Adele breaks album sales record.

• Adele breaks album sales record.

It’s official: Adele’s 25 album sold 3.38 million copies in its first week in the U.S., according to Nielsen Music. That’s the largest single sales week for an album since Nielsen began tracking point-of-sale music purchases in 1991. 25 is the first album to sell more than 3 million copies in a week in Nielsen history, and only the second to surpass 2 million sold in a single frame.
    http://www.billboard.com/articles/co...-first-week-us

and i am still scratching my head about it...bootlegged the album and there is only one song on it..."Hello"...the rest of the album is trash

I haven't heard any of the songs other than Hello myself but I am also scratching my head trying to understand the implications of this.

Not even in the glory days of 90s Boy Bands and mostly CD music did anyones work sell anything remotely close to this in a week. Taylor Swift is defying the odds as well by consistently selling more than a million in a week but this Adele album is on another planet in terms of sales.

So who are these people buying these albums? They cannot be regular music fans , must be a new breed of fan that she has captured with her brand.
      Last edited by Islandman; December 1, 2015, 07:04 AM.

A million years ago is the best song on it, followed by when we were young.

Hello barely mek top 5.

I agree, its her weakest album yet, but still decent.

Same way Whitney used to mash up the place...

I guess you would have to be a megastar to do what they have done, but nonetheless it must be making other major artistes have second thoughts about the streaming model. If enough of them take a stand surely the streaming services will have to react.

Adele decided against making her album available to stream on Spotify or Apple Music. Swift took similar action last year, removing her music from Spotify. The music streaming company pays out between 0.006 cents to 0.0084 cents per stream.

The economics behind the record industry are unfair to the artist who create the content, said Tullo. Rather than record labels licensing content to streaming services, he believes more artist should and could follow in Adele’s and Swift’s footsteps—though it’s not an option for all artists.

“When artists have great music and are successful, they’re making next to nothing on Spotify, when they could be making millions. The chasm of income between what streaming provides artists and what album sales could, is huge,” Tullo said. “Artists like Taylor Swift and Adele shouldn’t be the exception — they should be the rule.”
            http://www.marketwatch.com/story/ade...ist=lcountdown

She also sold 800,000 on her first week in the UK. She is doing good.

yeah you get little and nothing for streaming. That is why I say now if you are an independent producer it tuff.

I have to investigate how VP Vpal work and if it is worth it.