• President Obama, GOP and ISIS?

General Paper class in session!
    - Did President Obama underestimate ISIS? Its real time threat and or potential threat possibilities?

Defend your position?

No he did not ,it is a threat with the potential to cause major damage as we have seen in europe by extension america .Why do people think America has to lead the destruction of ISIS to prove it doesnt underestimate ISIS.

This is where I agree with the president,ISIS or whoever has to get through europe by plane or boat before it gets to the US.So far it cannot,it is contained in a war in europe ,which will only enrage europe to tighten its security, making it harder for them to travel,but moreso move the european hypocrytes to get involved in solving the jihadist problem at its doorsteps in the middleeast and africa.

If Europe wants to send troops in syria ,they would become the target,as if they arent already but moreso.Obama explained thats what ISIS wants, for america to get into a civil war ,so America becomes the problem and everyone focuses on tearing America apart. When America was in Iraq the allies slowly got out and left america there on its own.

Americas biggest problem right now is right wing racist with a militia , gonna get my guns mentality or the mentally ill with guns,they have been the biggest cause of mass murder in the USA post 911 not ISIS.

Obama plan is a good one ,europe will be the focus for ISIS,they will intensify their security at the expense of getting bombed and America will tighten its security decreasing the chances of an attack.

If troops are going to get involved it will be european or middle eastern, they have to sort it out.I am confident the police state , NYPD, FBI, CIA has everything covered in emails,letters, texts etc as Snowden stated.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Agree, pretty much.

Not sure if the JV comment was the right thing to say. But nothing wrong with the "contained" comment.

Sending in American troops will mean victory for ISIS. Because body bags will inevitably be coming back to US shores. And then, how would you declare victory?

I'm happy Obama does not have a knee jerk reaction to recent events. Once the philosophy and the plan are sound, stay the course!
      Last edited by Mosiah; November 17, 2015, 05:19 PM.

Body bags and desertion by the same european allies who Isis are attacking.A jamaican analogy ,likkle fryers nuh like yuh , im buck yuh fren dem whey bigga dan im ,whey live down yuh road and pick fight wid dem.Fryers nuh realise your fren dem ave gun some big like yours but nuh bigga,war bruk down di road.How you look

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

If we are to judge based on his comments over the last year, ie the JV comment and then the "ISIS is contained" comment shortly before this recent Paris attack, it would appear that he and his security team did underestimate how quickly they would morph into what they now clearly are.

However that was just what he was saying publicly. I tend to believe that politicians rarely tell the whole story so it is very possible that he knew better but realised there was little he could do about in any practical sense.

Neither he nor anyone else has a solid, workable plan for fighting ISIS and Islamic Jihadists. They are essentially just "trying a ting", dropping some bombs here and there, killing a leader or two when they can, and hoping that they will figure it out at some point.

As Don1 said yesterday, if they are really serious they will hold Saudi Arabia and others feet to the fire.

Christiane Amanpour took him to task for his comments.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=x9g5SIlKilw

I think like every one of us at times, Obama is being a tad too defensive on this ISIS issue.

If we are to judge based on his comments over the last year, ie the JV comment and then the "ISIS is contained" comment shortly before this recent Paris attack, it would appear that he and his security team did underestimate how quickly they would morph into what they now clearly are.

However that was just what he was saying publicly. I tend to believe that politicians rarely tell the whole story so it is very possible that he knew better but realised there was little he could do about in any practical sense.

Neither he nor anyone else has a solid, workable plan for fighting ISIS and Islamic Jihadists. They are essentially just "trying a ting", dropping some bombs here and there, killing a leader or two when they can, and hoping that they will figure it out at some point.

As Don1 said yesterday, if they are really serious they will hold Saudi Arabia and others feet to the fire.
              How do you "...hold Saudi Arabia and others feet to the fire?

The simple fact is this could go on for centuries. I think Obama knows that and that is why he used the term "contained". Just because they managed to carry out these atrocities doesn't mean they are not contained, although it all could be defined more clearly.

What would constitute "victory" over ISIS? When all of their practitioners are dead?

I didn't watch the YouTube but I'm interested to know if Madame Amanpour offered her solution.

Well, watch and get your answer.

Essentially she said boots on the ground is the only thing that has worked against ISIS so far, albeit in small battlefields in Iraq. More importantly she said he should stop deceiving the people.

Right now he is travelling too close to "Mission Accomplished" , "Heckova job Brownie" territory for my comfort.

All mi know is US glad Russia and now France out front. Obama never wanted to go in like Iraq and based on what I think they thought this thing would have been contained.

Send call mi when she orders her son to wear his boots in Syria!

I don't think he should go in either, but its time to face up to reality.

This ISIS is a BIG fish and this is Obama ......

https://youtu.be/2I91DJZKRxs?t=14

The GP teacher asks: Aren't your examples of what President Obama's position is ignoring much of his analysis of the threats ISIS present?

Do you remember any statements on ISIS' ability to inflitrate or be born within defensive perimeter boundaries?

Are there any other of his position pronouncement you can recall?

The GP teacher: Would you care to consider and amplify on Obama's suggestion on solutions?

Agree, pretty much.

Not sure if the JV comment was the right thing to say. But nothing wrong with the "contained" comment.

Sending in American troops will mean victory for ISIS. Because body bags will inevitably be coming back to US shores. And then, how would you declare victory?

I'm happy Obama fires not have a knee jerk reaction to recent events. Once the philosophy and the plan are sound, stay the course!
                              Interesting?!

How could that JV comment be assumed to be fraught with pitfalls? ...and on the converse be an accurate depiction?

Think of context!