Limit on cash when leaving Jamaica

• Limit on cash when leaving Jamaica

The government says that it was ill gotten gain (It is probably lotto money.) However my question is, are you still required to declare cash over a certain amount on leaving the island and if yes then what is that amount?

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news/...rassiere_47910

I remember when it was US$50 or some ridiculous amount back in the 80's.
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

With BOJ approval you could travel with more.

Not sure what the limit is but you certainly have to declare it if you are travelling with more than a certain amount. In the US its $10,000 so I would imagine its is less than that in JA.

My recollection is that if your are inbound into the US with more that $10,000 then you have to declare it on a custom form. I don't know that there are any forms for you to declare it outbound from the US.

Not that you cannot carry more, people get in trouble for not declaring it.

..........would a cashier's check valuing that amount--be easier to travel with...?

Originally posted by Time View Post
                My recollection is that if your are inbound into the US with more that $10,000 then you have to declare it on a custom form. I don't know that there are any forms for you to declare it outbound from the US.
                Yes there are such forms.