Long time mi a low you make you spread your propaganda pon tourism but the time come for you to low the industry if you nah deal with positivity.
My grand mother use to say “Yu need fi walk and chew gum at di same time”
The fact is if Jamaica is to progress in the 21 century we have to have at least 3 or 4 progressive industries that will cut a 30 percent unemployment in youth, That will get some of our currently non productive males who don’t have 8 CXC a chance to grow and get a career.
Fact is Tourism curriculum in school doesn’t affect STEM, technology or any progressive curriculum.
The same reason you give why tourism is a problem in Jamaica, is the same reason we need education in the field. To find out how to up our per capita income, how to make better attractions and market them, how to develop better craft than buying the crap Chinese stuff them selling in the flee market and how to develop alternative accommodation to the big hotels. How to better communicate and this may mean different languages or just interaction. Also how to better protect our environment and provide sustainable income for farmers, Jamaican manufacturers, artists and performers. How better to deal with this than education and mentoring??
Fact is when tourism worker is educated their per capita income improves. The fact is with better service we are able to get more clients. I am not sure what business you are in but I guarantee you that you have to provide good service for your client or they will go somewhere else. Tourism provides the opportunity for people to learn service they can use in yours and other industries. I don’t know about you but I don’t come from nuh upper middle class family and I have seen maids, butlers and taxi drivers use that income to educate their families to be technologist, doctors, and other professionals so not for one minute I would join in making jokes at the job they have done. I have also seen the same maids and butlers who are now technologists and doctors etc. Professions are not static and many a youths just need a start and some good mentoring.
The fact is Tourism can provide a lot more opportunity for our people and a higher per income take. The fact is Tourism does not affect any 21 century education but instead we need to bring our tourism education into the 21 century and think creatively and intelligently, while being more productive to earn more. Tourism is major in any city in the United States and Europe, It is major in Singapore, China and any develop society in the world so why shouldn't we not put our best foot forward to make major earning from it?
Again it is vital to have at least 3 growing and sustainable industries if we are looking for growth in the Jamaican economy. There is room for growth in Tourism, room for growth in STEM, Food processing, transportation and a few other industries we should take advantage of and stop act like tourism is stopping any of these industries from growing. What we need are creative thinkers who can provide solution and a path forward.
My grand mother use to say “Yu need fi walk and chew gum at di same time”
The fact is if Jamaica is to progress in the 21 century we have to have at least 3 or 4 progressive industries that will cut a 30 percent unemployment in youth, That will get some of our currently non productive males who don’t have 8 CXC a chance to grow and get a career.
Fact is Tourism curriculum in school doesn’t affect STEM, technology or any progressive curriculum.
The same reason you give why tourism is a problem in Jamaica, is the same reason we need education in the field. To find out how to up our per capita income, how to make better attractions and market them, how to develop better craft than buying the crap Chinese stuff them selling in the flee market and how to develop alternative accommodation to the big hotels. How to better communicate and this may mean different languages or just interaction. Also how to better protect our environment and provide sustainable income for farmers, Jamaican manufacturers, artists and performers. How better to deal with this than education and mentoring??
Fact is when tourism worker is educated their per capita income improves. The fact is with better service we are able to get more clients. I am not sure what business you are in but I guarantee you that you have to provide good service for your client or they will go somewhere else. Tourism provides the opportunity for people to learn service they can use in yours and other industries. I don’t know about you but I don’t come from nuh upper middle class family and I have seen maids, butlers and taxi drivers use that income to educate their families to be technologist, doctors, and other professionals so not for one minute I would join in making jokes at the job they have done. I have also seen the same maids and butlers who are now technologists and doctors etc. Professions are not static and many a youths just need a start and some good mentoring.
The fact is Tourism can provide a lot more opportunity for our people and a higher per income take. The fact is Tourism does not affect any 21 century education but instead we need to bring our tourism education into the 21 century and think creatively and intelligently, while being more productive to earn more. Tourism is major in any city in the United States and Europe, It is major in Singapore, China and any develop society in the world so why shouldn't we not put our best foot forward to make major earning from it?
Again it is vital to have at least 3 growing and sustainable industries if we are looking for growth in the Jamaican economy. There is room for growth in Tourism, room for growth in STEM, Food processing, transportation and a few other industries we should take advantage of and stop act like tourism is stopping any of these industries from growing. What we need are creative thinkers who can provide solution and a path forward.