• Air Bed and No Blacks

Renting Rooms While being Black

Yet another study for the likes of Stoni to foolishly try refuting

Airbnb hosts discriminate against black guests based on names, study suggests
    By Colin Lecher on December 10, 2015 01:15 pm @colinlecher

Airbnb guests with stereotypically "black-sounding" names have a harder time booking a reservation than their white counterparts, a working paper from Harvard Business School researchers suggests.

6,400 MESSAGES SENT FROM FAKE PROFILES

Using data from 6,400 messages sent by fake profiles inquiring about reservations in five cities, the researchers determined that Airbnb guests — who, under the company's system, are approved by hosts — were more likely to have their booking approved if they had names more closely associated with white people. Controlling for other factors, the guests with stereotypically white names received positive responses about 50 percent of the time, compared with 42 percent for their black counterparts.

The names were first drawn from a list of names given to babies born in Massachusetts between 1974 and 1979. Those names were then given out in a survey for people to categorize as "white" or "African American." In the end, for example, a "white" name tested in the study was "Meredith O'Brien," while a "black" name tested was "Rasheed Jackson."

Stoni won't touch this one.

Too hot to handle

It could by extrapolation probably apply to any company or institution renting... car rental for example? I suppose that AirB&B attitude is a closer reflection of the "man on the ground".

This information demonstrates that there is an opportunity for black people to create their own Air Black & Beautiful or to participate in the original more as owner / lessor.

I wonder how Arabic, Indian and Chinese names stand up?! in fact any non-mainstream English sounding names?

Excellent eye PR!!

Your second paragraph on taking the initiative on building OWNERSHIP is what it is all about.

"WE" have cornered the market on complaining and finding fault.

Other cultures as you have listed would have monopolized on the 'crisis '.

Very good response Starrr.

In looking ahead to "retirement" I have been considering doing something like a B&B, hopefully to supplement, rather than be the source of income. And having used AirB&B it works well if you have the right location, amenities that people want etc. etc...

I'm thinking I'm going to do my own online stuff and call it "Here Black is Beautiful" or "HereBiB" for short!

It would also be interesting to see how a similar name test on black real estate owners would turn out.

Seriously?

I don't need any test or study to see how that would turn out. Stoni, perhaps, not me! I mean, why would it be any different? In fact, I would expect it to be much worse. So, if that is what you'd want to see, I-man, ok!

If you don't know what you are up against, your attempts at ownership may be futile.

You better reconnize!

If you don't know what you are up against, your attempts at ownership may be futile.

You better reconnize!
                    Some nincompoops believe analyzing faults (like these Harvard researchers did ) is mutually exclusive with ACTING positively in the market

I'll never understand nor countenance that profound level of ignorance.

Then again I don't have to...I just need to know how to bun it out

Seriously?

I don't need any test or study to see how that would turn out. Stoni, perhaps, not me! I mean, why would it be any different? In fact, I would expect it to be much worse. So, if that is what you'd want to see, I-man, ok!

Yes that's correct.

As I've said...Babylon Philosophies have made White people (and many others globally) very sick in the head. Unfortunately absorbing Babylon ways has made Black people the sickest of all upstairs

Cyaan tap bun out Babylon atall...esp dem 100% corrupt "mainstream" media.

Babylon media an' dem religions are the primary carriers of their mental diseases that affect us negatively

BTW Don, you think the reverse is true? If I am a lessor name Rasheed Jackson, Meredith O'Brien won't want to rent my place?

Not that it matters if you know the market you're operating in. I know a lady here in T&T who uses AirB&B to rent part of her house... she lives in an affluent neighbourhood. She flatly told me, if the lessee is a local, no way Jose! Her reasoning, could be criminals coming to scope out her house.

Now I don't like that option personally. I don't like the idea of any stranger, black, white, brown, pink or green in my personal space if I don't know them. If I am renting out an apartment though, just show me the green!

BTW Don, you think the reverse is true? If I am a lessor name Rasheed Jackson, Meredith O'Brien won't want to rent my place?

Not that it matters if you know the market you're operating in. I know a lady here in T&T who uses AirB&B to rent part of her house... she lives in an affluent neighbourhood. She flatly told me, if the lessee is a local, no way Jose! Her reasoning, could be criminals coming to scope out her house.

Now I don't like that option personally. I don't like the idea of any stranger, black, white, brown, pink or green in my personal space if I don't know them. If I am renting out an apartment though, just show me the green!
                          Most probably. The Babylon Mental Disease is pandemic

I don't think it would be worse. My expectation would be for there to still be a significant amount of discrimination but not as much as the general population.

I also think the reasons are somewhat more complicated than simple old fashioned "I don't like blacks" prejudice. There is certainly a significant amount that is attributable to that, but also some degree of negative stereotyping as well, which both blacks and non-blacks are guilty of. That is a bit different from mindless racism although the outcomes of such thinking are often the same.

A good example is the well-documented fact that restaurant waiters of all races believe that black people are generally poor tippers. This is probably true, it is certainly true for many black people that I know. But how much is this the cause of black people getting worse service in restaurants and how much is the result of old fashioned racism? I think it is impossible to tell with any certainty because of the chicken and egg influence each has on the other.

The harsh truth is that when you are at the bottom of the socio-economic ladder, even the people who would not generally be of a prejudiced mindset will find it difficult to avoid acting on negative stereotypes about that depressed group.
                            Last edited by Islandman; December 12, 2015, 04:24 PM.

Very good!