Negril in Need

Yuh still stuck in yuh mutually exclusive mentality..

NOPE....Fi mi argument is not on a zero sum basis

Tourism fi gwaan develop. Mi naw seh dem fi shut dat dung. Dat ave it place fi reel

But in a low resource environment one has to choose the highest value adding investment options to focus on. This is also true in education

In the 21st Century the highest value add options are generally located in the STEM area
    Last edited by Don1; March 30, 2016, 10:19 PM.

Suh STEM and TEM cyan gwaan sed time !

Excellent.

Hmmm...yuh 'ave a pint!

Other than the government of Jamaica, which other industry employ more middle managers?

Which industry employee more electricians?

Which industry employ more landscapers?

Food Prep which involve Chefs, planner and food related people.

Where is the most solar panels installed and who fix them?

Which other industry employ more people in Entertainment?

Which industry supports our craft industry more than tourism?

Tourism include history, civics, languages, Marketing, learning people social behavior and preparing people for market development and community based tourism which includes craftmen and entrepreneurship.

There is no better industry right now for many kids who have between 2-5 CXC subjects and get a trade and further develop themselves. My friend Dr. Janet Dyer is a living case, so too is Mr Mryrtle Dwyer, the current Director of tourism Paul Pennicook who started at the bottom, and so many others who moved on from tourism to a field of their choice which includes technology, medical, politics, energy to name a few.

The fact is with more youngsters been employed they stand a much better chance of making better choices. Hopefully next time you see someone working hard as maid, a butler, a gardner, a waiter you don't let your deep seeded hate cloud your judgement, instead give them respect as many of them will go on to prosperous careers.

Do you realize how many colleges in North America have Tourism offer courses in Tourism? Cornell University is known for its Tourism. Ignorance is a hell of a thing. If it can be taught in colleges including Utech and UWI, why can't be taught in high school?
          Last edited by Assasin; March 30, 2016, 11:30 PM.

Again you confused. Who said Jamaica shouldn't teach technology in schools?

Your point is very muted.

The best thing Ruel Reid could have done is keep back some a dem fi two years. Get them some certificate and send them go look a tourism work or a ship job and give them a trade.

Suh STEM and TEM cyan gwaan sed time !

Excellent.

Seeit deh...

Wi dun demo di hardware/robot ting...to international acclaim

Di software moggle juss shub out likkle but nuh ramp up yet.. http://1drv.ms/233AUzH

Should life spare ah di next likkle move dat

The best thing Ruel Reid could have done is keep back some a dem fi two years. Get them some certificate and send them go look a tourism work or a ship job and give them a trade.
                  LOL!!!

What a noice national development vision Benson

Love Boat tuh di Whirl!!!!
                  Last edited by Don1; March 31, 2016, 01:14 AM.

Again you confused. Who said Jamaica shouldn't teach technology in schools?

Your point is very muted.
                    Mi juss love di muted point dem...Dem quiet til nuhbaddy notice dem

Next time you open your mouth think before you start

https://sha.cornell.edu/

http://www.thebestschools.org/blog/2...united-states/

http://www.canadian-universities.net...d_Tourism.html

Top Universities are offering courses. UTECH and UWI have programs. You think they are training butlers and touts? You train people so they can actually have skills and knowledge so they are better able to take advantages and have careers, not to be touts and Butlers.

On one hand you have nothing against tourism but then embarrass yourself. Gwaan talk.

https://www.ahlei.org/Programs/High-...rogram-(HTMP)/

http://www.k12.com/courses/high-scho....overview.html

https://www.prla.org/prla/EducationT...5-1e667dac10b1

http://www.mdis.edu.sg/schools/schoo...sm-hospitality

Next time you think before you spew your crap and respect the hard working people in the industry.

Ok then!

Don1?

(Better get the popcorn!)

Yup....dis ya movie yah looks like it's going to be a Blockbuster
                            Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

LOL...Mi juss ah si Benson post some links ....soon penni dem

But Benson nuhbaddy ah tell yuh fi shut down tourism. Mi tell yuh seh dat mi support it fi continue. Wha more yuh want????

BUT...Mi tell seh If tourism continues to be Jamaica's "leading industry" into the future....JA will NOT be transformed into a developed nation. Serving fat tourists won't lead us to prosperity

WHY??

JA tourism is primarily low skill, low wage & low value adding. Consequently it CANNOT be a big driver for the economic transformation we should be seeking.

We have different perspectives. You are looking to plod along doing the same things we've being doing since the 1950s....but trying to do them better i.e. trying to create better servants thru more training. There's a place for that

My ting is to support a 21st century oriented economy. That means training kids to be creators of products thru science & technology.

If you look at countries that are leading the world...it is knowledge & technology industries that primarily drive their progress. It look like yuh nuh know dat

Now Benson if yuh cyaan undastand dat....mi cyaan help yuh