Well-known Mandeville businessman threatens to sue JLP Sally

• Well-known Mandeville businessman threatens to sue JLP Sally

Well-known Mandeville businessman threatens to sue JLP candidateKenneth "Skeng Don" Black.Lawyers for well-known Mandeville businessman and People’s National Party (PNP) activist, Kenneth "Skeng Don" Black are threatening to take legal action against Jamaica Labour Party (JLP) candidate for Central Manchester Sally Porteous.

Miss Porteous has been given six days to retract a statement which was reportedly made in public in reference to Mr. Black.

It is alleged that the statement was made during a recent Manchester Chamber of Commerce luncheon.

One of Mr. Black's lawyers, Bert Samuels, told RJR News that a letter demanding a retraction was delivered to Miss Porteous Wednesday.

“We have written to the Deputy Mayor Sally Porteous asking that she give a retraction to a statement she made in an address to the Manchester Chamber of Commerce recently where she imputed that our client ought to have been charged by the Manchester Police for criminal offences but because he, and I use her words, ‘is so intertwined in the police force’, no action has been taken against him. We have asked her to retract these statements because of the falsehood that is contained in those statements,” said Mr. Samuels.

When RJR News contacted Miss Porteous Wednesday night she confirmed receiving the letter.

However, she said she would not issue a comment until the matter is discussed with her lawyer.

Sue har yes! Whey she come from a diss di Don?

Well-known Mandeville businessman threatens to sue JLP candidateKenneth "Skeng Don" Black.Lawyers for well-known Mandeville businessman and People’s National Party (PNP) activist, Kenneth "Skeng Don" Black are threatening to take legal action against Jamaica Labour Party (JLP) candidate for Central Manchester Sally Porteous.

Miss Porteous has been given six days to retract a statement which was reportedly made in public in reference to Mr. Black.

It is alleged that the statement was made during a recent Manchester Chamber of Commerce luncheon.

One of Mr. Black's lawyers, Bert Samuels, told RJR News that a letter demanding a retraction was delivered to Miss Porteous Wednesday.

“We have written to the Deputy Mayor Sally Porteous asking that she give a retraction to a statement she made in an address to the Manchester Chamber of Commerce recently where she imputed that our client ought to have been charged by the Manchester Police for criminal offences but because he, and I use her words, ‘is so intertwined in the police force’, no action has been taken against him. We have asked her to retract these statements because of the falsehood that is contained in those statements,” said Mr. Samuels.

When RJR News contacted Miss Porteous Wednesday night she confirmed receiving the letter.

However, she said she would not issue a comment until the matter is discussed with her lawyer.
      Sally need to read between the lines.. this law suit ting is just a metaphor.. hope she get the message..

I mean as a 'Don', sorry businessman, being intertwined with the police force is a neccessity.. who could argue against this with a straight face ? We really don't want to start diggin around in that cemetary... do we ?

Sally should ask Eddie for legal advice based on the outcome of the last suit of Skeng. It might save her some time, money and emberrassment.

Yuhseeit! Sally cyaan win dis one.

Skeng might have biggah problems fi worry bout soon....

Jamaican politics and politicians is such rubbish. both party (PNP and JLP) and their perennial leadership need to be placed in the proverbial barrell and roll down a hill and into the caribbean sea.

I was not born in manchester--but i regard myself as a manchester man. This was during the early '70's . my point is Porteous has been in politics since those times............................................. .................................................. ..........

Jamaican politics and politicians is such rubbish. both party (PNP and JLP) and their perennial leadership need to be placed in the proverbial barrell and roll down a hill and into the caribbean sea.

I was not born in manchester--but i regard myself as a manchester man. This was during the early '70's . my point is Porteous has been in politics since those times............................................. .................................................. ..........

You don't appreciate political representation ?

Since 1972 the PNP has been 'running' the country for 26 years.. careful how you packing those barells...