The 21st Century path that the JLP govt should take...

• The 21st Century path that the JLP govt should take...

...to ensure Jamaica's success. Anything less is a joke.

Key points of Anju's national address:

* There is understandably lots of concern re "economic growth". Many folks are screaming for 3% or more. I agree we need to accelerate our growth vector... it is an important component of prosperity

* However my government is about much more than some growth number plucked from the air...we're about national development. Focusing on a growth number in isolation from the environment we exist in causes us to miss the bigger picture. We have seen periods of relatively fast growth in our past...where the benefits accumulate at the top tier but never trickle down sufficiently to the majority.
    Pursuing that course would be a mistake my team will not make

* We must start to ACT as if we know we live in the 21st Century....We must start to build a 21st Century economy. At the moment we operate a 20th century economy...badly. So our task is not merely to improve that backward economy by growing it at 3% or more...Even if we succeed we would still be backward.

* So our task is to re-orient our economy around the fast growing elements of 21st Century business trends. When we do that we will not only ensure faster growth...but the larger goal of our truly sustainable development

* We love and will sustain our traditional industries like tourism. We need them going forward. However an economy which is tourism dependent or where tourism is our "leading industry" or trading imported goods is seen as "great business" ...will not make us a prosperous nation in this century. Our best chance for prosperity is based on knowledge industries which are and will continue to be the fastest growing sectors in 21st century economy.

* I have set a national goal of achieving a modern, knowledge-driven, high value add economy by 2035 when my 19 years in power will expire . I will be engaging the Opposition and ALL sectors of society to fashion our action plan within 6 months so we get complete buy in to that 21st Century Social Contract for Prosperity. Only by working together can we achieve this goal.

* Having set this national target...our first task will be to re-fashion our education system. away from the colonial era format we still, sadly, promote.
    Our schools should no longer be mills where the only product is a local certificate of dubious 21st Century value. Those days have long passed in more evolved countries of the world and although we're late to this we must start ASAP.

* I will initiate a revamp of our education system from administration through teaching & curricula ...to a big focus on STEM applications. My target by 2025 will be to produce 6,000 technology-proficient secondary school graduates/year and 2000 similar tertiary graduates/year. We will draw on all available intellectual & physical resources to achieve this goal...including our vast diaspora. Fortunately we do have very successful & cost effective STEM programs to model

* By 2030 we will have a great pool of tech savvy young people...and the benefits will be ENORMOUS. We will build internationally competitive operations from their talents...and also attract foreign capital to help us build their and also our modern industries.

That my fellow Jamaicans, is the only way to a chance at real prosperity in the 21st Century. Anything less would see us continue treading in the quicksand of backwardness and poverty

Just combed thru it but it looks great!

Education is in good hands as both the minister and his junior went to good schools.

Maybe Ruel is grooming the young and green Floyd to take over when he goes back to JC after two years. That wouldn't be such a bad thing.

Don't let Assasin see di part about tourism. Can't tek di cow bawling.

Mi a nuh gladdiss. Mi watch performance and not the announcement. We done know what Barlett bring.

If mi did watch the announcement Tony Hilton and his many announcement would be high on my list. Did they start manufacture car parts a Spanish Town yet??

Think Reid should be bold enough to give up the Principal thing for now and move forward. Mi a go watch all a dem and who fi get praise a go get praise.

Just combed thru it but it looks great!

Education is in good hands as both the minister and his junior went to good schools.

Maybe Ruel is grooming the young and green Floyd to take over when he goes back to JC after two years. That wouldn't be such a bad thing.

Don't let Assasin see di part about tourism. Can't tek di cow bawling.
        LOL.... fi reel

Sorry! I meant to say both the minister and his junior went to A good school.

Fact-checking the Gwaan Bartlett Gladdis

Mi a nuh gladdiss. Mi watch performance and not the announcement. We done know what Barlett bring.

A small sample of Gwaan Bartlett emissions of yesteryear... Announcements which of course came to little or nothing

Search took 0.49 seconds. Search: Key Word(s): Gwaan, Bartlett ; Posts Made By: Assasin ; Forum: The Everything Jamaica Forum

Gladdis Exhibit 1-- Headliners on Thread starters :

gwaan Barlett
            Assasin
            March 10, 2011
            Announcement that Bartlett "looks to" Russian markets

Gwaan Bartlett, don't stop at all
            Assasin
            June 22, 2011
            Announcement that Bartlett "seeks" tourists from Africa

Gwaan Barlett nuh stop at all
            Assasin
            June 29, 2011
            Announcement that China "plans" to start flights to Jamaica

Gwaan Barlett
            Assasin
            October 4, 2011
            Announcement that Bartlett will go to UK to "lead discussions" on increasing tourist arrivals

gwaan Bartlett
            Assasin
            December 18, 2011
            Announcement that 10,000 French tourists expected by "end of 2012"

Gwaan Barlett
            Assasin
            April 25, 2008
            Announcement on massive tourism push in the Far East

May 14, 2008
            Gwaan World Citizen
            Assasin
            Announcement re making Portland a playground for "rich & famous"

So Johnny...pls get real. You have a very extensive record of being a Gladdis ....and NOT waiting for performance
            Last edited by Don1; March 8, 2016, 05:24 PM.

I got that

Stop post headlines and post the oomplete articles.

Sorry...my research is done... I'm not spending any more time on it

You wish to deny what is currently posted Johnny?

additionally Bartlett was a performer in the his cabinet the first time around as tourism minister, only you and Mosiah and a few others will differ.

LOL...Dis is not about Bartlett. I have nothing against him. He did a creditable job. Nutten amazing...but im appear to be energetic & committed. He overdid the propaganda doh....an' yuh fall fi im vaporware. All Butch affi tell im fi cut di yappin'

Dis is about you and your unwarranted hero worship. You claim you wait on results before you worship. Maybe you do...but not for Bartlett

He only has to make an announcement about some "plan" or the other (which never comes to pass) and you unleash a flurry of GWAAN BARTLETT!!!!

Gladdis bizniz dat....

Yuh entikle tuh yuh hero dem...but nuh try pretend seh yuh hero worship nuh exist when man cyan provide proof

Fact Check Don
                      Last edited by Don1; March 8, 2016, 09:49 PM.

Say what ever you want. Post about the numerous project that you post about from St.Thomas Hollywood, Logistic hub, Car factory a Spanish town and the numerous project that were still born that you were first to post on this site and hug up.

You were against a lot of Barlett initiatives, but your memory cloudy so I will leave you.

Calm down yute.

Now you're lying again Johnny

I don't flatter politicians regarding their pet projects.

I was not against "a lot of" Bartlett's initiatives. In fact I don't recall being against any

Johnny yuh too lie

you wouldn't remember why he made a deal with the airlines, you would forget how the "fat" tourist comment came about and your opinion on cruise tourism.

That is just two off without even researching. Gwaaan you head a gather water.

a third is he appointed Butch Lacky, only that the current director is also Butch right hand man too. Mi nuh hear you say nothing.
                            Last edited by Assasin; March 8, 2016, 10:16 PM.

you wouldn't remember why he made a deal with the airlines, you would forget how the "fat" tourist comment came about and your opinion on cruise tourism.
                              I wouldn't remember why he made a deal with the airlines???? That doesn't even make sense

Fat tourists??? LOL!!! So they're fat because of Bartlett?? Fat tourists constitute a policy I object to??? Bartlett invented Jamaican cruise tourism???? Johnny yuh nuh sensible. Dis is rubbish
                              That is just two off without even researching. Gwaaan you head a gather water.
                              Unfortunately those 2 are completely ridiculous
                              a third is he appointed Butch Lacky, only that the current director is also Butch right hand man too. Mi nuh hear you say nothing.
                              Johnny this is gibberish. I don't understand gibberish so I can't comment further

Johnny please put some coherent thoughts together outlining policies of Bartlett I specifically objected to. Otherwise stop lying Johnny