Those Nigerian Scam Emails

• Those Nigerian Scam Emails

You know those Nigerian (mostly) scam emails where they tell you about some misfortune that happened to their folk, some coup or some other type of violence, that have forced them into exile, blah, blah, blah? Okay, I normally just delete the crap but this time I decided to play along. So, after I sent them my bank account information, lo and behold, they actually did credit my account, not to the amount that was promised but...kidding...not a ting nuh go suh! I did play along wanting to see at which point they would send me a pic of the unfortunate family, but don't worry, not a piece of info was sent.

Well today, I received this from the bank (<fidelbank2003@yahoo.com>), the same one that was waiting for me to send the account information. Smartly written too - "kindly reconfirm..."

"Atten: MR MOSIAH MARSHALL
    Be informed that we have been approached by Mr Musa lbrahim to assist him in the transfer of $18.5m into your account.For purposes of clarity and to avoid mis-direction of fund, kindly reconfirm your account information to this office immediately.

Thanks
    Mr John Richard
    Head Credit Control
    Fidelity Bank Plc"

Having checked their website, this is my response:

"I'm sorry, but I just checked your website and I did not come across the name John Richard. Is John a recent recruit to your bank?

Regards"

Note: the bank officially uses email addresses ending in "@fidelitybankplc.com". What's up with that yahoo one up top?

Yes, I have some spare time on my hands!

Yu real idle...

You know those Nigerian (mostly) scam emails where they tell you about some misfortune that happened to their folk, some coup or some other type of violence, that have forced them into exile, blah, blah, blah? Okay, I normally just delete the crap but this time I decided to play along. So, after I sent them my bank account information, lo and behold, they actually did credit my account, not to the amount that was promised but...kidding...not a ting nuh go suh! I did play along wanting to see at which point they would send me a pic of the unfortunate family, but don't worry, not a piece of info was sent.

Well today, I received this from the bank (<fidelbank2003@yahoo.com>), the same one that was waiting for me to send the account information. Smartly written too - "kindly reconfirm..."

"Atten: MR MOSIAH MARSHALL
      Be informed that we have been approached by Mr Musa lbrahim to assist him in the transfer of $18.5m into your account.For purposes of clarity and to avoid mis-direction of fund, kindly reconfirm your account information to this office immediately.

Thanks
      Mr John Richard
      Head Credit Control
      Fidelity Bank Plc"

Having checked their website, this is my response:

"I'm sorry, but I just checked your website and I did not come across the name John Richard. Is John a recent recruit to your bank?

Regards"

Note: the bank officially uses email addresses ending in "@fidelitybankplc.com". What's up with that yahoo one up top?

Yes, I have some spare time on my hands!
      Mosiah - good one. One time I responded to one of their e-mails with some choice Jakan badwud and at the end I said the FBI is waiting with open arms for you.

Mayor hails Sandals decision as victory against discrimination
        13-10-2004 368

The company's advertising carries the strapline 'mixed sex couples only'.
        The decision follows a long legal battle with the company over advertising on the London Underground and taxis, and London Buses' rejection of Sandals advertising on bus shelters. Sandals ads had been banned from the London Underground for more than a year, because they discriminated against lesbians and gay men. The company offered to change the ads, but the Mayor made clear that the objection was to the discriminatory policy of the company not merely its ads.
        But the company continued to have ads on London taxis. The Mayor gave a direction to Transport for London on 'promoting equal opportunities' on London taxis on 16 July this year. This led a process to change the guidelines for ads on taxis, which would have resulted in discriminatory ads like those of Sandals being outlawed.
        The Mayor's intervention has resulted in Sandals agreeing to stop discriminating against lesbian and gay couples who had previously been banned from its holidays.
        The Mayor said: 'After receiving complaints from the lesbian and gay pressure group Stonewall, I removed the ads on the Underground more than a year ago because they discriminate against lesbian and gay couples. I also began a process to remove the ads from London taxis, in spite of challenges by Sandals lawyers and lengthy legal discussions. We made clear that no amount of legal threats were going to change our policy.

'We now have an outcome that is a big step forward for equal rights. It shows that public authorities, which offer advertising like on the London Transport system, have the power to persuade companies that it really is not in their interests to discriminate. I hope any other companies practising this kind of discrimination will think long and hard and change their policies.'
        Ben Summerskill, Chief Executive at Stonewall, said: 'Stonewall has worked energetically for the last year to get this ban lifted and welcomes Sandal's decision to stop discriminating against lesbians and gay men, which is long overdue. It makes no sense from an ethical or commercial perspective to exclude an entire section of the population in this way. Stonewall welcomes the steps that Ken Livingstone has taken which have helped apply pressure to get this ban lifted.'

Sorry, Maudib, I inadvertently deleted your post when I was trying to delete my response. Anyway, you have your answer. Feel free not to ask me anything more about this.

Mayor hails Sandals decision as victory against discrimination
            13-10-2004 368

The company's advertising carries the strapline 'mixed sex couples only'.
            The decision follows a long legal battle with the company over advertising on the London Underground and taxis, and London Buses' rejection of Sandals advertising on bus shelters. Sandals ads had been banned from the London Underground for more than a year, because they discriminated against lesbians and gay men. The company offered to change the ads, but the Mayor made clear that the objection was to the discriminatory policy of the company not merely its ads.
            But the company continued to have ads on London taxis. The Mayor gave a direction to Transport for London on 'promoting equal opportunities' on London taxis on 16 July this year. This led a process to change the guidelines for ads on taxis, which would have resulted in discriminatory ads like those of Sandals being outlawed.
            The Mayor's intervention has resulted in Sandals agreeing to stop discriminating against lesbian and gay couples who had previously been banned from its holidays.
            The Mayor said: 'After receiving complaints from the lesbian and gay pressure group Stonewall, I removed the ads on the Underground more than a year ago because they discriminate against lesbian and gay couples. I also began a process to remove the ads from London taxis, in spite of challenges by Sandals lawyers and lengthy legal discussions. We made clear that no amount of legal threats were going to change our policy.

'We now have an outcome that is a big step forward for equal rights. It shows that public authorities, which offer advertising like on the London Transport system, have the power to persuade companies that it really is not in their interests to discriminate. I hope any other companies practising this kind of discrimination will think long and hard and change their policies.'
            Ben Summerskill, Chief Executive at Stonewall, said: 'Stonewall has worked energetically for the last year to get this ban lifted and welcomes Sandal's decision to stop discriminating against lesbians and gay men, which is long overdue. It makes no sense from an ethical or commercial perspective to exclude an entire section of the population in this way. Stonewall welcomes the steps that Ken Livingstone has taken which have helped apply pressure to get this ban lifted.'
            That is dated 2004.. this is 2007.

You claimed Butch Stewart is along with Jamaica backward regarding its treatment of Homosexuals and you stated that Butch Stewart himself discriminates against Homosexuals.. do you have anything in the PRESENT tense that indicates that Butch Stewart discriminates against homosexuals ?

If not please explain why you are spreading false information about Butch Stewart.

Sorry, Maudib, I inadvertently deleted your post when I was trying to delete my response. Anyway, you have your answer. Feel free not to ask me anything more about this.
              On the contrary.. you have some explaining to do.. you claimed that Butch Stewart discriminates against Homosexuals.. still waiting for evidence of that..

Please provide a policy statement or any other official position that demonstrates the Butch Stewart discriminates against Homosexuals.

My apologies. Butch no longer discriminates against homosexuals or black people.

And Mormons no longer believe that blacks were meant to be slaves.

My apologies. Butch no longer discriminates against homosexuals or black people.

And Mormons no longer believe that blacks were meant to be slaves.
                  When you learn to apologize you will learn...