• All Aboard!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Ole time sitten come back again

JC Resumes Boarding, Now Accepting Applications

Published:Monday | November 23, 2015 | 12:00 AMAndre Poyser

Forty-eight years after it ended boarding to transition to a full day school, Jamaica College (JC) will next year resume its boarding programme.

The Mayer Matalon Dormitory, located on the north-northeastern side of the JC campus, near to College Green Avenue and AISK, will open its doors to students as of March 2016.

JC Principal Ruel Reid said the management of the school took a decision to resume the boarding programme because of the benefits that it holds for student development. It forms part of the school's strategy to enhance the academic performance and the general all-round performance of students.

"The old boys, teachers, and management have seen the benefits of boarding in the past in moulding lives and providing some of our foremost leaders in Jamaica and globally. We will seek to provide a dedicated environment for students to focus on their studies, [for those] who particularly have challenging environments (approximately 10 per cent of population), parents are overseas, and those who live far away from school or are involved in competitive sports and co-curricular activities," he told The Gleaner.

good initiative by JC. Wish them all the best.

thanks Sass!!

US$10k per month????
        Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

That don't sound right at all.

If that $10,000US/month is right no one will take that up! on the other hand the $40,000JA (if that is so) is a steal of a deal!!

The difference between local and foreign doesn't make sense (to me)... but that aside, this initiative should redound to the benefit of parents and students!

Without being privy to the JC financials, neither rate makes sense to me, based on my (limited) knowledge of tuition rates for private schools... one seems too high, the other seems a giveaway, unless in this case, the idea is to make JC boarding affordable to the masses... the foreign fees are prohibitive if true. Bless. Big up to JC in any case!!

US$10k per month????
              LOL...Clearly a typo

If that $10,000US/month is right no one will take that up! on the other hand the $40,000JA (if that is so) is a steal of a deal!!

The difference between local and foreign doesn't make sense (to me)... but that aside, this initiative should redound to the benefit of parents and students!

Without being privy to the JC financials, neither rate makes sense to me, based on my (limited) knowledge of tuition rates for private schools... one seems too high, the other seems a giveaway, unless in this case, the idea is to make JC boarding affordable to the masses... the foreign fees are prohibitive if true. Bless. Big up to JC in any case!!
                I doubt it's designed to be a moneymaker ...except for the (small) foreign boarder complement. Possibly the real fee is $1000/month for foreigners
                The project is aimed at reclaiming a historical legacy while improving the school's academic, extra-curricular and social environment. It's funded by alumni from the 1950s-1960s who were borders themselves... and who see the value of boarding.

BTW...Mrs Mayne grandpikney get back to yuh?
                Last edited by Don1; November 27, 2015, 09:31 PM.

I suspect the there is one zero too many in that reported figure for foreigners as you say...

I heard from her daughter via email...exchanged cordialities. Thanks very much for the link! Much appreciated.

I suspect the there is one zero too many in that reported figure for foreigners as you say...

I heard from her daughter via email...exchanged cordialities. Thanks very much for the link! Much appreciated.
                    super

Yes I agree, there is value in boarding particularly for at-risk youth.

Geoffery Canada who runs the Harlem Childrens Zone project likes to say that for a certain cohort of students, what they need is much more than academic support, they essentially need the school to be a surrogate parent for them. Boarding is certainly one way of trying to accomplish that.

US$1000/month would sound about right

Yes I agree, there is value in boarding particularly for at-risk youth.

Geoffery Canada who runs the Harlem Childrens Zone project likes to say that for a certain cohort of students, what they need is much more than academic support, they essentially need the school to be a surrogate parent for them. Boarding is certainly one way of trying to accomplish that.
                        Absolutely... JA boys are largely behind academically so we need some radical solutions to get out of that trap. Establishing a high school owned preparatory school as a feeder or admitting girls are other methods of improving the cohort intake quality. JC has ignored those methods and has chosen to double down on support for boys

In fact...admitting girls is probably the BIGGEST possible boost to intake quality (and eventual academic outcomes) since girls are so much more dedicated to school work than boys.

I estimate that ~65% of the high/good performing GSAT cohort is female. This means that while co-ed schools can access 100% of top performers and girls' schools 65%... boys schools only can target 35%

Termites & ChiChi have conspired to have our kids existing in negative socio-economic environments. Boarding physically removes them from that and may give most a better shot. Unfortunately, like private prep schools it's not a solution that scales well...too expensive
                        Last edited by Don1; November 28, 2015, 12:13 PM.