Mi t'row mi cawn mi no call no fowl!

• Mi t'row mi cawn mi no call no fowl!

Saw this article and just putting it out there!

All I have to say is: "From the ashes of ignorance, the flames of hope can spring forth with renewed vigour, to quench the thirst of the angry beast within us"

Oh, unuh haffi read de article fus' fi undahstand why mi a laugh!

http://www.iflscience.com/editors-bl...r-intelligence

an' a ol' chune :

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RriA9iZUovk

Someone nuh like Deepak Chopra... here is a BS generator, ostensibly based on DC's thoughts... click "RECEIVE MORE WISDOM" to generate a new "quote".
    http://www.wisdomofchopra.com/

"The universe is the womb of your own mortality"

Yeesh!

I have heard it all in architecture school. Someone comes up with some profound design for Beethoven's house, devoid of front door and bathroom. They bullshit away their creation but invariably they end up with an "A".

Good study for those with quixotic aspirations...

Do you mean quiXotic??

Suh what you telling us Mo, you ah harkitec or you were just visiting the school.

I switched majors for grad school. Couldn't deal wid di heap a crap in architecture school.

Too bad, we probably would see some unusual style buildings, what's your favourite locally designed building in Ja?

One of my favourites is the HWT bus terminal, but I think that was designed and built by the Belgians. That could be my favourite building in Jamaica.

I know I was really impressed with the Victoria Mutual building in HWT when that opened up in the late 70s.

Oh, I do like the NCB Atrium on Trafalgar Road: https://www.google.com/search?q=scot...9GEsoaZSp0M%3A

and their Port Antonio branch: https://www.google.com/search?q=scot...NVgfWhByFjM%3A

The former main branch for Scotiabank, an old colonial building on Duke Street, is very impressive, particularly on the inside.

Sadly, I can think of some really bad ones, like the Mayberry building: https://www.google.com/search?q=Mayb...uQ7loUMB9hM%3A

What were they thinking!?

Not sure how many of the ones I mentioned were locally designed.

Do you have any favourites?

There is a house on Charlton avenue and another on skyline drive

Yes, one in particular that also funnily enough blended well into its environment. The forestry department building just off c-spring road road South of Immaculate, cyan remember the name of the road its on, when it was built it seemed like something out of a book and I just loved its look.

Weird as it may seem, I also always admired the multistory square Manor park apartment building with its wide balconies, I never been inside, always thought that it must be 'nice'!

Also love Devon house and one of my faves that dem bun down was the old YMCA building, inside and out, I loved that building, spent nuff time there, did you ever see the grand staircase on that building, it was impressive.

Yeah man, love your examples, the first one was pretty cool the old petrojam building, love the Jamaican Georgian style in the port Antonio building and yeah what the Mayberry people have no clue, that deserve a prison sentence!!!
                      Last edited by Stonigut; December 10, 2015, 10:49 PM.

Stoni, I see you know bout!

Stoni, you clearly have a good architectural mind. I also loved the forestry department building that blended with its setting. Looked like something out of an architectural review. The building is still there but I think they may have added some other structures which messed it up.

The New Kingston Shopping Centre was also impressive when it was built, complete with escalators (big deal for Jamaica still), waterfalls and pools. I knew that was not going to last.

Regarding the YMCA building, apparently, the 4 mansions at the Hope Road-Trafalgar-Waterloo Corner were splendid. Only Devon House has survived, maybe the best of them all. Pity they didn't save some of Abbey Court even as they built those ugly apartments with that prison wall around it! That whole area was certainly Kingston's millionaire alley. The Nigerian High Commission, Salvation Army and other impressive buildings have survived the urge to destroy and put up ugly units for sale or rent.

Remind me about house on Charlton Ave.

Thanks, mi have fi keep up wid yuh!!

I loved that Forestry building from the first day it was put up. On millionaires row I can hardly find a picture of The old YMCA building much less the pre Abbey Court and the NW corner building, it is a shame!!!