PNP spent the $1.5m tax break (wink, wink)

• PNP spent the $1.5m tax break (wink, wink)

Sorry, no $18,000 per month right now. The country cannot afford it.

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news/...x-break---Shaw

Originally posted by Time View Post
    Sorry, no $18,000 per month right now. The country cannot afford it.

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news/...x-break---Shaw
    What 18,000 per month are you talking about Time?

Ask Sicko. Apparently some poor people believed that they were going to get $18,000 per month free. Don't ask he now, maybe they expected Andrew to create a welfare state!

Illegally spent?

Boy ... why such a leap? Apparently it has been put into the consolidated funds .... what I find a mystery was Golding in a debate as to why the tax plan isn't workable is his insistence that that money cannot be touched ... so now we have to wait to get some facts.

KINGSTON, Jamaica — Minister of Finance and Public Service, Audley Shaw, a short while ago disclosed that funds that should have been set aside from the existing gas tax have already been used up in the consolidated funds under the previous People’s National Party (PNP) administration.

I think how this thing work is that all revenue goes into the consolidated fund and then the special funds are transferred to special accounts. What Audley is saying is that the PNP government used the money for other purposes. I don't know if that is legal.

Golding? Oh! Mark Golding!

Whew!

Originally posted by Time View Post
                KINGSTON, Jamaica — Minister of Finance and Public Service, Audley Shaw, a short while ago disclosed that funds that should have been set aside from the existing gas tax have already been used up in the consolidated funds under the previous People’s National Party (PNP) administration.

I think how this thing work is that all revenue goes into the consolidated fund and then the special funds are transferred to special accounts. What Audley is saying is that the PNP government used the money for other purposes. I don't know if that is legal.
                Nuh bodda test mi wid di leaps my yute. Dat a my ting!

Boy ... why such a leap? Apparently it has been put into the consolidated funds .... what I find a mystery was Golding in a debate as to why the tax plan isn't workable is his insistence that that money cannot be touched ... so now we have to wait to get some facts.
                  I saw a report that both the PNP and the JLP should have know that the gas tax money was not in the sub account because Audley Shaw was chair or member of a finance committee that shown have known Was it an oversight or was it check mate knowing that the PNP dared not tell the public that the money was spent?