My take on the Herb Curb at Rebel Salute

• My take on the Herb Curb at Rebel Salute

First of all I think it was a good idea by Tony Rebel and team to give the weed more legitimacy by not just promoting the smoking of more herb, which always happened at Rebel Salute and similar concerts anyway. The Herb Curb was in a separate area from the other booths and stalls and further away from the music, but from what I could see there were constant visitors to that area if only to see what it was about.

There were a number of foreigners peddling products at the Herb Curb. A group of Candadians I believe were talking about a chocolate product that they were investing in. Others were displaying what looked to me like hydroponic systems for growing marajuana. Some were selling accessories like chillum pipes , and others were selling the raw weed.

There appears to be some attempt to develop strains of weed for the Jamaican market, for example the Westmoreland people had some weed with the label "Pineapple - Grown in Orange Hill". Orange Hill some may know has been a ganja producing town for many decades. When people say "The best weed come from Westmoreland" they are usually refering to Orange Hill weed.

One thing bothered me a bit but I can't say it surprises me. The derivative products appear to be spearheaded by the foreigners, and the "bag a weed" sellers mostly by the local rastaman. There was some local/foreign collaboration but my guess is that in those cases the foreigner owns most of the production and the locals are more for the branding. It is not hard to see a situation where eventually all the licenses, etc for real products go to the business class while the small grower is left to peddle his product in Negril and at reggae concerts.

Ultimately marijuana is just a plant, and the potency of our local variety has long been surpassed by others using science and technology to increase THC content. What we are left with really is selling the experience of smoking in a culture and environment where the plant has always had a special place and connection. There is value to that no doubt but who will be the ones to take advantage of it? Probably the same people who operate the clubs, restaurants and hotels.

I hope I am wrong and the small grower gets more of an opportunity out of this.
    Last edited by Islandman; January 20, 2016, 05:09 PM.

Sad to say thats how i see it , for now.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Push organic weed, that's our niche!

Dem something developed in labs and specialised greenhouses, move weh wid dat! Pizen! (Poison)

That make sense but even that will require a certain amount of modern agro-technology to be commercially viable.

Planting quarter acre on some rocky and bad soil land in the mountains not going to do it.

Good eye on the derivative product potential Islandman.

I think overtime some growers have gotten to LEARN about the propagation aspects of weed. That it is a science. But for the most part, the average local grower does not pay much attention to breeding....

But the weed derivatives portion takes some form of basic education to understand . There is chemistry and other bio-aspects of the product.

"Jamaicans" from my experience are not the easiest to introduce new concepts. They know it [ALL] a-ready.

Look how many time I have been telling X that cheerleading the effort is not enough. That with his vim...he needs to be making money from his weed passion. I have gone as far as calling him Weed-X !!!

That make sense but even that will require a certain amount of modern agro-technology to be commercially viable.

Planting quarter acre on some rocky and bad soil land in the mountains not going to do it.
            But now dat it free up, farmers no need to go inna nuh swamp and up some rocky grung fi hide di ting. Instead, they can use lands once deicated to useless sugar cane and carrots!

Good post... In Canada I am seeing ex police chief (bill Blair and some deputies) are now big advocate and spearheading the legalisation. ex government officials have taken weed production companies like tweed (they sponsored the event bin negril) public and the forecast is that they will make billions. Now wh are we locking up el chappo again? Is weed less harmful or was the war on drugs just a farce because it was not taxed. Weed is still dangerous to some people and triggers psychosis but some would argue so does alcohol? We are in weird times..

Originally posted by OJ View Post
                Good post... In Canada I am seeing ex police chief (bill Blair and some deputies) are now big advocate and spearheading the legalisation. ex government officials have taken weed production companies like tweed (they sponsored the event bin negril) public and the forecast is that they will make billions. Now wh are we locking up el chappo again? Is weed less harmful or was the war on drugs just a farce because it was not taxed. Weed is still dangerous to some people and triggers psychosis but some would argue so does alcohol? We are in weird times..
                Heh hay!!! Wait till X see dis!