Scaly, evidence of your 21 families that run Jamaica

• Scaly, evidence of your 21 families that run Jamaica

There was evidence of continued consolidation of the society's traditional hegemonic groups, with 21 families accounting for 125 of the 219 directorships in corporations registered in Jamaica. These same families also supplied approximately 70 percent of the chairpersons of the various corporate boards. Not one of these firms was in Black hands, although Blacks made up 80 per cent of the population. Of the 219 directorships only six were held by black people and, of these, two were government appointments in joint-venture arrangements. There are also extensive foreign ownership in the major sectors of the economy, with 100 percent in mining, 75 per cent of manufacturing, 66 per cent of transport, over 50 per cent of communications, storage and tourism and 40 percent of sugar in foreign hands. The Jamaican bourgeoisie was thus economically subordinate to North American and British capital.

Nah stop preach di truth. Try and handle it if you can.

Please cite the source of your paragraph.

Quote taken from "Blood Bullets and Bodies" - Imani Tafari-Ama

There was evidence of continued consolidation of the society's traditional hegemonic groups, with 21 families accounting for 125 of the 219 directorships in corporations registered in Jamaica. These same families also supplied approximately 70 percent of the chairpersons of the various corporate boards. Not one of these firms was in Black hands, although Blacks made up 80 per cent of the population. Of the 219 directorships only six were held by black people and, of these, two were government appointments in joint-venture arrangements. There are also extensive foreign ownership in the major sectors of the economy, with 100 percent in mining, 75 per cent of manufacturing, 66 per cent of transport, over 50 per cent of communications, storage and tourism and 40 percent of sugar in foreign hands. The Jamaican bourgeoisie was thus economically subordinate to North American and British capital.

'The Jamaican bourgeoisie was thus economically subordinate to North American and British capital..'

Many country's bourgeoisie were economically subordinate to North American and British Capital..

And...thus ?

Mark Ricketts used to say the same thing.

The last line may still be true...yet there has been some 'correction' in that imbalance.

...but, Mosiah: Isn't that article from the 70s or 80s? In any case, date it nuh boss?
            Thanks!

---- and, for Maudib, Lazie and the anti-PNP faction...'the commanding heights of the economy' was breached by Michael Manley's led PNP and openned to 'the ordinary Jamaican'!

The ripping asunder of that 'glass ceiling' has created a 'portal' that will never be closed.

There shall come a day when a flood of the majority class will move into those 'commanding heights' and the majority that occupy 'positions of power'...those who will then be the movers and shakers of the society will reflect the %ages of the racial complexity of the society.

FORWARD!

Aside: An appreciation of the course from which we shall never turn aside or retreat will and must be appreciated!

The last line may still be true...yet there has been some 'correction' in that imbalance.

...but, Mosiah: Isn't that article from the 70s or 80s? In any case, date it nuh boss?
              Thanks!

---- and, for Maudib, Lazie and the anti-PNP faction...'the commanding heights of the economy' was breached by Michael Manley's led PNP and openned to 'the ordinary Jamaican'!

The ripping asunder of that 'glass ceiling' has created a 'portal' that will never be closed.

There shall come a day when a flood of the majority class will move into those 'commanding heights' and the majority that occupy 'positions of power'...those who will then be the movers and shakers of the society will reflect the %ages of the racial complexity of the society.

FORWARD!

Aside: An appreciation of the course from which we shall never turn aside or retreat will and must be appreciated!
              Why should we move at a snails pace and sometimes backward under the PNP when there is a demonstrated faster option ?

Did Manley have to setback the country's development 30 years to 'remove' the glass ceiling ?

The simple answer is no. But some people cannot help themselves when they get power.... it is interesting how him bow him head in 1989 and PNP claim to understand how economies work and understand how the REAL WORLD works.. yet.. 18 years later the REAL WORLD has raced ahead of us..

The PNP have failed in their duties, failed to deliver on their promises and yet you try and find something to cheer about.. resorting to 'we on the right track, but we moving too slow'.. any fool would understand the 'right track' (some need a failed 70's policy to see it) why re-invent the wheel ?

The essence is in the pace !!

We are in a RACE.. winnerstake all, there is no solace in not getting lost ! It is a RACE !!

"Did Manley have to setback the country's development 30 years to 'remove' the glass ceiling ?"

Did Seaga have to set back the country years to gain power in 1980?

Touche.

"Did Manley have to setback the country's development 30 years to 'remove' the glass ceiling ?"

How many years did Seaga set back the country and what 'set back' are you referring to ?

I sense we are going into esoterics let me brace myself...

Originally posted by Rudi View Post
                      Touche.
                      Heh, heh.. is like a man ask if yuh did haffi dun di brakes just trying to prevent the car from going over the precipice...

Setback in what way? Unuh love fling out all kinds of myths then when unuh get kornered unuh start getting emotional? Yuh need fi get yuh facts straight bossman. Then again ...

How many years has the USA set back Iraq? How did you come up with Manley's 30 year setback?

Do the math yourself!

The quote is attributed to C.Y. Taylor and was made in 1988. The book "Blood Bullets and Bodies" by Imani Tafari-Ama was done last year. Good read!

And what about Imani Tafari-Ama's source? Is it credible or because it is in black and white it should be taken as credible?
                              "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran