Elite Boys Schools needed

• Elite Boys Schools needed

We should start by cleaning up the sports academy designation of some of the current traditional all boys school. I am not sure that we really have 7 elite boys school because only a few doing well in academics.

http://jamaica-gleaner.com/article/l...essary-balance

I can't see the logic of building more high schools when the ones we have are in such bad shape at all.

The gentleman has some very strange arguments. Its as if he thinks building a school and calling it "elite" will make it so with no regard for the history of the existing schools which he considers "elite", and the cohort which gets allocated to them as well as all the other schools. Sounds extremely simplistic especially for someone who is in the research field.

Exactly! Not sure I need to have any of our schools being labeled "elite", especially when they would be but a tiny fraction of our secondary schools.

If he wants more all boys schools, then say so. They don't need to be known as elite. In the meantime, let's try to eliticize our existing schools, whether coed or not.

I can't see the logic of building more high schools when the ones we have are in such bad shape at all.

The gentleman has some very strange arguments. Its as if he thinks building a school and calling it "elite" will make it so with no regard for the history of the existing schools which he considers "elite", and the cohort which gets allocated to them as well as all the other schools. Sounds extremely simplistic especially for someone who is in the research field.
        Government is broke. They basically pay salaries and old boys pay the rest of the bills. You need a strong old boys association in order to sustain an elite boys school.

Unnu juss ah sight di rake...unnu late bad

The guy is highlighting the EXTREME gender disparities in performance I've been educating you folks about for years as perhaps the biggest problem in JA education.

Instead of unnu foolishly "analysing" Jamaican education with the superficial rubbish unnu spout bout dis skool vs dat...unnu need fi look beneath the surface like he has

Unfortunately after doing some really basic work.... his suggestions are impractical.. i.e. rubbish

What's needed is radical changes in the modes of learning to fit the inclinations boys have:
          MORE LEARNING BY DOING...NOT ONLY ROTE INSTRUCTION

Also focus on subject matter that is more valuable in this 21st Century:
          SCIENCE, TECHNOLOGY, ENGINEERING, MATHEMATICS

Den back dat up wid more focus on real world certifications instead of going all-in on backward, limited examinations like CXC:

e.g. MICROSOFT CERTIFICATIONS, LOGISTICS Certifications etc

Fortunately some more evolved folks have left unnu backward thinking very far behind....and have apps for solutions to the above...with more in the making
          Last edited by Don1; December 14, 2015, 05:22 PM.

The guy is highlighting the EXTREME gender disparities in performance I've been educating you folks about for years as perhaps the biggest problem in JA education.

Instead of unnu foolishly "analysing" Jamaican education with the superficial rubbish unnu spout bout dis skool vs dat...unnu need fi look beneath the surface like he has

Unfortunately after doing some really basic work.... his suggestions are impractical.. i.e. rubbish

What's needed is radical changes in the modes of learning to fit the inclinations boys have:
            MORE LEARNING BY DOING...NOT ONLY ROTE INSTRUCTION

Also focus on subject matter that is more valuable in this 21st Century:
            SCIENCE, TECHNOLOGY, ENGINEERING, MATHEMATICS

Den back dat up wid more focus on real world certifications instead of going all-in on backward, limited examinations like CXC:

e.g. MICROSOFT CERTIFICATIONS, LOGISTICS Certifications etc

Fortunately some more evolved folks have left unnu backward thinking very far behind....and have apps for solutions to the above...with more in the making
            I hear you brother! I attended a Wolmer's science conference this year. Board Chairman and Principal highlighted the need to do away with the grammar school approach and stop producing so many lawyers. Focus on science, skills and certifications instead. Apparently not many people interested because of tradition. One person pointed out that Wolmer's had a woodwork shop for many years before my time that was never used. They had to scrapped it because the parents would not allow woodwork to be taught at Wolmers. Looks like Wolmer's will be producing grammar students for the next 100 years.

Why the ones we currently have, can't be elite?
              We keep on thinking Building and money is it.

The fact is leadership and parent involvement, and community is what make a school strong. Not the building or how much they pa fi go a school.

You see where some of the so called elite school run down from time to time and even some of them not turning out the quality they use to, why is that??

Government play a role but some of us got educated in leaking building and under tree more time but we had community who considered it important for us to be educated.

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/busin...hotelier_45250

Just imagine this, while the other people a take the positions in our hotels. Why can't high school train some of these workers?

Such people are backward...

Originally posted by Time View Post
                  I hear you brother! I attended a Wolmer's science conference this year. Board Chairman and Principal highlighted the need to do away with the grammar school approach and stop producing so many lawyers. Focus on science, skills and certifications instead. Apparently not many people interested because of tradition. One person pointed out that Wolmer's had a woodwork shop for many years before my time that was never used. They had to scrapped it because the parents would not allow woodwork to be taught at Wolmers. Looks like Wolmer's will be producing grammar students for the next 100 years.
                  Still living in the 20th century...and still holding back the country

Such thinking must be erased if Jamaica is to progress

Woodwork is 20th Century?

Ok, what is the 21st Century equivalent?

Woodwork is 20th Century?

Ok, what is the 21st Century equivalent?

3-D computer aided design & product development

Hmmm...I thought was 20th Century?

It cross ova. Mi nuh sure if woodwerking mek di grade

they finally get it. how many years have i been preaching it right here?