• Prophets, prophecies and politics

Prophets, prophecies and politics
    Louis EA Moyston
    Saturday, July 07, 2007

There is a very rich history of street preachers and prophets in Jamaica. Some have left behind indelible marks. In the 19th century there were HE Shakespeare Woods and Alexander Bedward. In the 20th century there was Leonard P Howell and in our times we have seen the growth of prophets with the expansion of the independent evangelicals.

In recent times we observe the rise of "traditional type" prophets such as Rev Wesley Knott of Mountain View. In the article "Nine years and no flood" (Observer, May 20007), the writer notes that Prophet Knott and followers vacated the site where they were waiting for "Noah's boat" that did not arrive. Members of our older generations, especially from the rural areas, will only be too pleased to tell you about colourful "warners" and "prophets". In my childhood, I went to many meetings of street preachers.
    Early prophets and prophecies

H E Shakespeare Woods is reported to have prophesied the destruction of Dallas Castle by flood. When a cloudburst destroyed the Wesleyan Church and other buildings five months later, on October 11, 1879, his fame as a prophet spread. Soon afterwards, he selected a religious group to carry on his leadership. Bedward was to be a part of that new leadership.

After Bedward's famous baptism at the bank of the Hope River on December 22, 1891, the story of his healing stream spread rapidly countrywide and so too his fame. He became an advocate of "Black Power" and the keeper of Paul Bogle's 1865 Uprising. His prophecies were rooted in the history of the Bible and the history of black people in Jamaica and Ethiopia.

Bedward became a target of the "law" and the asylum for his more substantive prophecies relating to the politics of change in Jamaica - the victory of the black majority over white minority in colonial Jamaica. Bedward's political/religious mission existed in Jamaica for over three decades.

So too his influence. One of the prophecies Bedward advanced was, "Jesus is going to burst the prison and mash up the asylum and do away with churches. there will only be one church and King." In another, he kept the Bogle tradition alive and used it as a reminder of things to come (1938). The prophet speaks, "Peace be unto you. The first speech I must give you is the black wall will crush the white wall." The people responded "with cries of Hallelujah". According to Ken Post, Bedward's movement was not only religious, its doctrine had profound political implications.

Leonard P Howell was a prophet in his own right. At his 1934 trial he prophesied that in the same way Nebuchadnezzar, the King of Babylon, lost power, so too would the King of England, the new Babylon, would fall. This was the case of England in the post-1944 and World War II era - the rapid fall from power to an ordinary state in Europe. Howell and Bedward had their fair successes in political predications. These prophets link their religious activities to the social reality. These prophets had visions that influenced many people resulting in the development of black consciousness movements that was critical to the building of a new society in Jamaica.

Today's prophets
    Prophets and prophecies are very much a part of the political discussions and activities in Jamaica. This time the prophets are directly rooted in and guided by the Bible. One prophet describes the ability to give prophecy as a "spiritual gift". Prophecies in politics are competing with the pollsters and the polls in forecasting the results of the coming elections. Prophet Phinn prophesies that the prime minister will be victorious. "Prophet" Terrence Brown, chaplain to the St Catherine Parish Council, "prophesies that senior MPs will lose seats" in the coming general elections (Observer, May 23). The prophecy of Prophet Phinn has generated much interest and discussion. We will wait and see what's up for "Prophet" Brown.

There is much discussion on Prophet Phinn. There is fear on one hand and ridicule on the other. But Prophet Phinn says that the ability to give prophesy is a "spiritual gift". The works of Bedward and Howell were directly related to the restoration of self-respect through self-identity. I am not sure how they are related to Phinn's prophecy, but he argues that God's people need prophecies.

Prophecies and polls
    It was Prof Carl Stone that played a most significant role in establishing polls and poll reports in the newspapers as a critical part of political discussion and forecasting political results in Jamaica. I regard him as one of the greatest pollsters in the world. His works from 1976 to 1981 remain the most significant pieces on the history and analysis of polls in Jamaica.

In today's Jamaica, polls are very important in the political discourse. But in recent years, prophets and prophecies are competing with the polls in making political predictions.

These prophecies have their adherents and opponents. In a recent letter to the editor, a writer warned: "Beware of prophets". The writer mentioned the effect of Phinn's work on the "simple and the spiritually naïve". This comment is so similar to many letters to the editors on Bedward and Howell.

This is where the fear occurs - how these prophecies influence poor people. I am sure we will see the responses to Prophet Brown and how some sections of the public continue to trash Prophet Phinn. My grandmother used to say, repeatedly, that the "Lord helps those who help themselves".

Louis EA Moyston is a lecturer and researcher.
    thearchives01@yahoo.com

Prophets, prophecies and politics
    Louis EA Moyston
    Saturday, July 07, 2007

There is a very rich history of street preachers and prophets in Jamaica. Some have left behind indelible marks. In the 19th century there were HE Shakespeare Woods and Alexander Bedward. In the 20th century there was Leonard P Howell and in our times we have seen the growth of prophets with the expansion of the independent evangelicals.

In recent times we observe the rise of "traditional type" prophets such as Rev Wesley Knott of Mountain View. In the article "Nine years and no flood" (Observer, May 20007), the writer notes that Prophet Knott and followers vacated the site where they were waiting for "Noah's boat" that did not arrive. Members of our older generations, especially from the rural areas, will only be too pleased to tell you about colourful "warners" and "prophets". In my childhood, I went to many meetings of street preachers.
    Early prophets and prophecies

H E Shakespeare Woods is reported to have prophesied the destruction of Dallas Castle by flood. When a cloudburst destroyed the Wesleyan Church and other buildings five months later, on October 11, 1879, his fame as a prophet spread. Soon afterwards, he selected a religious group to carry on his leadership. Bedward was to be a part of that new leadership.

After Bedward's famous baptism at the bank of the Hope River on December 22, 1891, the story of his healing stream spread rapidly countrywide and so too his fame. He became an advocate of "Black Power" and the keeper of Paul Bogle's 1865 Uprising. His prophecies were rooted in the history of the Bible and the history of black people in Jamaica and Ethiopia.

Bedward became a target of the "law" and the asylum for his more substantive prophecies relating to the politics of change in Jamaica - the victory of the black majority over white minority in colonial Jamaica. Bedward's political/religious mission existed in Jamaica for over three decades.

So too his influence. One of the prophecies Bedward advanced was, "Jesus is going to burst the prison and mash up the asylum and do away with churches. there will only be one church and King." In another, he kept the Bogle tradition alive and used it as a reminder of things to come (1938). The prophet speaks, "Peace be unto you. The first speech I must give you is the black wall will crush the white wall." The people responded "with cries of Hallelujah". According to Ken Post, Bedward's movement was not only religious, its doctrine had profound political implications.

Leonard P Howell was a prophet in his own right. At his 1934 trial he prophesied that in the same way Nebuchadnezzar, the King of Babylon, lost power, so too would the King of England, the new Babylon, would fall. This was the case of England in the post-1944 and World War II era - the rapid fall from power to an ordinary state in Europe. Howell and Bedward had their fair successes in political predications. These prophets link their religious activities to the social reality. These prophets had visions that influenced many people resulting in the development of black consciousness movements that was critical to the building of a new society in Jamaica.

Today's prophets
    Prophets and prophecies are very much a part of the political discussions and activities in Jamaica. This time the prophets are directly rooted in and guided by the Bible. One prophet describes the ability to give prophecy as a "spiritual gift". Prophecies in politics are competing with the pollsters and the polls in forecasting the results of the coming elections. Prophet Phinn prophesies that the prime minister will be victorious. "Prophet" Terrence Brown, chaplain to the St Catherine Parish Council, "prophesies that senior MPs will lose seats" in the coming general elections (Observer, May 23). The prophecy of Prophet Phinn has generated much interest and discussion. We will wait and see what's up for "Prophet" Brown.

There is much discussion on Prophet Phinn. There is fear on one hand and ridicule on the other. But Prophet Phinn says that the ability to give prophesy is a "spiritual gift". The works of Bedward and Howell were directly related to the restoration of self-respect through self-identity. I am not sure how they are related to Phinn's prophecy, but he argues that God's people need prophecies.

Prophecies and polls
    It was Prof Carl Stone that played a most significant role in establishing polls and poll reports in the newspapers as a critical part of political discussion and forecasting political results in Jamaica. I regard him as one of the greatest pollsters in the world. His works from 1976 to 1981 remain the most significant pieces on the history and analysis of polls in Jamaica.

In today's Jamaica, polls are very important in the political discourse. But in recent years, prophets and prophecies are competing with the polls in making political predictions.

These prophecies have their adherents and opponents. In a recent letter to the editor, a writer warned: "Beware of prophets". The writer mentioned the effect of Phinn's work on the "simple and the spiritually naïve". This comment is so similar to many letters to the editors on Bedward and Howell.

This is where the fear occurs - how these prophecies influence poor people. I am sure we will see the responses to Prophet Brown and how some sections of the public continue to trash Prophet Phinn. My grandmother used to say, repeatedly, that the "Lord helps those who help themselves".

Louis EA Moyston is a lecturer and researcher.
    thearchives01@yahoo.com
    Meanwhile in the REAL WORLD.. it took South Korea 10 years to implement the most advanced broad-band network in the World.. the impetus being how to get out of the Asian Finanical Crisis in 1997..

Where was South Korea in 1972 ?

Where was Jamaica in 1972 ?

A friend tell mi seh is a virus.. but I do not suscribe to genetically based virus theory.. I believe the root of the problem lies in a Cultural difference coupled with vestiges of Slavery with a good dose of poor Policy and Priority.. for example, too much worrying about the complexion of successful private boards and not enough focus on creating th environment to increase the number of successful private boards.. too much focus bellyaching about the 'Winners' not enough learning how to leverage them...

Lee Kwan Yew sent his best people to Harvard, MIT and Stanford.. we sent ours to Moscow and Cuba...

And then we act confused and surprised at the results and complain about 'pace'..

There is something radically wrong when you have a Diaspora valued at $40 Billion US and at home yuh talking about removing pit latrines from schools in 2007.

PNP need a thorough make-over.. tear it down and build it back up from scratch.. too many remnants of a failed ideology pretending to understand or have the will to implement prudent nation and economic development policy...no matter how much dem talk, they just cannot help demselves..