Originally posted by Mosiah
View Post
As investor confidence blossoms Chinese giant takes root....
I am not blaming tourism, I am blaming the educational system that is putting out functionally illiterate and untrainable young people year after year."It is easier to build strong children than to repair broken men" - Frederick Douglass
Are we preparing ourselves? There is a big difference between hustling and service and a that you need to understand.
I understand that they need middle management in Negril hotels but you have to speak Spanish and they can't find people.
The larger issue is that tourism is a low skill, low wage and low value add industry. That would still be true even if ALL the requisite skilled workers were available. That is the problem here
We are not even servants in our own country. Just look and see in most of our hotels. You think fi stand up outside hotel and wharf and harass tourist is service?
Considering the peculiar (technological) nature of the 21st Century....more evolved people have higher aspirations for Jamaicans in terms of their skill sets.
But of course nutten wrong wid smaddy pursuing the servant field if that's what they can get to do ...or if dem love di servant ting. Mi naw wrong nuhbaddy fi pursue dat
However...
An economy based on Domestic or Personal Servants, no matter how skilled, unfortunately won't win the national development race.Last edited by Don1; March 29, 2016, 08:55 PM.TIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
I-man, yuh really think Asians and Africans have the same image/reputation when it comes to technical stuff?! Asians will get a break over Africans even when they don't deserve it.
I-man, recently yuh a say some tings dat mek mi wonder if yah listen X too much. Is not everybody can hangle weed. People mad from dat ting!!!
Originally posted by Mosiah View PostI-man, yuh really think Asians and Africans have the same image/reputation when it comes to technical stuff?! Asians will get a break over Africans even when they don't deserve it.
I-man, recently yuh a say some tings dat mek mi wonder if yah listen X too much. Is not everybody can hangle weed. People mad from dat ting!!!
We have to start somewhere...and quick!!!!TIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
I am saying that I am sure there have been qualified blacks in the past who could have been selected by Disney, Carnival and Sandals (yes, lets throw them in there), but they were turned down just because!
I am also saying that racism will continue to be a factor in employment decisions in America for a while. Having said that, black people need to put themselves in that place where only racism can stop us. When we aren't even getting a foot in the door, then we don't stand a chance, clearly.
Originally posted by Mosiah View PostI am saying that I am sure there have been qualified blacks in the past who could have been selected by Disney, Carnival and Sandals (yes, lets throw them in there), but they were turned down just because!
I am also saying that racism will continue to be a factor in employment decisions in America for a while. Having said that, black people need to put themselves in that place where only racism can stop us. When we aren't even getting a foot in the door, then we don't stand a chance, clearly.
However we have to get ourselves more PREPARED with a winning group MISSION.....otherwise Babylon won't even need the racism card to keep us downTIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
yuh woppy back an' change yuh postTIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
:Jamaica makes big efforts to train people to service fat tourists"
Where is the big effort. Ask most people in the industry and their opinion is totally different. Can you tell me any other program that HEART Hospitality program? There is a UTECh program for managers but only a few people and UWI have a program for all of the caribbean. Where is the training?- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
"It seems your desire is to see Jamaicans be perfectly skilled servants. i.e. a Nation of Bensons & Jeeves That is your prerogative of course "
Again you are off base, gwwann dream.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.