Tropical house or dancehall? The debate rages on!

• Tropical house or dancehall? The debate rages on!

Upon listening more closely to the rolling bounds undergirding “Sorry,” it’s clear they’re closer to the music heard in brick-and-mortar dance halls in Jamaica in the 1970s than trop-house. And the problem here — which those classifying “Work” as trop-house are contributing to — is that music from the West Indies and its founders, Top 40 purveyors, and lesser-known practitioners need to be more in the conversation around the pop songs they influence.

http://www.spin.com/2016/01/rihanna-...-selena-gomez/

Thanks to Gamma on his post regarding the "gibberish" in Rihanna's latest chune, Work.

I thought it was the PNP's new campaign song when I first heard it. Yuh know, Portia is always working, working, working. And there is some talk in there about being touched. Portia had said she would call the election when her master touched her, or something like that.

all of a sudden unnuh waan post bout dancehall? hypocrites

Bricky, just stop! A me yuh a talk to. Weh you did deh when Historian a trace mi when mi a defend dancehall?! KMT!

Please! I'm an unabashed lover of good dancehall. And that's where we differ. You will listen every eediat chune.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wt9vsk82yqE

now shaddap

Oh no! I'm afraid to watch it!

Is what, Bricky? Gi mi clue as to what gutter yuh a drag mi into now.

nesbeth...my dream...the hot chune a road...click the link & shaddap

Oh! Whew!

I love everything about it, video and all.

Yuh coming down with a fever, Bricky?

LOL. Cho man Mo encouragement sweeten labour.

Where is the video filmed, the scenes on the cliff... St Bess?

BTW, very nice chune.

I'm thinking St. Bess or Manchester near Lovers Leap.

that's portland yuh damn tourist...

Wow! I forgot that our parishes are distinctly different, as Miami, Florida is to Vail, Colorado.

Silly me!

They say the skiing in Miami is good this time of year... water-skiing that is!

Rihanna's 'Work' Is Not Tropical House

Another take on this topic

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ljbohB2_WnU