• Hellshire Beach

http://www.jamaica-star.com/article/...ellshire-beach

Never liked Hellshire but I know it's popular so I feel for those who liked going there and for those who have businesses there.

In my view, the problem in Jamaica is we have allowed too much building on the beach. Imagine if Copacabana (Rio, not St. Thomas) had a hotel right on the beach instead of across the road, where it should be! Negril hotels should also have been put across the road, leaving the 7 mile strip (more like 4) for everyone to enjoy. But because wi like to cordon off our little kingdoms and keep black people out, wi have allowed the nonsense to run amok.

Me nearly drown deh when me a lickle youth,me a walk neck deep inna de water and me drop inna a hole.Nuh care how me try fi jump outta de hole me only succeed fi break the surface of the water fi ketch the enough air fi survive the the trip right back a de bottom of de hole,it was tremendously scary.The current probably played a role,I finally found myself landing at familar depth.That experience did not deter from going back many times,it is my favourite beach.It will be a shame if nature recaims it.I remember akways making a note of a strip of land behind the designated beach area that is forever barren,I was always of the view that the beach recessed and the now exposed stretch of land soil holds too much salt deposit to have any meaningful vegetation growth.

It wasn't a great beach but it was a very good commercial spot for the fishermen and vendors who prepared your fish. That is the type of commercialization I encourage just with proper sanitation and discipline.

Again when we fail to plan people take advantage and that is the case with our beaches, anybody can capture it, so why we think anybody who can, won't?

say what? early 80's it was pristine...

black people are kept off of 7 mile beach? might the placement of the hotels have something to do with the fact that hotels all around the world are more attractive to guests if they are directly on the beach...unnuh just love chat for chattings sake right?
            Last edited by Bricktop; November 17, 2015, 11:20 AM.

Bricky, you wouldn't understand.

Maybe it's just me but I was never able to find the changing rooms or rest rooms at Hellshire. I'm sure they were also in pristine condition!

Can you assist, Bricky?

i take it you don't like lime cay or pigeon cay or maiden cay either...i mean who wants to relax in an unspoiled environment of sun...sand & sea...

clearly...seeing as i just came back from Negril...EVERYONE has access to ANY PART of the 7 mile beach...what you don't have access to is the hotel facilities...you however can enter most of the smaller hotels to purchase drinks & food...not sure where you guys get your propaganda from

So, I should expect Lime Cay to have the same facilities as Hellshire.

Ok!

so you can go to lime cay...that has no food...no beverages...no restrooms...and enjoy yourself...but you didn't enjoy yourself at hellshire that has food...drinks...and no restrooms? cmon son...

Bricky...surely yuh have more sense dan dat!

That's like Elvis telling Sam Cooke - no, there's no problem staying at the Birmingham Holiday Inn. That's where I stay every time I'm on tour!

Yes, my yacht has all my conveniences!

but people from all walks of life are trudging up and down the beach...i don't understand?