The Law has Spoken

It's more than questions being asked....there are subtle and not so subtle insinuations that have made the rounds eg that Juliet Hnesses brother was labeled a drug kingpin on the basis of a similar name ....

" do you still beat your wife?"
    What are the insinuations?
    It shall be interesting seeing Andrew's defense against insinuations?

Mi belly...whoooeeeee!

I feel safe saying that whatever answer he gives will not be considered satisfactory and that it will be ridden as a strategy for all it's worth ... Way I see it he has no choice to but file a defamation lawsuit will require him to prove that the allegations and insinuations are false.

In other words he NEEDS a declaratory judgment otherwise the innuendo and insinuations will not go away.

One thing I know is Holness don't do "Donald Trump" and that is why they can't hold him. He think before making every move. Right now he will make his declaration and he is using the time to satisfy and give others in his party to put their house in order. When he comes with his papers he will come with legislation for all of the top politicians to declare their assets.

Let us see how many others going to hold up their hands and show. All mi know is that RJR/TVJ no stop campaign.

Lots of politicians who appear to come into sudden wealth from unknown sources have to live with the suspicion of corruption. He is not special in that regard.

Yes he can and will use Jamaica's archaic libel laws and high tolerance for lack of transparency and malfeasance among public servants to his advantage....that's his prerogative

Regardless of how tribalists from one side or the other try to overplay these situations....I find the intense questioning of politicians to be generally VERY positive in keeping the more wanton kleptomaniacs out there in check

It's unfortunate but unavoidable that the few honest may suffer suspicion along with the corrupt....since the corruption is so comprehensive
          Last edited by Don1; June 5, 2016, 12:58 AM.

Actually Jamaica's defamation laws are modern having been reformed not too long ago to keep abreast with prevailing international norms....

The only problem is nothing has ever been been asked of anybody on one side.

Remember the last time how the address of JLP members houses in the US was published?

We need to stop think it is getting better as when when one side is in power these inquires are not made. I support it, inquires but it should be made WE know on all sides. We know Holness of offshore account. Who else in Govt and opposition do? Who else is building big house, what is there source of funding?

This is only directed at Holness and not at any other political rep.

It is but the Bibery law also need updating.

This is a rum bar.. easy wid di facts.. yuh gonna kill the buzz...

The only problem is nothing has ever been been asked of anybody on one side.

Remember the last time how the address of JLP members houses in the US was published?

We need to stop think it is getting better as when when one side is in power these inquires are not made. I support it, inquires but it should be made WE know on all sides. We know Holness of offshore account. Who else in Govt and opposition do? Who else is building big house, what is there source of funding?

This is only directed at Holness and not at any other political rep.
                    Agreed!

But, if I may throw in a "but" here, I think the problem was the meteoric rise of Anju. One can understand if Portia, over the 30 years, peeled off the top of contributions like Trafigura likkle likkle and built her mansion, as wrong as that would be. But what did Anju and his contractor wife peel off in 4 years? Unless the peeling started sooner than we know. And when your house is in Beverley Hills and not the south coast of France, then you're gonna draw attention to yourself!

He can fix it - answer the questions! And stop blocking investigative journalism like 18 Degrees. It will make it difficult to get after the PNP politicians you so want us to do.

But Julian Robinson big house has just been in the news and the man say he will release income sources in a few days, so you can't say it's just one side. I am sure there are others.

I just got to watch the 18 degrees north piece. I think Holness has a case for defamation based on the innuendo without any real evidence. To talk about the mans salary and not mention his wife's potential earnings in her profession is deliberately misleading.

The unfortunate thing is that most of the information in the piece was legitimate investigative journalism. Questions should be asked about govt officials who are behind on taxes or who find ways to avoid paying it with creative financial schemes. The use of the house and property as a lead into it is where she might have some problems.

Well, I hope Mrs. Anju does very, very well in her profession as a "contractor". Because the 3 or whatever number properties they have acquired without a mortgage is not chicken feed!

So, do we throw out the entire program because part of it may be libellous?

Who is questioning Robinson??? Show me the Journalist that is questioning it.

The question come from within his own party.

It is simple that the laws should be tabled in Parliament for what needed to be declared. We can't make up the questions just to suit our own agenda and allow curiosity to get ahead of us as was done to "Holness brother".

Who is questioning Robinson??? Show me the Journalist that is questioning it.

The question come from within his own party.
                            Maybe Anju's questioners could come from his own party as well!

Maybe.

They may have been reformed but to describe them as "modern" is off base in my opinion. The legal circus over a well researched investigative journalism piece is ridiculous

In fact many things Jamaicans may regard as modern are hopelessly backward. It's a symptom of Jamaicans' small-minded perspectives

The political system, education system, legal/justice system and media operations for examples. Many aspects of those systems have been so called "reformed" ...but remain backward

I guess everything is relative and subject to opinion
                                Last edited by Don1; June 5, 2016, 10:05 AM.