I am very happy to be born.....

• I am very happy to be born.....

...in the generation that i did. (Not that I had any control....)

I feel kinda sorry for the current generation.

....a young mother texted her daughter upstairs...that dinner was ready....

....a friend who is a teacher, told me that her class insisted on taking picture of the home work she just wrote on the chalk board....

...music now a days is different for back-in-the days...

....kids write like they text....

....kids tend to lack creativity.....

Let me be devil's advocate... would you prefer to write your correspondence by hand than on a laptop (where people don't see how badly you write?).

Would you prefer to ride a horse to work, or cart you and your family in a horse and buggy? than in an automobile?

What's the problem with kids taking a photo of the work on the board?

Would you like to be listening to (popular) music as it was over 100 years ago?

You also mentioned writing like they text, lacking creativity.

TBH, I see it as part of our evolution. However, I agree with you on the "creativity" aspect, but I would actually say "imagination". The new technologies engender their own form of creativity IMO, but increasingly the world is more visual, people don't read books, why bother when they can watch the movie? This is where the (literal) lack of imagination comes in. They cannot picture for themselves what a scene or a person might look like, but wait to be "told" by the film clip or the movie.

I can see where in future we will not learn to write, type or even read...

Exactly the kind of response i was looking for!

The business I operate would be useless without technology.

Maybe i would be walking 8 miles to work because i could not afford a horse or donkey.

Just finished talking to a school teacher who teach middle school. She came in to do some business, and she just vented and vented and vented about the current generation.

The world has changed PR. And Change has directions.

Could be for the better or worse. There are numerous innovations that make our lives and society [better?]. These same innovations are evolving us into outcomes (some of which) are not clearly defined.

I guess the speed and access to information is just mind boggling. I recall in college we had to use the library to get information. This method of seeking info. in retrospect is archaic. Today, you simple speak into your ipad and wallah.

Music...remember the sounds that came out of Memphis and Philadelphia? i guess the measuring stick for music varies......

This world is evolving. Change or die:

Exactly the kind of response i was looking for!

The business I operate would be useless without technology.

Maybe i would be walking 8 miles to work because i could not afford a horse or donkey.

Just finished talking to a school teacher who teach middle school. She came in to do some business, and she just vented and vented and vented about the current generation.

The world has changed PR. And Change has directions.

Could be for the better or worse. There are numerous innovations that make our lives and society [better?]. These same innovations are evolving us into outcomes (some of which) are not clearly defined.

I guess the speed and access to information is just mind boggling. I recall in college we had to use the library to get information. This method of seeking info. in retrospect is archaic. Today, you simple speak into your ipad and wallah.

Music...remember the sounds that came out of Memphis and Philadelphia? i guess the measuring stick for music varies......

This world is evolving. Change or die:
        I predict our thumbs will evolve to be more useful than they are now. They will surely get longer to be able to cover the large cell phone keyboards more easily. Maybe all our fingers will follow suit, become skinny and long with pointy little knobs to be able to hit that hyperlink more efficiently.

I read something a while back that is it now considered rude to ask anyone for anything. Directions, definitions the time, tomorrow's weather forecast, exchange rate, you name it, the answers are all on your smartphone.

My biggest problem with the changing times is social media is really anti-social media. People don't talk to each other again. People don't watch sports together again. If two bredren come over to visit, you each could watch your own different game on your smartphone! What's that about!

And the love affair with the phone has its own new drawbacks besides the ones you mention, like texting and driving, which I understand is getting up there as a major cause of traffic accidents, never mind people who walk and text or who walk with earphones/buds.

Like with everything, new technologies engender new behaviours, some that require new legislation to control.

can go sit on the toilet seat without my fone or some electronics
            Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

One of my favorite topics....

As much as we may feel sorry for the current generation, they probably feel even more sorry for us. They cannot imagine a world where you lose contact with a close friend for years to the point where when you see them they are barely recognizable. a world where a big game is being played somewhere in the world but you cant watch it, a world where you have to pay money for an album to get one song you like.

None of that is to say I am not nostalgic at times too, but when I hear people say that they remember when ball point pens were not allowed in school because only fountain pens wrote properly , or more recently remember people saying they would never convert from film to digital photography, you realize it's about your generation not theirs.

I think young people are creative in their own ways. As for formal education, the methods used are still largely trapped in the 20th century, very little innovation. I hear my daughter reciting her multiplication tables and wonder how much longer that will continue.

Yes I believe writing will become something people do for art and recreation, it will have little productive value. speech is the natural way to communicate and eventually there will be no need to convert speech to text.
              Last edited by Islandman; November 21, 2015, 07:28 PM.

Some things remains the same, still no better way to do it but even the way we learn to multiply large numbers, are not the way they are teaching the kids. I think our way was easier. As you said kids ares till creative and they are introducing things like STEM at a very young age.

Still see my kids doing some of the little things we enjoy like paper aeroplane and using marbles. Our kids in America in middle class america has so such schedule activity and that may affect their creativity, from soccer, music, clubs, and you name it. When it is not that it is the TV or tablet. Everything is taught or seen so there is less to imagine. You remember back in the days you read a book and you actually translate the story and build visual pictures? Now they are all movies and the kids see them before they read the books.

Writing will be done formally mainly for business purpose.

Actually these kids are faster today than us. They have to deal with so many things in the info age whilst we had less. Gamers have solved a science problem in three weeks that had phds. baffled for three years (the problem was given in a game format). The key to your argument is that we lived in the industrial age. In this period things relied some science that relates to Newton's principia. In the info age you are talking about Artificial intelligence which draws on more than Mechanics, Chemistry and electricity. It's about creating a new and reality.

It's new form of creativity that's being developed IMO.

Not always good Jawge. Every thing is so structured and sometimes doesn't give time for creativity and deep thinking, A formula is presented before them for most solution as we try to structure everything and arts in school, plus PE and recreation time pay the penalty.

Some things remains the same, still no better way to do it but even the way we learn to multiply large numbers, are not the way they are teaching the kids. I think our way was easier. As you said kids ares till creative and they are introducing things like STEM at a very young age.

Still see my kids doing some of the little things we enjoy like paper aeroplane and using marbles. Our kids in America in middle class america has so such schedule activity and that may affect their creativity, from soccer, music, clubs, and you name it. When it is not that it is the TV or tablet. Everything is taught or seen so there is less to imagine. You remember back in the days you read a book and you actually translate the story and build visual pictures? Now they are all movies and the kids see them before they read the books.

Writing will be done formally mainly for business purpose.
                      Paper plane?. You should be strongly considering buying your kids drones. They are far more entertaining and educational than silly paper planes.....and not much more expensive.

ha, that is what I am talking about. They will get their drones in time. The fact is creativity comes from within and it is very important for them to have the basic interest as far as I am concern. My kids are very involved in science but again there are the small things they need to escape reality sometimes, it is very good for the brain. Just to be kids.

We did a lot of it skip ropes, unorganized sports, dominoes, rubix cube, we made our own build skates. We can't buy them everything. Let the imagination flow and they will be fine and drive towards it.

Too many of these kids I see are very bright but in their teenage years can't do basic thing, have no imagination and can't reason pass a what they are told. Everything is bought or taught.

Let me give an example. I have a 9 year old he has Soccer 3 day and weekend games, He has STEM Club 2-3 Times a week, He has Music club 3 times a week, reading, Homework, and other stuff from home and other school related activities. If my 8 year old who is on same track want to make a paper plane in his spare time, so be it. We did it and it didn't stop our progress.

You may buy the drone and he puts it away at the expense of the paper plane.
                        Last edited by Assasin; November 22, 2015, 11:43 AM.

ha, that is what I am talking about. They will get their drones in time. The fact is creativity comes from within and it is very important for them to have the basic interest as far as I am concern. My kids are very involved in science but again there are the small things they need to escape reality sometimes, it is very good for the brain. Just to be kids.

We did a lot of it skip ropes, unorganized sports, dominoes, rubix cube, we made our own build skates. We can't buy them everything. Let the imagination flow and they will be fine and drive towards it.

Too many of these kids I see are very bright but in their teenage years can't do basic thing, have no imagination and can't reason pass a what they are told. Everything is bought or taught.

Let me give an example. I have a 9 year old he has Soccer 3 day and weekend games, He has STEM Club 2-3 Times a week, He has Music club 3 times a week, reading, Homework, and other stuff from home and other school related activities. If my 8 year old who is on same track want to make a paper plane in his spare time, so be it. We did it and it didn't stop our progress.

You may buy the drone and he puts it away at the expense of the paper plane.
                          Who allowed such a schedule for the child? Is it mandatory?

Some are Manitory, but that is the average schedule for a 9 or 10 year old if they are involved in sports and other activities.

If they are involved in baseball they have games up to 10 Pm sometimes. STEM and Music club is after school program and he loves them. If you are playing soccer academy our club recommend at least 3 training a week(you can do 5 days if you want) and they have at least 2 games most weekend and sometimes 4 from August to Dec 6 and then from late Feb to May. American football season is shorter but training is 3-4 hours per evening.

I have never seen so many homework in my life. The kids are on top of their work for most part but they get homework every single day and as a parent you have to check and look over it. They are getting projects as well.

Not to mention my niece who was doing Gymnastics and had some talent, they wanted her to start home schooling so she could train to compete. I use my kids but others can tell for themselves.
                            Last edited by Assasin; November 22, 2015, 12:46 PM.

Yes I am fighting some of those battles now but there are no easy answers really. I wanted my daughter to just do soccer 1 evening a week but unless she stayed in recreation league which none of the girls on her level play anymore you have to commit to more than that. This season she had to give up dance because too many conflicts. She still has llactivities four out of five weekdays like most of her friends. From what I can see the children who are not involved in activities are playing video games and watching tv all evening. I think it makes a difference. It can be time consuming though.