How time change. Don1 a hug up tourism and Barlett's policies in the 2007 to 2011. We have some similarities then, nothing to argue about.
Pity a only 5 years later.
Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
How time change. Don1 a hug up tourism and Barlett's policies in the 2007 to 2011. We have some similarities then, nothing to argue about.
Pity a only 5 years later.
Johnny I neither hug up Bartlett (your job) nor was I unduly critical of him. As I said back then and maintain now...he did a creditable job.
It seems you confuse criticism of negative aspects of tourism with being anti-Bartlett. This of course would be quite foolish.
Tourism remains a low skill, low wage & low value add industry with very high environmental costs. Additionally ~70% of FX earnings from tourism flow right back out to import things fat tourists require. JA nets only ~30% Consequently with tourism as our "leading industry" we're doomed to persistent backwardness That needs to change
The industry should continue to be part of our product mix...but we should aim to replace it as our "leading industry" with higher value add sectors. That's IF we want to be prosperous ...Das all
That's the basis of my tourism criticism...and that has nothing to do with Hero Bartlett. So please don't take the criticisms personally
your historical post are all there to see. The evidence is in the pudding. Just go back and search your post during that time.
Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
...to ensure Jamaica's success. Anything less is a joke.
Key points of Anju's national address:
* There is understandably lots of concern re "economic growth". Many folks are screaming for 3% or more. I agree we need to accelerate our growth vector... it is an important component of prosperity
* However my government is about much more than some growth number plucked from the air...we're about national development. Focusing on a growth number in isolation from the environment we exist in causes us to miss the bigger picture. We have seen periods of relatively fast growth in our past...where the benefits accumulate at the top tier but never trickle down sufficiently to the majority.
Pursuing that course would be a mistake my team will not make
* We must start to ACT as if we know we live in the 21st Century....We must start to build a 21st Century economy. At the moment we operate a 20th century economy...badly. So our task is not merely to improve that backward economy by growing it at 3% or more...Even if we succeed we would still be backward.
* So our task is to re-orient our economy around the fast growing elements of 21st Century business trends. When we do that we will not only ensure faster growth...but the larger goal of our truly sustainable development
* We love and will sustain our traditional industries like tourism. We need them going forward. However an economy which is tourism dependent or where tourism is our "leading industry" or trading imported goods is seen as "great business" ...will not make us a prosperous nation in this century. Our best chance for prosperity is based on knowledge industries which are and will continue to be the fastest growing sectors in 21st century economy.
* I have set a national goal of achieving a modern, knowledge-driven, high value add economy by 2035 when my 19 years in power will expire . I will be engaging the Opposition and ALL sectors of society to fashion our action plan within 6 months so we get complete buy in to that 21st Century Social Contract for Prosperity. Only by working together can we achieve this goal.
* Having set this national target...our first task will be to re-fashion our education system. away from the colonial era format we still, sadly, promote.
Our schools should no longer be mills where the only product is a local certificate of dubious 21st Century value. Those days have long passed in more evolved countries of the world and although we're late to this we must start ASAP.
* I will initiate a revamp of our education system from administration through teaching & curricula ...to a big focus on STEM applications. My target by 2025 will be to produce 6,000 technology-proficient secondary school graduates/year and 2000 similar tertiary graduates/year. We will draw on all available intellectual & physical resources to achieve this goal...including our vast diaspora. Fortunately we do have very successful & cost effective STEM programs to model
* By 2030 we will have a great pool of tech savvy young people...and the benefits will be ENORMOUS. We will build internationally competitive operations from their talents...and also attract foreign capital to help us build their and also our modern industries.
That my fellow Jamaicans, is the only way to a chance at real prosperity in the 21st Century. Anything less would see us continue treading in the quicksand of backwardness and poverty
...Dat will satisfy di tourism fiends...plus sand nuh mek outs silica anyway
In an important new paper based on a speech at the trade union congress in London, Andy Haldane Chief Economist at the Bank of England and Executive Director of Monetary Analysis and Statistics has examined the history of technological unemployment in which he gave a thorough review of the literature and implications for public policy. The media will likely focus on the number of jobs that can be displaced (as I did in the title) and not necessarily Haldane’s points on new jobs being created – both of which are highly important as is ‘skilling-up’.
Andy notes that arguments about “technological unemployment” – the idea that technological advance puts people out of work and bears down on wages – have been raging for centuries. According to Andy, most evidence shows that over the broad sweep of history technological progress has not damaged jobs but rather boosted wages: “Technology has enriched labour, not immiserated it.”
However, he also notes that this broad pattern obscures the fact that there has an increasing skills premium has emerged with each passing wave of technological progress. This was especially the case in the late 20th century, as new machines such as computers began replacing not only physical but cognitive labour. He finds that each phase has eventually resulted in a “growing tree of rising skills, wages and productivity”. But they have also been associated with a “hollowing out of this tree”. Indeed, this hollowing-out of jobs has “widened and deepened with each new technological wave”. This has resulted in a widening income gap between high- and low- skilled workers.
Andy states: “By itself, a widening distribution of incomes need not imply any change in labour’s share of national income: in the past, technology’s impact on the labour share appears to have been broadly neutral. But this time could be different.”