Reggae is Jamaica's answer to Trinidad's oil

• Reggae is Jamaica's answer to Trinidad's oil

The musical entrepreneur said that he has found ways to monetise reggae and Jamaican music, products for which the market is performing far below its potential for want of appropriate production and marketing.
    In a comparison of Jamaica to Trinidad during his presentation, Bogdanovich equated reggae music to oil, describing the cultural product as a resource which could make inner-city youth wealthy.
    “There is no oil here. What I am concerned with is bringing the business of show business to the youth and to bring the unity that will make an entire country prosper.”

http://m.jamaicaobserver.com/mobile/...danovich_50761

He says reggae but he also means dancehall, btw.

Where is Historian when you need him?!

Di rest a unnu better jump pon di bandwagon. Jamaica culture, including the elements a lot of us are ashamed of - dancehall, patois - soon tek off in ways unnu woulda never believe.

And try memba - Gamma and I have been the biggest proponents of Patwa on this Forum for years. Just as how Bricky and I have been advocates for dancehall.

Once again, we going to wait until the world embrace it before wi run come and gwaan like wi did love it long time.