• Electing the unelectable

Betty Ann Blaine
    Tuesday, July 10, 2007

Dear Reader,
    Fly the gate" and "Let in the pirate" is the twist that Jamaicans with their incredible talent for cynicism mixed with humour have coined over the years in response to the PNP's electioneering slogan.

On the serious side, the phrase speaks to the recognition the people have for the deep levels of corruption that exist in the system, and perhaps a resignation that nothing can be done, and that nothing will ever change.

People looking from the outside in, must think that we are a set of jokers. They must be wondering how it is that we are getting ready to elect a government that has been riddled with one corruption scandal after another, including the one currently brewing (Universal Access Fund), during the electioneering period. What is even more incredible is that in spite of the scandals, the polls show the governing party ahead. It boggles my mind, but I have my own theories.

First of all, scandals like the National Solid Waste, Sandals Whitehouse, Trafigura, and now the questionable Universal Access Fund have not really touched the lives of the working class or the poor who make up the majority of the electorate.

By the way, this has nothing at all to do with the people's ability to understand the issues. It is that these issues can't put bread and butter on the table. Second, the country is now clothed in a wide garment of corruption that has now more or less become an accepted part of national life. It is every man for himself, and as one youngster puts it, "If the big man dem a do it, wha 'bout we? Why we can't do it to?"

Even if no law has been broken, the idea that one single human being could be paid $28 million for a little over a year-and-a half's work from public funds, while our children are being fed a steady diet of chicken back, cheese trix and bag juice, is as disgraceful as it is unjust, and this government should hang its head in shame.

Only last Friday, I interviewed a young mother leaving the gates of Mandeville Hospital with a look of hopelessness. Her young son had broken his arm and the pain was written all over the child's face. The little boy was leaving without a cast being put on because the hospital did not have the necessary materials. The mother had been given the prescription to go and buy the plaster of Paris. "I don't have any money, Miss," she said with the tears running down her face.

"I don't have a job, and I don't have anything," she whispered looking away from me seemingly in embarrassment and grief. This happening after the big announcement about free health care for children.
    Where is the sense of moral outrage in this country? There is a set of young Turks in the current administration whose greed knows no end. It would be interesting to know what type of assets they have abroad and how much money they have stashed away in overseas tax havens.

The biggest contradiction of this government is its so-called love and concern for the poor. Not only are basic food items, health care and housing generally unattainable and inaccessible to the poor, the degree of moral poverty that has been foisted upon the land as a result of a lack of vision and moral leadership is unspeakable. Jamaica has never been this poor morally, spiritually, socially and economically, as it is under this current regime.

I don't think that there is another country in the region that has sunken the way Jamaica has over the past two decades, and our demise is becoming the talk of the town. The absence of our prime minister from a crucial Caricom Heads of Government Summit and the poor manner in which this was handled underscore the lack of integrity and credibility of this government that wishes to lead the country for another five years.

As far as I am concerned, the polls are irrelevant. In no way do they reflect the crisis of leadership and the "unelectability" or the current administration. To ask people which side they will support seems almost an insult given the state of corruption and the fact that what we have is a bankrupt political system that is steadily losing all moral authority.

There are many people in this country who have lost their appetites for this thing we have masquerading as democratic governance. One gentleman in an email writes, "I say to our leaders of both political parties and their henchmen: You proud leaders of garrison constituencies who profess love for the poor but give them salt to suck through a wooden spoon, enjoy your election campaign. Have fun dancing and singing on the political stages of the country; eat up all the curry goat you can stuff into your faces; party all night. Have fun. I promise you that the evil that your parties have perpetuated on the Jamaican people will come to haunt you."

With the prime minister "flying the gate" while the diehards and "fat cats" may not care what kind of garbage is piled up behind the gate, something tells me that soon and very soon the Jamaican people will know the full story.
    With love,
    bab2609@yahoo.com

HL always say "a country get the gov't it deserves!" We have idiots ruining the country for the past 18 years and to this day instead of focusing on the issues people a talk bout who have charisma.

Trafigura buss and instead of finding out what is happening unthinking people waan burn a bank worker at the stake for something she didn't do.

Bruce Golding have been discussing the issues and instead of talking about it, idiots talking bout who formed the NDM and rejoined the JLP. Who gives a fock? Ketch how dem hypocritical!!! Who formed the WPJ? Where is he today? How dem nuh have no issue with that?

We need fi change our motto from "Out of Many, One People!" to "One fool lead many!!"

I am thinking of running for J.F.F presidency in near future.
      I have my coach already and he is willing to coach the squads for free at least the 1st 4 months. I also have my 4 confederation president and I will be selling the J.f.f building and run a virtual office . My chef will not charge for cooking but I just have to get visa for him wherever we go. I will be renting out the academy to small islands and private european clubs during offseason. I will loan out Bora to cayman island for half of his salary.
      I will pay off captain all the money J.f.f owe him in lump sum. I will play all home qualifying game at new stadium in Trelawny. I will guarantee one game with England every year. Prende will be appointed to give ongoing refeering seminars to national representatives.Tony Robbins will be invited to talk to each player 4 times a year. There will be a private jet name reggaeboyz.I will not travel with team all the time and my coach will be team manager also. I will try to get one major stadium in every parish before I retired. Every player will be pay equally. There will be no bonuses for individual player but the squad will be rewarded for exceptional result/performance. There is more to come including tv contracts in china etc.

Yuh sure you not already in politics? I count at least fourteen promises in that short speech.

I believe in the expression "promises are a comfort to a fool"

pr
        Last edited by Peter R; July 16, 2007, 11:42 AM.

While in college in the USA, I remember running for a particular office. I made no promises to anyone, even when asked for some. One exception - I promised to facilitate the plans of the membership, to make sure that they were fully realised.

That I did, and I believe I had a successful year.

Betty Ann Blaine
            Tuesday, July 10, 2007

Dear Reader,
            Fly the gate" and "Let in the pirate" is the twist that Jamaicans with their incredible talent for cynicism mixed with humour have coined over the years in response to the PNP's electioneering slogan.

On the serious side, the phrase speaks to the recognition the people have for the deep levels of corruption that exist in the system, and perhaps a resignation that nothing can be done, and that nothing will ever change.

People looking from the outside in, must think that we are a set of jokers. They must be wondering how it is that we are getting ready to elect a government that has been riddled with one corruption scandal after another, including the one currently brewing (Universal Access Fund), during the electioneering period. What is even more incredible is that in spite of the scandals, the polls show the governing party ahead. It boggles my mind, but I have my own theories.

First of all, scandals like the National Solid Waste, Sandals Whitehouse, Trafigura, and now the questionable Universal Access Fund have not really touched the lives of the working class or the poor who make up the majority of the electorate.

By the way, this has nothing at all to do with the people's ability to understand the issues. It is that these issues can't put bread and butter on the table. Second, the country is now clothed in a wide garment of corruption that has now more or less become an accepted part of national life. It is every man for himself, and as one youngster puts it, "If the big man dem a do it, wha 'bout we? Why we can't do it to?" ---->

----->----->------>

---->With the prime minister "flying the gate" while the diehards and "fat cats" may not care what kind of garbage is piled up behind the gate, something tells me that soon and very soon the Jamaican people will know the full story.
            With love,
            bab2609@yahoo.com

Isn't the answer in Ms Blaine's above writings?

This is a little dot on Earth named Jamaica. We are all removed from each other by "one degree of separation". So we are either 'blood related', friend related, schoolmate related, sports club related, service club related, church goer related, ...or one of a host of other 'socio-grams related'.

Ms. Blaine made one little mistake in thinking that each act of corruption does not touch each and everyone of us. Each and every act of corruption touches each and everyone of us in some way. We either believe we gain something...even if that sometimes that is merely being contnted that an acquaintance, friend, relative, social club member...brother of a friend or acquaintance whose daughter is married to the cousin of the so-called beneficiary or whatever. ...or, we lose something in the lost developments and or advances the corruption delays or make impossible.

The corruption in the society is rampant. Lazie and his merry band may not believe it...but, as Ms. Blaine also points out, it is so!

The thought behind the apparent nonchalance when looking on corruption lies somewhere between a wistful why couldn't it be me...directly 'hauling in' some of the filthy lucre and if I were in that person or those persons postion, I would do the same...and, I know of no-one who would do otherwise - pastor, church-goer, or rest of the society.

It has gotten so bad in the society that the 'Mr. & Mrs. Big-Wig' through to the steet-cleaner does not think twice before ripping off another entity or person...even ripping off family and friends. Let's think on it? - It is claimed more JLP persons operate businesses that do trade with and or provide services for the government...sooooo who do government employees 'turn' most government businesses if the forging is true? ...and, if it is 50% to PNP supporters and 50% to JLP supporters...and, inter-relationships of JPLites and PNPites? The society is corrupt.

Look at our JFF corruption during Burrell's regime? Corruption during Boxhill's regime? Look at the words coming out of the mouths of supporters of one or the other party? Look at the last election? Look at the claims Burrell has sabotaged the current regime? In this latter if there is truth in that statement there is corruption of thought and mind. ...and, if there is no truth or not in each and every case the charge is made, there is corruption in thought and mind.

Corruption is rampant!

Look at the Whitehouse Hotel unholy rip off? If there is any person with an ounce of sense that thinks for one moment Butch Stewart did not have his hand in knowing about cost overruns and the attendant changes...then, that person must know Butch as a fool. Sooo there was mismanagement and cost overruns...and, corruption everywhere!

Corruption is rampant! ...and, it is also to be seen in the false promises politicians are throwing about as polling day of the coming General Election nears! Corruption is rampant!