This is why the debates were so critical

• This is why the debates were so critical

We waste weeks debating big house and conmen, and now with just days to go, we finally arrive to a few substantive issues, but there will be no time for any real analysis.

Real backward behaviour. Caveman style to rhatid.

Jamaica cant catch a break!!!!

http://rjrnewsonline.com/local/healt...n-dengue-cases

So, how much time would have been devoted to sorting out those issues, the important ones, like the now-discredited JLP tax plan?

How interested would the majority of the electorate be in the details of such a debate, if it was indeed probing?

The way I see it, debates are personality contests. The majority is not going to be swayed by a debate unless someone really screws up.

I'd love to see her get her chance as minister of health.

Opposition Spokesperson on Health, Marlene Malahoo Forte, earlier called for Health Minister Horace Dalley to update the nation on the influenza H1N1 virus and other mosquito borne illnesses.

I agree with you about her.

Seems kinda "nuff".

So debates are less personality contest that the camPAIN stage shows? ROTFLMAO.

Debates could have been done town hall style. Dem nuh serious and dem nuh reddy!

The tax plan is FAR from discredited. Dont let soundbite headlines make up your mind.

Matalon seh no now and in 2011, he pushed the same. The NDM says its workable, now the PSOJ seh is not dem seh suh!

The fact is the devil is in the details and none of us do the detail work yet. it seems this is NOT a normal cutoff threshhold, but rather more a progressive thing. As I-Man seh, the silly JLP did NOT sell it well.

On the otherhand, I for one am NOT convinced that The JLP is certainly a better alternative, as I think any GoJ will have their hands tied by the IMF. As bad as they may seem, this is the BEST PNP guvvamment in decades!

simple they may have to raise tax elsewhere but it can be done.
              Nuff people not paying PAYE anyway, ask Paul Burke.

Them say over 50 Billion owed.

Mathalon made similar recommendation in the past. Should be interesting to hear his change of heart.

Don't remember comparing the debates to any other format.

Anyway, yes, a town hall style debate would have been better. The traditional "90 second responses" and "30 rebuttals" are quite useless. They don't have to be but it's easy for a candidate who doesn't really want to be forthcoming to bullhist his way thru the entire thing without actually saying a sensible word.

Agree 100%.

So, how much time would have been devoted to sorting out those issues, the important ones, like the now-discredited JLP tax plan?

How interested would the majority of the electorate be in the details of such a debate, if it was indeed probing?

The way I see it, debates are personality contests. The majority is not going to be swayed by a debate unless someone really screws up.
                    Discredited based on what? Agreeing with the opinions that is against the plan? So what about those opinions that agree with the plan? I find it amusing that one entity put forward a plan the other only put in their manifesto that they intend to cut taxes, but no idea by how much, nor when it will be done.

Hi, Lazie! Good to see you again!
                      Last edited by Mosiah; February 22, 2016, 12:33 PM.

LOL.

But deliberate...

Hi, Lazie! Good to see you again!
                            Whatever that means!

Yuh well and know. Gwaan play hignorant. You do great at dat!