Imagine!! 20,000 people gathered in

• Imagine!! 20,000 people gathered in

a venue to hear dancehall music? Yet we have clowns that happens to be Jamaicans that want to disown the music?

Saturday as I watched RE TV they did a focus on the Japanese sound, Mighty Crown. The DJ play a Sizzla and the first two notes from the guitar sent the crowd in a frenzy. What a sight!

Might as well dem tek it. Dem appreciate it more than we!

No they don't. It's just you uptown people that don't like dancehall. Don't know if you remember, but even Bob's music wasn't popular in Jamaica until his death.
    Yes, we take a long time to celebrate our own.

Originally posted by Exile View Post
      No they don't. It's just you uptown people that don't like dancehall. Don't know if you remember, but even Bob's music wasn't popular in Jamaica until his death.
      Yes, we take a long time to celebrate our own.
      hehe ... mi a country bwoy bredren! Even pon this forum there are jokers that put down the music. Yes there are some artistes that go to the extreme ... but so what. They are other artistes that constantlt keep it clean.

When I see sounds from Japan and Germany a win world clash... There is a music conference in France, I think its MIDEM ( I may be wrong on the name) where many singers and music producers want to work with our artistes, yet we treat dem like some outcast.

That may be true, but the roots are here, and Jamaica still dictates "what's next" in dancehall.

Soon and very soon all the dancehall tracks will be done in Japanese. I suggest yuh start learning the language.

And who a go buy dat or listen to dat?

Stay deh! Yuh soon hear Sizzla and Capleton a chant inna Japanese. See di Latinos dem tek it and call it reggaeton! Guh a get2gedda the other day and ask di DJ fi him nuh have nuh reggae or dancehall. Him confirmed that him have and will soon play it .... only to hear an authentic Jamaican beat with spanish DJ. Of course that was the only tune he played. Check Morgan Heritage last album, dem moving slightly to the reggaeton category.

Dun talk. Everybody tek dem cues from what's happening in the inner city of Kingston. Foundation dat!

You may be onto something! Is that why on Wick'd videos the term garrison is idolized? Even tunes being put out by some New Jersey artist mek garrison sound like a something good. Is this why most of the episodes of Wick'd Videos are done in these areas?

Sorry boss. It's good to a have a unique creative music but I can soemtimes understand the difficulties by some artistes that want to keep it close. So many stories of rip-off in the industry. Unfortunately, only when some of the mainstream artists do Dancehall, it gets noticed. Take Lady Saw for example with No Doubt. Bounty...etc...and so many sampling in Hip-Hop. Maybe only Sean Paul has been able to take the genre to a wider audience without dilution although the purists will argue that his version is not from downtown.

It must be more than taking cues...who gets paid? Is this money trickling back to the innercity?

You better believe that most young kids now know fairly good Japanese - my son does - and mainly from watching Japanese cartoons (they say they are not cartoons they are animation), which are supposedly the best. I got him a language cd but seemed I wasted my money...

Maybe not.

Originally posted by Exile View Post
                            Sorry boss. It's good to a have a unique creative music but I can soemtimes understand the difficulties by some artistes that want to keep it close.
                            damn sum-a-dem dem keep hit suh close mi unda-stan a wah dem a duh!

Now Lady Saw...even di dead wake!