself and I have a lot of empathy for the victims, are we opening a can of worms that we can't defend in the long run?

Some people feel pressured by the the US, UN and UK that they are been ask to pass gay laws. Mrs Forte using Twitter is foolish when you are in power and can use other channels but should the rainbow flag be flown at an embassy?
                    If the rainbow flag can be used to decorate the White House, then why not the US embassy. An embassy is the territory of the country it represents. It is essentially an extension of the State Dept

This should answer some of your questions: http://www.nowtheendbegins.com/obama...mbassy-israel/

As you see, they are saying Obama is anti-religion and a bunch of other things. Well, if he considers religion something of a choice and sexual orientation not, then...

Anyway, Sass, looks like the whole world could be getting this treatment.

Is that how you want to style the Attorney General of Jamaica?
                        I am saying that she doesn't seem to have the temperament or degree of diplomacy to be a good government official let alone be an AG.

While understand where you are coming from, I do hope you realize that your analogy lacks any reasonable sense of proportion. The USA or Germany for that matter isn't going to fly the Nazi flag and I don't know of any country that is going to fly the ISIS flag at its embassy, but the main point is, I don't think, and I don't think she thinks this was done by the US State dept to disrespect Jamaica. On other words, I think that this woman sounds like a damn lunatic, knowing fully well that the can fly any flag they want on their embassy grounds. If she is that offended then ask our PM to summon the ambassador to Kings House or Jamaica House to voice our protest, not go on twitter to score cheap points.

If you realize I asked the protocal as I simply didn't know. Nuff people will come on here and act like they knew but simply don't. As in the case that Mosiah posted it can be consider insensitive to some of the groups in other countries. Again Mrs Forte used the wrong media but you know how sensitive the gay agenda becomes in a country like Jamaica.

Forget protocol for a minute. What about common sense and diplomacy?. There is no place for any of those.