Debunking the Tourism Propoganda

• Debunking the Tourism Propoganda

Long time mi a low you make you spread your propaganda pon tourism but the time come for you to low the industry if you nah deal with positivity.

My grand mother use to say “Yu need fi walk and chew gum at di same time”

The fact is if Jamaica is to progress in the 21 century we have to have at least 3 or 4 progressive industries that will cut a 30 percent unemployment in youth, That will get some of our currently non productive males who don’t have 8 CXC a chance to grow and get a career.

Fact is Tourism curriculum in school doesn’t affect STEM, technology or any progressive curriculum.

The same reason you give why tourism is a problem in Jamaica, is the same reason we need education in the field. To find out how to up our per capita income, how to make better attractions and market them, how to develop better craft than buying the crap Chinese stuff them selling in the flee market and how to develop alternative accommodation to the big hotels. How to better communicate and this may mean different languages or just interaction. Also how to better protect our environment and provide sustainable income for farmers, Jamaican manufacturers, artists and performers. How better to deal with this than education and mentoring??

Fact is when tourism worker is educated their per capita income improves. The fact is with better service we are able to get more clients. I am not sure what business you are in but I guarantee you that you have to provide good service for your client or they will go somewhere else. Tourism provides the opportunity for people to learn service they can use in yours and other industries. I don’t know about you but I don’t come from nuh upper middle class family and I have seen maids, butlers and taxi drivers use that income to educate their families to be technologist, doctors, and other professionals so not for one minute I would join in making jokes at the job they have done. I have also seen the same maids and butlers who are now technologists and doctors etc. Professions are not static and many a youths just need a start and some good mentoring.

The fact is Tourism can provide a lot more opportunity for our people and a higher per income take. The fact is Tourism does not affect any 21 century education but instead we need to bring our tourism education into the 21 century and think creatively and intelligently, while being more productive to earn more. Tourism is major in any city in the United States and Europe, It is major in Singapore, China and any develop society in the world so why shouldn't we not put our best foot forward to make major earning from it?

Again it is vital to have at least 3 growing and sustainable industries if we are looking for growth in the Jamaican economy. There is room for growth in Tourism, room for growth in STEM, Food processing, transportation and a few other industries we should take advantage of and stop act like tourism is stopping any of these industries from growing. What we need are creative thinkers who can provide solution and a path forward.
    Last edited by Assasin; March 31, 2016, 07:03 PM.

Face kick-off on aisle 3.. CLEAN UP !

Benson I largely agree with your points....except my preference would not be to "teach tourism" in our secondary schools. But that's just me.

The unfortunate FACT remains that tourism is a relatively low wage, low skill and low value added industry. No amount of emotional yappin changes that reality.

The unfortunate FACT remains also that most of our workforce is in that low skill category. This is not the fault of tourism. It's the fault of Jamaican leadership over many decades. So as Ben suggested industries like tourism are needed to "mop up" that big part of the labour force and provide opportunities for advancement. Nothing complicated about that.

My focus is not on JA as it is now....but where I want to see JA be in 15-20 years. I don't want to see us in the shittyy position in 2035 that we are in today. Conseqently our priorities MUST CHANGE. This critical period is not the time to continue the fcukery we've been doing for decades.

If our low skill tourism remains our leading industry in 2035 we would still be in a shittyy position...in my opinion.

The time to start changing that shittyy future is NOW. No need to get emotional and take tourism criticism personally
      Last edited by Don1; March 31, 2016, 09:52 PM.

Woiiiee!

In Sugar cane parlance that counts as two fi one. Double jaw surgery needed from one box.

Good ting intanet is a typing ting..

Hard fi talk when yuh jawbone dislocate !

LOL

Mi used to confronting ignorance & backwardness. Regular ting dat. Nuff occupational hazard deh bout when yuh thinking more evolved dan di backward crowd

150 years afta slavery dun an wi inna 21st Century....man still a pin dem main hopes fi JA progress pon serving Babylon food, driving dem round di place and wiping dem a$$ fi mek a money. No change in general outlook since 1865.

Beyond pathetic
              Last edited by Don1; April 1, 2016, 09:13 AM.

Look like Sass send for and oil up him big gun dem! DWL!