Explosion at the Stade de France with France vs Germany. The French president was whisked away.
Shootings at 3 other locations in Paris
Hostage situation
Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015
Explosion at the Stade de France with France vs Germany. The French president was whisked away.
Shootings at 3 other locations in Paris
Hostage situation
Sad indeed, but isn't this the same thing the French did to the innocent citizens of North Africa years ago. Talk about reaping a bitter harvest.
Babylon build big missiles and armies to terrorize people of the developing world but can't find a solution. Nothing they can do to stop this because the memories of France's behaviour throughout Africa and the Middle East run deep.
The birmingham letter,when the disenfranchised have given up their voice of protest,they will turn to extremism.Insert arab muslim nationalist and what do you get,The question of the israeli occupation of palestine ,the corrupted arab/muslim governments in Asia to the middle east and Africa must be answered within and without.
MLK.
You speak of our activity in Birmingham as extreme. At first I was rather disappointed that fellow clergymen would see my nonviolent efforts as those of an extremist. I began thinking about the fact that I stand in the middle of two opposing forces in the Negro community. One is a force of complacency, made up in part of Negroes who, as a result of long years of oppression, are so drained of self respect and a sense of "somebodiness" that they have adjusted to segregation; and in part of a few middle-class Negroes who, because of a degree of academic and economic security and because in some ways they profit by segregation, have become insensitive to the problems of the masses. The other force is one of bitterness and hatred, and it comes perilously close to advocating violence. It is expressed in the various black nationalist groups that are springing up across the nation, the largest and best known being Elijah Muhammad's Muslim movement. Nourished by the Negro's frustration over the continued existence of racial discrimination, this movement is made up of people who have lost faith in America, who have absolutely repudiated Christianity, and who have concluded that the white man is an incorrigible "devil."
I have tried to stand between these two forces, saying that we need emulate neither the "do nothingism" of the complacent nor the hatred and despair of the black nationalist. For there is the more excellent way of love and nonviolent protest. I am grateful to God that, through the influence of the Negro church, the way of nonviolence became an integral part of our struggle. If this philosophy had not emerged, by now many streets of the South would, I am convinced, be flowing with blood. And I am further convinced that if our white brothers dismiss as "rabble rousers" and "outside agitators" those of us who employ nonviolent direct action, and if they refuse to support our nonviolent efforts, millions of Negroes will, out of frustration and despair, seek solace and security in black nationalist ideologies--a development that would inevitably lead to a frightening racial nightmare.
"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.
Maybe dem already roost and lay dem eggs in the US?
I understand where Reggaedoc is coming from though, this is another terrible tragedy but it is clear that some tragedies matter more than others. What ever happened to those kidnapped girls in Nigeria? Remember them? Oh well #prayforparis
"It is easier to build strong children than to repair broken men" - Frederick Douglass
Are you guys serious? More than a hundred innocent and defenseless lives were lost. All I hear is some senseless rant about the media. The media control your lives and determine how you see things. Huh? So what if the media didn't live on the slaughter in Africa it's still a slaughter of innocent victims the same of what happened in Paris. Murder is murder no matter where or how.
This is no different from the idiotic rant of Dillon Roof. There is no justification for taking innocent lives period.
Exactly, murder is murder, hence when the masses react differently to murder depending on how the media covers the victims , the thinking person will see through that.
The simpleton won't, and will just make silly excuses to follow the masses.
"It is easier to build strong children than to repair broken men" - Frederick Douglass
My point was; one is influenced by the media if one has to worry that a particular group is not covered by it. Murder is murder; that is true.If one has to worry that one is not in the spotlight long enough and therefore shows resentment when the spotlight is given elsewhere, one is being conditioned in a subtle way. I hope my point is now clear.
Jawge, its not about wanting the spotlight for attention sake, these are tragic events. It is about reinforcing beliefs that some people's lives are more important than others. There are very real consequences that result from that.
I don't expect Western media to behave much differently but people must begin to know themselves and stop following them mindlessly.