Golding slams PNP over 'long' campaign period

• Golding slams PNP over 'long' campaign period

But is who did tell him and the JLP fi start campagin from last year?

published: Monday | July 9, 2007

Thousands of People's National Party supporters throng Half-Way Tree Square during the party's mass meeting yesterday. - Norman Grindley/Deputy Chief Photographer
    Just minutes after the Prime Minister 'sounded the trumpet' last night, Opposition Leader Bruce Golding reiterated his call for a fixed election date.
    Speaking from the Jamaica Labour Party (JLP) headquarters at Belmont Road in St. Andrew, Golding also criticised the Prime Minister over what he said was the "long, protracted" period between last night's announcement and nomination day.
    Golding charged that there was no precedent for such an extended period of campaigning in at least 50 years of Jamaican history, arguing that the People's National Party's effortsto shore up support could aggravate political tensions.
    The election could have been held ahead of Emancipation Day on August 1, Golding added.
    The Opposition Leader said a JLP government would, within the first 100 days of office, take to Parliament a bill to amend the Constitution to allow for a fixed election date.
    "For the date of the election to be used as a strategic tool dangled around and manipulated, not to satisfy the country's interest but the interest of the People's National Party, is fundamentally wrong," he said.
    Golding boasted, nevertheless, that the JLP was prepared for the extended campaign period.

But is who did tell him and the JLP fi start campagin from last year?

published: Monday | July 9, 2007

Thousands of People's National Party supporters throng Half-Way Tree Square during the party's mass meeting yesterday. - Norman Grindley/Deputy Chief Photographer
    Just minutes after the Prime Minister 'sounded the trumpet' last night, Opposition Leader Bruce Golding reiterated his call for a fixed election date.
    Speaking from the Jamaica Labour Party (JLP) headquarters at Belmont Road in St. Andrew, Golding also criticised the Prime Minister over what he said was the "long, protracted" period between last night's announcement and nomination day.
    Golding charged that there was no precedent for such an extended period of campaigning in at least 50 years of Jamaican history, arguing that the People's National Party's effortsto shore up support could aggravate political tensions.
    The election could have been held ahead of Emancipation Day on August 1, Golding added.
    The Opposition Leader said a JLP government would, within the first 100 days of office, take to Parliament a bill to amend the Constitution to allow for a fixed election date.
    "For the date of the election to be used as a strategic tool dangled around and manipulated, not to satisfy the country's interest but the interest of the People's National Party, is fundamentally wrong," he said.
    Golding boasted, nevertheless, that the JLP was prepared for the extended campaign period.
    What does Portia going against precedent and allowing 7 weeks between announcement and actual elections have to do with when the JLP started their campaign ?

Mi nuh see the big deal. Now we have a fixed election date.

If you can't seem see it, then maybe you need a refresher course in Critical Thinking. But let me help you, just this one time.

What is a 7 week campaign? Bruce's problem is that he has been campaigning for 7 months, on the advice of godknowswho! In fact, if you have been campaigning 7 months prior, then what is 7 more weeks!?

He needs to chill and go look some more money for the rest of the campaign.

If you can't seem see it, then maybe you need a refresher course in Critical Thinking. But let me help you, just this one time.

What is a 7 week campaign? Bruce's problem is that he has been campaigning for 7 months, on the advice of godknowswho! In fact, if you have been campaigning 7 months prior, then what is 7 more weeks!?

Damn! The JLP campaigning for 7 months has nothing to do with it. You clearly refuse to see what Bruce is saying ... but then ...what else is new.

It appears then you posted the wrong article to support you argument.

"Golding also criticised the Prime Minister over what he said was the "long, protracted" period between last night's announcement and nomination day.
            The election could have been held ahead of Emancipation Day on August 1, Golding added."

What you need is refresher course in 'relevance'

And what difference does it make, whether it's "between (the) announcement and nomination day", or some other time? Is there some magical status of the two days?!?

He just had to find something to oppose. Ridiculous! Makes not one earthly difference, only if one's pocket is short!

What is so magical about the announcement and nomination day? Please enlighten.

Its Bruce Golding .... we all see that you have a hardon fi him. Just imagine it was Seaga that made the announcement .. then be yuhself.

I would appreciate if you "keep it real" and use some more Jamaican terms instead of that anatomical reference to describe my feelings (real or imagined) on Bruce.

Its as real as can be. As him say eh ... yuh attack him. Even when he is right.

As I've indicated before personally I don't see the fuss, but listen to what people in various sectors have to say ... is not Bruce alone have that opinion.

One more thing, you mocked the opposition for campaigning too early, well last July when Portia was in another island she stated when she returned she would be hitting the campaign trial. I can bet if the JLP wasn't campaigning you'd still have a problem with them. You people are amazing.

Never said Bruce was the only stupid clown on the island. See Maudib deh!

heh heh!

And what difference does it make, whether it's "between (the) announcement and nomination day", or some other time? Is there some magical status of the two days?!?

He just had to find something to oppose. Ridiculous! Makes not one earthly difference, only if one's pocket is short!
                          You find nothing strange with allowing 7 weeks after announcement.. it certainly is unusual and deserves comment... especially since the period casts a shadow over 2 holidays.. people tend to keep a low profile after election is announced as it is a tense period...

Never said Bruce was the only stupid clown on the island. See Maudib deh!

heh heh!
                            Continue to form the fool..