• The Japanese Mother of Sleng Teng

How Casio accidentally started reggae's digital revolution
    The real story behind the mysterious 'sleng teng' riddim.

James Trew , @itstrew
    19h ago in Gadgetry

Looking at the Casio Casiotone MT40, you'd be forgiven for thinking it was an unremarkable keyboard. You may even have owned one just like it. Launched in 1981, the cream machine came with 37 keys, 22 different instrument sounds, six onboard rhythms and a dedicated mini bass keyboard. It cost around $150 or, adjusting for inflation, about $400 if it were on sale today.

Beneath that beige plastic, however, the MT40 hid a secret. A "rock" preset that, once discovered, would reverberate in popular music for the next 30 years. The preset would become one of reggae's most famous "riddims," inspire many imitations and force the genre into the digital age. The story of the "sleng teng" riddim (as it is known) in reggae history is well documented, but its origins are based on myth. This is the real story of how Casio's MT40 became the most influential keyboard of its kind.

If you've heard a version of the sleng teng story before, it probably went something like this: The rock preset on the Casio MT40 was meant to sound like Eddie Cochran's "Somethin' Else," but whoever programmed it didn't quite get it right. The wonky rhythm was later stumbled upon by reggae artists Noel Davy, King Jammy and Wayne Smith in the mid-'80s. The trio used the preset as the bassline for the 1985 single "Under mi sleng teng" (a patois ode to the perils of drugs) and the rest, as they say, is history.

Is it just me, or you also can't wait for Historian's return?

LOL!

It's just you

Very interesting read.

If you read the Wayne Smith story on this, he accidentally come up on the riddim. Wayne Smith at the time was no great musician and after getting the riddim had King Jammys and others to put the final touch.

I don't think this was ever denied that it was a buckup really but this kind of buckup only come from practice, imagination and a good ear for different sound.

Wayne Smith himself didn't have much more contribution to popular sound and will not be amongst any of reggae's great musiclans but his contribution will live on.

http://www.allmusic.com/album/under-...g-mw0000473463

If you read the Wayne Smith story on this, he accidentally come up on the riddim. Wayne Smith at the time was no great musician and after getting the riddim had King Jammys and others to put the final touch.

I don't think this was ever denied that it was a buckup really but this kind of buckup only come from practice, imagination and a good ear for different sound.

Wayne Smith himself didn't have much more contribution to popular sound and will not be amongst any of reggae's great musiclans but his contribution will live on.
              His claim of "accidentally" coming up wid di riddim may not be far off the mark.

If the article is to be believed the riddim was programmed into the machine from point of manufacture i.e. @ Casio by the Japanese lady tech

So if W Smith "accidentally" happened upon it while experimenting with the device...that's entirely believable

So Jakans could be responsible for native ingenuity in adapting/combining the riddim with Jakan idioms & musical styles....but not with creating the base riff

Then again...ALL music created from caveman times to late-day homo sapiens is generated from diverse sources...i.e. it's all a synthesis

D1
              Resident RBZ Expert Music Analyst

it was Noel Davy who stumbled upon it...

His claim of "accidentally" coming up wid di riddim may not be far off the mark.

If the article is to be believed the riddim was programmed into the machine from point of manufacture i.e. @ Casio by the Japanese lady tech

So if W Smith "accidentally" happened upon it while experimenting with the device...that's entirely believable

So Jakans could be responsible for native ingenuity in adapting/combining the riddim with Jakan idioms & musical styles....but not with creating the base riff

Then again...ALL music created from caveman times to late-day homo sapiens is generated from diverse sources...i.e. it's all a synthesis

D1
                  Resident RBZ Expert Music Analyst
                  Peter R just posted something about these kinds of profound statements.

Bricky! You're back! Two days early!

Good to see you!

Have you been on the football forum today?

Bricky! You're back! Two days early!

Good to see you!

Have you been on the football forum today?
                      Hehe gwaan wait pon an answer
                      Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

One of your best post
                        Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Watch how tuh frighten him off deh now.. Cho man! I had some "speed kills" questions for him ....

Peter R just posted something about these kinds of profound statements.
                            That they're brilliant I guess

One of your best post
                              LOL!!

Mi ave nuff ah dat