Ever accurate-ever sure-ever echoed by the Gleaner editorial

LOL!

Offshore (paper) companies which don't conduct business are basically for obscuring the ownership of assets plus avoiding or evading taxes. The first 2 are not necessarily illegal...but can raise ethical issues

But I guess they all can be seen as "estate planning" woooiiiiiee
    An appropriate perspective in this editorial

Editorial | Embracing Julian Robinson’s Gift

The background noise to this issue, of course, is the controversy over the financing and other matters relating to the mansion in the Kingston suburb of Beverly Hills being built by Prime Minister Andrew Holness and held in a St Lucian offshore company. Mr Holness has rejected the allegation that using an offshore vehicle, in which his two juvenile sons are the other shareholders, to hold his properties was not to avoid taxes, but to facilitate "estate planning".

There is absolutely nothing illegal in what Mr Holness did, but perhaps for the optics. There are, however, likely to be moral questions for the PM
    , or anyone seeking high political office, of whether a country's leader should use offshore vehicles of this kind from which to manage their personal resources, when the domestic arrangements they bypass are the result of government policy, and the alternatives are not as easily available to the average citizen.

Moreover, Mr Holness' arguments notwithstanding, "estate planning", utilising offshore international business companies, like those registered in St Lucia, is precisely about tax efficiency - ensuring the beneficial owners enjoy the asset or the proceeds therefrom without the normal tax burdens thereof. For instance, inherent in bequeathing a home or selling property are the transfer taxes, stamp duties relative to real-estate transactions, which are avoided if the real estate remains part of the assets of a firm, which itself may be free from income and other taxes because of its offshore status.
    Last edited by Don1; June 7, 2016, 08:43 AM.

so registering an offshore company to avoid paying estate tax isn't estate planning...you learn something new everyday...broke...bitter...& defeated suits you comrades

Let's hear the retort from the gallery of sycophants.

You're smarter than this. I think.

It's funny how the other person we like to accuse of corruptly attaining property as a politician, PJ Patterson, is the only other politician who declared his assets.

Before Mr Robinson provided this newspaper with copies of his declarations, only twice in nearly 40 years has a politician made public his assets and liabilities - both times being by P.J. Patterson, the former prime minister and leader of the People's National Party.

julian publicly declared his assets? point me to the documentation...unnuh cyann this gullible

Hmmm...can't dem to recall saying all of that.

Publicly or not, it appears the only two politicians to declare their assets and earnings are Robinson and PJ.

But let's not stray from the point of all of this. Anju needs to tell all. That's the real point!

It's frightening how Jamaican politicians just don't get it. Or maybe they do but in Jamaica in jamaaica they don't have to care. Since we love to compare ourselves to America try this thought experiment: What would happen to the credibility of any US leader whose name was on the Panama papers even though technically he/she had done nothing illegal?

That politician would be toast. Unless, of course, his/her name was Donald Trump!

ahmm...you mean integrity declarations made to the integrity commission...by all ministers...lol...the blows to the head have you comrades dizzy...

i guarantee that every us politician practices estate planning...you dryhead comrades need to pick up a book

I guarantee that US politician practice estate planning. I also guarantee that any US politician that aspires to the top job in the land makes sure their names are not on the list of account holders in offshore tax havens. Not because they are angels but because them have sense. You don't understand this thing.

You're smarter than this. I think.
                            No he's not. Doesn't even comprehend basic English it seems

Must be the excitement of having his tribe in power....Haffi si wid di tribalist dem unuh...head tek dem

Bricky feels that we dryhead people nuh have nuh sense.

Estate planning is one thing, offshore estate planning is quite another.

As a matter of fact, for Anju to look into the camera the other day and basically give us the same disingenuous nonsense that Bricky is trying do here...disgraceful!

He wants prosperity for all Jamaicans? Then show us and enable us to set up offshore companies like he did.

Sumting wrong wid yuh brain yuteman. I concluded that it CAN be regarded as estate planning

Especially so if as a public official one's estate planning includes the avoidance of taxes one is sworn to collect from others...And in an environment of budget deficits, austerity as well as more expected taxation on the horizon i.e. More ramen noodle nyaming fi yuh

Interesting that the irony...scratch dat...hypocrisy & moral bankruptcy of such an "estate plan" escapes you

But Jamaicans are all about getting over, licky-licky and hurry-come-up so it's all par for the course
                                Last edited by Don1; June 7, 2016, 10:02 AM.