• Karl, UNDER DI JAIL wi a sen yuh

people dem...

"In the latest twist to the saga involving the controversial spending of more than $28 million from the Universal Access Fund, Opposition Leader Bruce Golding has appointed a specialist team of professionals to probe the multimillion-dollar payout.

The Jamaica Labour Party (JLP) Leader has charged that the Government has ignored calls by Clive Mullings, Opposition Spokesman on Mining, Energy & Telecommunications, for a forensic audit of the fund, which falls under the portfolio of Phillip Paulwell, Minister of Industry, Technology, Energy and Commerce.

Minett Palmer, the lawyer who received the $28.2 million for legal services, was also an adviser to Minister Paulwell, as well as a director of the company mandated to manage the money.

In a statement issued yesterday, Mr. Golding did not mince words in describing what he believes to be shady transactions.

"What has gone on at the Universal Access Fund involved more than a lack of transparency, absence of due diligence, conflict of interest, exorbitant fees and tax evasion," he stressed.

In addition to opining that this was "only the latest in a series of scandals which has characterised the PNP government", Mr. Golding reiterated his party's commitment to establishing a special prosecutor to investigate and prosecute public officials involved in corruption."

Juss mek sure di pom-poms and makeup can come off easy..

Mr. Golding reiterated his party's commitment to establishing a special prosecutor to investigate and prosecute public officials involved in corruption."
    Every democratic society needs checks and balances. Most US states have a State's Attorney (public prosecutor) who direct an office of Public Integrity, that investigates allegations of public corruption.

Golding has my support if he is serious about this initiative, and our friends who support the PNP, Karl, Jawge etc, should be equally upset over the alleged miss use of public funds.

Originally posted by Hortikal View Post
      Every democratic society needs checks and balances. Most US states have a State's Attorney (public prosecutor) who direct an office of Public Integrity, that investigates allegations of public corruption.

Golding has my support if he is serious about this initiative, and our friends who support the PNP, Karl, Jawge etc, should be equally upset over the alleged miss use of public funds.
      Cho ! Everday ting dat..

When removing the 'Glass Ceiling', yuh haffi break a few eggs..

While dem ah figure out how fi remove 'Glass Ceiling' regional neighbours building skyscraper...

I am convinced the source of all dis is UWI Mona Campus, the 'Intellectual Ghetto'.. because all ah wi come fram di same place and pon di same ship dem..

Originally posted by Hortikal View Post

I made a post immediately after Portia was sworn in that those who 'tief' must pay! I have not changed my mind.

Let me repeat what I said then when the JLP apologists replied thinking only PNP persons would be at risk - though I am sure how I am now composing my reply is not verbatim - The crooks and their accomplicies...
        (PNP accomplices and JLP accomplices - Jamaica is small and everyone is related in some way - blood relative, in-laws, 'friends-in-law', acquaintances, or acquaintance or an acquaintance, etc.)...must be made to pay!

what if they don't pay? Do you still support Portia and the government then?

Chalk it down to youthful exhuberance and move merrily along..

Let us assume a number of investigations were carried out -

i) The results demand that 'files' be turned over for prosecution.

ii) Only those found guilty could be and would be punished. It means those persons brought before the relevant courts could not under law be punished. however other administrative action could be taken...if they fall foul of "iii" below.

iii) Let us assume that another set of persons where found not guilty of a crime or crimes...but, were derelict in carrying out their responsibilities and or did not exercise due diligence in performance on the job and or were negligent in carrying out their duties... These latter would pay by...depending on level of underperformance and or non-performance...demotion, sent on retirement or firing.

iv) The law then runs its course.

Those found guilty - appropriate action taken. Options would be inclusive of but not limited to - jail time and or lawsuits, seizure of property - funds, real property and or other assets, denial of pensions, etc.

Full time all out war be waged on both those inside of the civil service, quasi-government bodies and private sector co-conspirators.

v) Very very important as more of the "country's" is lost here than all the 'tiefin'- Misuse of government property and time. I have known during my earlier years in JA where employees of the governement (under JLP & PNP) use governement property to conduct personal - "on the side" business and "personal family business".

One particular private contractor who at the same time was a goverment employee - in Hanover used government employees and government motor equipment, supplies and time to build a driveway from the main road up to his house.

I have this belief that the same thing was happening all over the island and is going on today! Shall I guess at MULTI-BILLIONS down the drain?
              Last edited by Karl; July 7, 2007, 12:28 PM.

Karl!! A time yuh cut out the bull5hit. Yuh nuh tiyad fi mek yuhself come across as a clown as you attempt to excuse the fockery? Yuh a big man star ... duh bettah dan dat!

Assume wha kinda investigation? After the CROOKS investigated Trafigura wha AJ come say, "If I knew then what I know now ....!"

Stop fool yuhself.

Karl!! A time yuh cut out the bull5hit. Yuh nuh tiyad fi mek yuhself come across as a clown as you attempt to excuse the fockery? Yuh a big man star ... duh bettah dan dat!

Assume wha kinda investigation? After the CROOKS investigated Trafigura wha AJ come say, "If I knew then what I know now ....!"

Stop fool yuhself.
                  If you are having a true investigation it shall be carried out by either an external body - .e.g a constituted entity, person or body and an internal 'audit' unit.

You need to stop the crap!

Only you would consider an investigation of merit being one where 'Ceasar's son' investigates 'Ceasar' or vice versa! You seem to have completely lost your mind.

Let us assume a number of investigations were carried out -

i) The results demand that 'files' be turned over for prosecution.

ii) Only those found guilty could be and would be punished. It means those persons brought before the relevant courts could not under law be punished. however other administrative action could be taken...if they fall foul of "iii" below.

iii) Let us assume that another set of persons where found not guilty of a crime or crimes...but, were derelict in carrying out their responsibilities and or did not exercise due diligence in performance on the job and or were negligent in carrying out their duties... These latter would pay by...depending on level of underperformance and or non-performance...demotion, sent on retirement or firing.

iv) The law then runs its course.

Those found guilty - appropriate action taken. Options would be inclusive of but not limited to - jail time and or lawsuits, seizure of property - funds, real property and or other assets, denial of pensions, etc.

Full time all out war be waged on both those inside of the civil service, quasi-government bodies and private sector co-conspirators.

v) Very very important as more of the "country's" is lost here than all the 'tiefin'- Misuse of government property and time. I have known during my earlier years in JA where employees of the governement (under JLP & PNP) use governement property to conduct personal - "on the side" business and "personal family business".

One particular private contractor who at the same time was a goverment employee - in Hanover used government employees and government motor equipment, supplies and time to build a driveway from the main road up to his house.

I have this belief that the same thing was happening all over the island and is going on today! Shall I guess at MULTI-BILLIONS down the drain?
                    PJ Patterson was 'demoted'.. your party then thought it wise to make him Prime Minister...

Evenutally yuh muss get to the dead end Karl.. den you need to decide if yuh gwine turn back or launch yuhself into the abyss...

Turn back while yuh still can... change course....