I’ve been meaning to say something about HL’s recent attitudes and comments regarding race matters in the USA. He has repeated some ignorant things over the years and recently offered a post about successful black businessmen. Having watched this latest (the crime was committed 13 months ago) police murder of yet another black man, this time in Chicago, and the shooting of 5 persons by white supremacists in Minneapolis, I can’t hold it any more.
HL believes that these businessmen are/were successful because they kept their heads down and went about their business, not worrying about what the white man has done/is doing to keep us down. Maybe HL should read up some more about his heroes. See who they associate with. I can bet these businessmen whose success you so proudly highlighted, had to understand what it is they were coming up against. HL suggests that those of us who know what is happening have also allowed ourselves to be held down by our own preoccupation of the white man’s injustices. My suggestion to HL is this: don’t mek it worry yuh what may be holding us back. Mind yuh damn business and gwaan count your billions.
I pity you because you feel that you are following in the footsteps of these successful black men who held their heads down and went about their business, despite all the odds and all the racism. Perhaps you are, HL. Good for you.
You see, HL is the kind of person who doesn’t want to know why unemployment is higher among the black population. HL doesn’t need to know why the black family was denied housing in a particular area. HL is the kind of person who would worry more about black-on-black crime in our inner cities, crime being committed by criminals, who are not persons sworn to uphold the law. HL is the kind of person who would not bother to ask why it took Chicago prosecutors 13 months to charge the officer with murder, even as the police department had him on desk duty since the incident, even as the city already offered the family millions of dollars, but, only when the video is about to be released, is the officer charged.
You should know, HL, that for some of us, it is not all about money. So, if “BILLION of $$$$$” gets your eyes popping and heart skipping a beat, knock yourself out. Nothing wrong in making that kinda money. If you make that money while being oblivious to the struggle of others, that is your prerogative. It is also my prerogative to accuse you of selling out your people by acting as if our struggle is a mere figment of our idle imaginations. And you use the success of people you do not even fcuking know, as proof of your misguided theory.
Well, HL, I have much more admiration and respect for people who have spent their lives uncovering the racist practices of the white man. I have more respect and admiration for those who have risked their lives for my rights and for the rights of those who can sit back and count their billions. I have more respect for those people who allow people like you, HL, to live a colour-blind life, even as you remain oblivious and ignorant to it all, even as you pour ridicule on such people.
Well, HL, if a race war does start in America, a possibility that is becoming more real given all the things we have seen happen since the rise of Barack Obama, mi a beg yuh, hold yuh corner. Your help would not be needed or appreciated.
HL believes that these businessmen are/were successful because they kept their heads down and went about their business, not worrying about what the white man has done/is doing to keep us down. Maybe HL should read up some more about his heroes. See who they associate with. I can bet these businessmen whose success you so proudly highlighted, had to understand what it is they were coming up against. HL suggests that those of us who know what is happening have also allowed ourselves to be held down by our own preoccupation of the white man’s injustices. My suggestion to HL is this: don’t mek it worry yuh what may be holding us back. Mind yuh damn business and gwaan count your billions.
I pity you because you feel that you are following in the footsteps of these successful black men who held their heads down and went about their business, despite all the odds and all the racism. Perhaps you are, HL. Good for you.
You see, HL is the kind of person who doesn’t want to know why unemployment is higher among the black population. HL doesn’t need to know why the black family was denied housing in a particular area. HL is the kind of person who would worry more about black-on-black crime in our inner cities, crime being committed by criminals, who are not persons sworn to uphold the law. HL is the kind of person who would not bother to ask why it took Chicago prosecutors 13 months to charge the officer with murder, even as the police department had him on desk duty since the incident, even as the city already offered the family millions of dollars, but, only when the video is about to be released, is the officer charged.
You should know, HL, that for some of us, it is not all about money. So, if “BILLION of $$$$$” gets your eyes popping and heart skipping a beat, knock yourself out. Nothing wrong in making that kinda money. If you make that money while being oblivious to the struggle of others, that is your prerogative. It is also my prerogative to accuse you of selling out your people by acting as if our struggle is a mere figment of our idle imaginations. And you use the success of people you do not even fcuking know, as proof of your misguided theory.
Well, HL, I have much more admiration and respect for people who have spent their lives uncovering the racist practices of the white man. I have more respect and admiration for those who have risked their lives for my rights and for the rights of those who can sit back and count their billions. I have more respect for those people who allow people like you, HL, to live a colour-blind life, even as you remain oblivious and ignorant to it all, even as you pour ridicule on such people.
Well, HL, if a race war does start in America, a possibility that is becoming more real given all the things we have seen happen since the rise of Barack Obama, mi a beg yuh, hold yuh corner. Your help would not be needed or appreciated.