Parliamentary committee offers office more security in row w

• Parliamentary committee offers office more security in row w

RECOMMENDATIONS from two committees of Parliament could strengthen the hand of Director of Public Prosecutions (DPP) Paula Llewellyn in legal tussles with the Independent Commission of Investigations (INDECOM).

Llewellyn has fallen under a legal cloud since last week's reversal of her decision in the Shernet Haughton issue -- ruling that criminal charges should be pursued against the former Lucea mayor for alleged breaches of the government procurement guidelines after originally dismissing the recommendation from the Office of the Contractor General.

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news/...DECOM_19241222

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

However, there will be even more interest in a second report, from a committee reactivated to handle reports from commissions of Parliament, with respect to the conflict between INDECOM and the DPP over whether -- in cases where the ODPP says there is insufficient evidence to proceed in court against the security forces -- private citizens should not have the right to their own prosecutors.

Commissioner for INDECOM, Terrence Williams made the case in a special report to Parliament, and again in an appearance before the JSC, when he stated that the public was being misled that they cannot pursue private prosecutions without permission from the DPP.
    Gamma, or other legal minds (that excludes you, Jawge as you are mindless), what obtains in the USA, for example?

I blame human rights orgs like the JFJs that sit idly as corruption is enshrined in the constitution,democratic dictatoship thrives where are the norman manleys,the william kunstlerss,the ron kubys,the mandelas,berl bernhards ,william taylors.

But alas we have more serious issues to address like sanitizing extra judicial killings,teaching young minds botomolgy and gay rights.

Indecom now and the OCG next ,probably this move by the DPP would kill two birds with one stone,they both sing the same tune,the DPP is incompetent.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

X, seriously now. Save the inanity for the football forum. Grow up and act like yuh have sense over this forum.

Yes, the JFJ and other HRO can do more, but we have to be thankful for what they have done so far. The problem is always money and personnel. Have you offered either to any one of them? You ask, "where are the norman manleys,the william kunstlerss,the ron kubys,the mandelas,berl bernhards ,william taylors?" I say, where is X?

Instead, we get the armchair quarterbacks who can tell us everything what's wrong with the world but do little to help, Oh, how you must miss your Sunandrew verandah!

So, let's forget about them and deal with what's at hand.

Can you answer my question above? TIA!

you blame JFJ yet it was a pleasure to see them mash up.

nuff people get them wish, JFJ is now a rubber tiger.

No institution is perfect but in a democracy you need people defending rights and different advocacy group to keep it balance.

Miss Gomes no longer standing on street corner by herself.
          Last edited by Assasin; November 30, 2015, 10:09 AM.

you blame JFJ yet it was a pleasure to see them mash up.

nuff people get them wish, JFJ is now a rubber tiger.

No institution is perfect but in a democracy you need people defending rights an different advocacy group to keep it balance.

Miss Gomes no longer standing on street corner by herself.
            Sass, come 'ere:

I am sure you know I am an expat,that doesnt deny me the most cherished tool possessed by a human being:Advocacy ,if the problem is money and personel i dont see the orgs highlighting a position of constitutioonal change for a solution of checks and balances where I can volunteer either.

I want to see the Jamaican Obama who is going to advocate a contractor general with the power to prosecute,the DPP to be held accountable by way of possible dismissal,a possibility for citizens to elect its leader directly.MPs that live in its area of representation,term limits,anything less is a facade.The JFJ only masked the issue of narcopolitical terrorism (garrisonization) and the ineptness of the state to deal with it,all indecom is advocating is liquidate them - criminals legally, but continue to liquidate,is that what you JFJs types call a victory .Yes you will have civilan casaulties in this was but ,thats how it set.Why continue with the status quo,because Indecom really hasnt changed a thing on the social ground,neither has the orgs(JFJ)

Kissteeth,where are our legal,H.O.R leaders to tun ova di shitstem,yuh see what advocacy can do,in a simple question,yuh get brringle ,imagine if those same questions were asked by bigger heads on a granduer stage.

Why continue with the status quo,because Indecom really hasnt changed a thing on the social ground,neither has the orgs(JFJ)
                Your opinion is noted.

I think they set up speci prosecutors whose powers are determined by some kind of TOR for the matter series of matters ...

Careful X,the first indicator of marginalizing the DPP came about by the formation if INDECOM(victories in the courts,and making absolete the investigatory powers of the DPP as it pertains to investigating police related incidents),and those efforts are about to continue.
                    No problem with the other points you made.

Gamma, or other legal minds (that excludes you, Jawge as you are mindless), what obtains in the USA, for example?
                      As per Wikipedia, you cannot do it at the US Federal level but some state courts allow it.

Sister Paula wrong again. You can start in in Jamaica but she can take it over and also terminate it.

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/lates...ite-misleading

Well, it seems like the DPP doesn't know what the law of the land is.

Committee Chairman Lloyd B Smith, who is also deputy speaker of the House of Representatives, told the Jamaica Observer yesterday that there was consensus within the committee that the information was misleading.

However, he said that there was indecision as to whether the committee had the authority to direct removal of the information, or whether it was up to the Cabinet.

"It is not only wrong, but it is also unconstitutional because it is denying citizens their constitutional right," said an angry Smith, who represents St James Central in the House of Representatives..

"There is no question about it being misleading, because it is obvious that the public has the right (in law) to proceed with private prosecutions," he added.

http://m.jamaicaobserver.com/mobile/...-SEAT_19242396

Well, it seems like the DPP doesn't know what the law of the land is.

http://m.jamaicaobserver.com/mobile/...-SEAT_19242396
                          What did committee have to say about the DD decision to terminate the Kentucky kid case?