PNP left JLP an improving economy

• PNP left JLP an improving economy

Without fear of contradiction, the JLP has now inherited an economy and country where, despite many lingering challenges, many things have advanced positively. Jamaica is now the second country in the English-speaking Caribbean to have an internationally accredited laboratory with the full capabilities to test for any type of disease that may pose a threat to public health. No more need to send samples to the Trinidad and Tobago-based Caribbean Public Health Agency for testing and confirmation. Jamaica, after many precipitous declines, moved up 16 places in the 2015 Corruption Perception Index. The improvement places Jamaica at 69 out of 168 countries. Interestingly, only 11 countries on the 2015 index improved rankings of 16 or more places.

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/colum...-economy_54317

You are a real PNP die hard.

Now you know how Eddie felt in '89...

Lawd gee! Mi write nutten?!? But a weh di *****!

I know Muadib, Lazie and Bricky missed it and I thought I would put it up on their behalf. Simple!

Geez!

No. How?

True, for the first time at last.

Yet they decided to base their campaign on Holness house instead of their record which is probably the most positive one that a PNP govt has had since 1976.

partially true. The author hasn't touch the lack of growth, devaluation and the effect on middle class our export has fallen amongst others. No doubt some things have improved still.

Not so cut and dry. The PNP did some things decently, but it was clearly not a rousing success. Mek wi see if Anju can do betta!

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/colum...t--tales_54316

This did in the PNP.

http://jamaica-gleaner.com/article/f...228/told-ya-so

Oh right.. mi figghet.. not applicable.. PNP STILL cannot produce meaningful growth in the Economy.. Socialist malady..

They didnt need to be a rousing success to beat the JLP, they only needed to make the case that the economy had improved since they took back office and was likely to continue improving. No doubt many of the reasons for the improvements were not of their doing nor under their control, but they could have claimed it nonetheless.

They ran a lazy and overconfident campaign this time around, as if they were just trying to run down the clock and get it over with. Like many of us they figured they could get away with that but it just didn't happen. Even so about 5 or 6 seats were won by less than 300 votes.

I will give Andrew credit for running hard right through the tape. When you play the game twith that type of effort things will sometimes break your way.

what campaign? The PNP though they ran already and it was really sad to see what Dr. Phillips did with Holness house. He simply should have use some party functionary to do that, not someone with his credential and especially since many of the document was in the OPM office.

What I give Andrew credit for is he is a campaigning. He has walked the island maybe more than any other campaigner before him. He was on the ground and had a lot more discipline in the way the JLP campaigned.

I can only wish him the best, I think he was a poor public speaker and boring but I understand he was talking lessons on this and it has improved at least the last few he has given.

Let's not forget the margin was razor thin. All this post mortem for a razor thin margin really makes little sense.

It may have been thin and would have been thin but the PNP messed up at on the house, debate, and been arrogant. Holness stuck to his task and won. It was thin but also remember that he didn't lose any JLP seat and a lot of the PNP seats were surprisingly close.