Young people say they will vote if...

• Young people say they will vote if...

GLEANER EDITORS' FORUM: 'Give us a vision' - Young people say they will vote if politicians debate the issues

Kemesha Kelly, president-elect of the National Secondary Students' Council (NSSC) said young people should not sit down and refuse to exercise their franchise.

Miss Kelly who turned 18 recently was not able to enumerate and as such does not have a vote.

"Had I been 18 before I would vote. I believe that it is my responsibility to not just listen to their flamboyant campaign and the fancy phrases or the good or bad choice of music. It is my responsibility to listen to the issues and ask questions. I cannot just sit and say I haven't heard anything. I need to go and find out," she told the forum.
    Miss Kelly added: "I don't think I should sit and not vote and then complain about everything. It is part of me participating in governance. If we are to 'fullticipate' we have to participate and voting is that part," she said.
    - Source: Jamaica Gleaner
    mmmmmmmmm????

Good point.. yuh don't need a CXC to vote.. dem more than qualified fi someting at least...