McBots on tap...Servants beware
At some point in time it will reach 30. Seeing that you didn't get it. Why not reverse it to $5/per hr?
BTW no way did I say 15 would cause an housing boom. Read over what I said. Almost anything negative can deflate an economy, not so in building one or setting it soaring to new heights. I guess you would prefer to pass the cost to the federal budget (via social program) that only delays the calamity.
What do you suggest that would stem the rising cost of living in the US?
Your understanding of macroeconomics is very shallow.
The cost of living is not corrected in any fundamental way by increasing the minimum wage. It is at best temporary relief until prices adjust and we are back to square one.
What is required to improve low wages is to reduce the DEMAND for these unskilled jobs by producing a workforce with more advanced skills. As long as there is a surplus of people who are only qualified to ask if you want to supersize the number 5 special, there will be a problem with wages at the lower end staying depressed. In a free market economy you are paid based on what you are skills are worth, not based on what your bills at home are and how many children you have to feed.
You have to bring more to the table than that in the 21st century or you are going to be left behind economically,barely surviving off the scraps paid by employers or handed out by the government. Not everybody is wired to be an engineer or a financial analyst but we all have the capacity to do more than mindless, repetitive work ."It is easier to build strong children than to repair broken men" - Frederick Douglass
Iman, I've known you over time on this board. You seem an okay person. At times when I don't answer it's because of the lack of knowledge on the other person's part. In the bible you were told that Adam and Eve wandered in the garden picking fruits, eating running around naked. The day they ate from the tree of knowledge they discovered that they were naked.
Iman yuh naked go put on clothes.
Oh what a great philosopher-yapper
Originally posted by Jawge View PostAt times when I don't answer it's because of the lack of knowledge on the other person's part. In the bible you were told that Adam and Eve wandered in the garden picking fruits, eating running around naked. The day they ate from the tree of knowledge they discovered that they were naked.
That's achieved not by typing crap on a computer...but by actual work on the ground building programs teaching & inspiring kids to be an active part of the 21st century
But as an ex-ex poster recently wrote...even the ignorant should be heard. So keep on yappin'TIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
Since you're still at sea...The minimum wage issue is linked to the lack of modern skills in the workforce..especially among Black people. It is also linked to the increasing availability of automated solutions via robotics which can in many cases replace said low skill labor.
Consequently, merely increasing the minimum wage can easily cause job losses and have a net effect of lower aggregate wages despite higher minimum salaries....since lower cost solutions are increasingly available to businesses
So your "housing crisis" theory is quite ludicrous and reflects (as stated) a very shallow understanding of macroeconomics. Not to mention the workforce impacts of technological shifts.
Housing crises are generally caused by interest rate distortions or investment bubbles resulting in severe demand/supply mismatches. Hiking minimum wages cannot prevent nor cure actual housing crises.
The fact that these simple concepts have to be spelled out for you is alarming....Not a good look at allLast edited by Don1; May 27, 2016, 04:15 PM.TIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE