SpaceX completes orbital gymnastics..Sticks the Landing

Yuteman I'm just saying that prognostication on unproven science matters needs to be backed up by mathematical proof...then proof in the natural world... if it is to be generally accepted as valid. Otherwise it remains as conjecture

This is not to debunk Tesla's genius... but just to debunk certain elements of your prior post that indicated other than the above
    Fair enough...except that those rules no longer apply to Einstein ideas. The cry of the people who are challenging Einstein is that when Einstein mathematics fail and when the natural observation contradicts him, his priests are allowed to invent stuff that 'must be there' in order for his Mathematics to remain correct and are allowed to make them 'dark' in order to explain why we cannot find proof of their existence in nature.

Fair enough...I did not provide the Math and the natural proof ... However, the electric universe scientists have provided the maths and proof in nature for an electric universe but they cannot get published in the mainstream scientific journals because challenge to mainstream thinking is not allowed.

Please note that I am not saying that Einstein is wrong and that the Electric Theory is correct, just that he cannot be challenged. I am going to leave it at that.

Well Einstein was without doubt correct about many of the stranger aspects aspects of relativity, such as time slowing down and light bending in response to gravity. Those have been tested out in the field again and again and held up.

One could certainly say his theories are not complete and there may well be a better model out there which could fill in some of those gaps you refer to. This is no different from Newtons Universal law which served us well for a few centuries but came up short when taken to the extreme conditions of space.

What Einstein was proposing was so mind boggling at the time (and still is) that there is no way it would have received acceptance without validation in the field. This is the beauty of the scientific method. Debate is good but ultimately some amount of testing and validation is needed.
      Nothing is ever complete

Beyond Einstein...People who believe Mankind can discover a so-called "theory of everything" are completely off the wall. Monumentally conceited

The irony of science is: The more we learn...The more we find there is to learn. So in effect we discover more multiples of ignorance with each advance in scientific knowledge

This is an exponential construct we will never get ahead of imo...

Humans merely plod along discovering tiny particles of knowledge in a limitless universe we're ignorant about .... And that's only the 1 universe we believe we exist in... Mi naw even talk the rest ah dem

Agreed!

Einstein and Tesla are mere mortals... Most ah dem tings nuh muss limited, misdirected or wrong

But they're among the best humans have produced...along wid Marcus of course

What Marcus invent? Or innovate?

Black Nationalism...The only road to group success

You are probably right. This is particularly so because we are extremely limited by the very space and time we are trying to understand.

It is already difficult to wrap our minds around the little that we know, and how insignificant we are. Imagine that we will probably never travel anywhere close to the nearest star to us, just 4 light years away, much less to even begin to really know much about our Milky Way galaxy with its hundreds of billions of stars.

Then the Hubble telescope takes a photo like this in one very small area of the sky, galaxy caan done! So what are we really? Not much more than an amoeba in the larger scheme of things.

I did not intend to ignore you. Tesla's character flaws are what I am most disappointed about him. However, maybe that is why he was so great. He was not afraid to dismiss any scientist. Maybe if Tesla's sponsor the rich JP Morgan had a way to put a billing meter on wireless electricity then Tesla Wireless Electricity and not fossil fuels would be our modern energy source.

You are probably right. This is particularly so because we are extremely limited by the very space and time we are trying to understand.

It is already difficult to wrap our minds around the little that we know, and how insignificant we are. Imagine that we will probably never travel anywhere close to the nearest star to us, just 4 light years away, much less to even begin to really know much about our Milky Way galaxy with its hundreds of billions of stars.

Then the Hubble telescope takes a photo like this in one very small area of the sky, galaxy caan done! So what are we really? Not much more than an amoeba in the larger scheme of things.

HUGE PROBLEM: We don't know what either "time" or "space" is...although Einstein postulates that they're different parts of the same thing i.e. space-time

Since we don't know...we make shiit up for the sake of convenience

So for "time"... we track the cycles of Earth rotations on its axis...and cycles of its Sun orbit.

So our "time" concept only works on the Earth....which is much less than a speck...even in our own extremely minor galaxy...among the uncountable billions of galaxies. Paradoxically...even on Earth this measurement system is flawed...and it's basically an educated guess what the "time" is at any given "time" or in any particular "space"

So we don't even know what "time" it is on Venus...our next door neighbor
                    Last edited by Don1; December 23, 2015, 02:32 PM.

Seems that way. Mr Branson cannot be very pleased right now.

I think we can be fairly confident that our space-time model works at least for our solar system, since we have sent and communicated with time-sensitive vehicles on the surface of or very close to most of the planets.

However your larger point is true. Time in particular is a very strange concept. For one it appears, to us at least, to only go in one direction, "forward" and never "backward" even though our mathematical models cannot explain why this is so.

Perhaps one day we will be able to disconnect space and time. That's the only way we will ever have some chance to understand what is really going on.

Where is Virgin Galactic in all of this? Are they being left behind in the cosmic dust?

His operation is Space Tourism in sub-orbital space....so Bezos and his Blue Origin crew would be his competitors...not SpaceX

SpaceX is ultimately about colonizing Mars...they're just using the satellite haulage biz to fund the tech development for that goal

I think we can be fairly confident that our space-time model works at least for our solar system, since we have sent and communicated with time-sensitive vehicles on the surface of or very close to most of the planets.

However your larger point is true. Time in particular is a very strange concept. For one it appears, to us at least, to only go in one direction, "forward" and never "backward" even though our mathematical models cannot explain why this is so.

Perhaps one day we will be able to disconnect space and time. That's the only way we will ever have some chance to understand what is really going on.
                            Ok...So what time is it really on Venus?

Mi ave one ting fi check ova deh an' she ah tell mi ah time mi nuh ovastan' ... Half past 69 ar sitten lika dat

One of my favorite websites right now is

http://www.waitbutwhy.com

The guy is a real Elon Musk groupie but he writes really well on every topic, the type of detailed, research-based writing that is becoming rare in this age of tweets and 30 second soundbites.

I also just realised that he was one of the hosts on the SpaceX live stream during the launch.

LOL. Time to get a terrestrial clock