Nile Rodgers (and CHIC): I really miss Historian:

In my opinion, he's ranked even higher than those persons you named.

Sometimes I wonder if it's because he's associated with disco why he doesn't get the respect he deserves.

He's a living legend!

He has a signature lead guitar sound. I thought it was him on Bruno Mars Uptown Funk.
      Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Yes I think the disco connection works against him To some extent, but it made him a whole lot of money!

His music created Hip Hop
          Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Yes I think the disco connection works against him To some extent, but it made him a whole lot of money!
            It's his musical range and scope that's is incredible. Diana Ross, David Bowie, Duran Duran and renounced artists like these that he has placed on the map with #1 hit songs.

I actually agree with Mosiah that Rodgers may be above Mayfield and Hayes in overall musical achievements.

I think it made hip hop cross the colour line, but created it...? That would be a stretch, in my view.

And nuh matter how we try to denigrate disco, it continues to thrive! Disco lovers need not hang their (my) heads in embarrassment. I am sure Nile embraces that part of his history, even as he surreptitiously brings it back!

Not as an innovator ...

I'm sure you meant "renowned"

Yes...RENOWNED:

Some may disagree with that.

As a cultural icon and music innovator, Nile Rodgers transcends all styles of music across every generation. From "Good Times" to "Get Lucky," Rodgers' unrivaled track record is a mere glimpse of what's yet to come.
                        http://www.nilerodgers.com/about/biography

JAMAICAN DANCEHALL MUSIC & CULTURE gave birth to AMERICAN RAP MUSIC & HIP HOP CULTURE.......Some may say early rap exhibited influences from scatting (Jazz) & Cab Callaway's "calling & answering" style & interaction with the crowd, BUT Jamaican Dancehall has its fingerprints all over Rap & Hip Hop culture.

Disco music & the artists producing the music would CRUSH anything they have today.......You don't need to sing, play an instrument & read music to be called an ARTIST today.

We know THAT....

Wasn't the primary weakness in disco the lyrical content, not the arrangement?

Some of those disco songs were quite creative musically. There should be no shame in the work at all.

"Turn the Beat Around"

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GibSfptSkGk

"This is It" - One of my favorite disco songs, written and produced by the great Van McCoy

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ag8-rVxE5tc

I have always been a big Melba Moore fan whatever the genre.